"I use my earnings for my education" – 10-year-old cobbler

Date: 06-01-2011 7:03 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 6-01-2011 07:03 PM (13 years ago)
A 10-year-old cobbler, Hameed Mojeed, has stated that he engaged in the repairs of shoes to sponsor his primary education.
Mojeed, who is a primary three pupil of Methodist Primary School, Adatan in Abeokuta, told Punch Metro that he was the first child of a broken home.

He also said that he had engaged in the trade for three years, adding that he learnt the trade when he was four years and graduated at the age of seven. He said he had been mending shoes on the major streets of Abeokuta since 2007.
He said, “I live with my paternal grandmother in Abeokuta and I repair shoes to fend for myself and sponsor my education.
“I engage in this trade during weekends and on holidays. Sometimes when I close from school, I quickly move around to repair shoes. I make between N600 and N1,200 per day, which I give to my grandmother for our upkeep.”
He said that his grandmother engaged in a menial job, washing locust beans at the river side for survival.
The cobbler, who lamented poor parental care, blamed the development on a broken marriage.
He said that his father, a trailer driver in Lagos State hardly visited him, adding that occasionally when he did, he only gave him N100 for his upkeep.
He said, “My mother, Isiwatu, has not been visiting me but whenever my father calls, he gives me N100, though not every time.”
As expected, Mojeed’s business is having a telling effect on his education as the primary three pupil said that he took 23rd position out of the 25 pupils in his class in the last term examination.
He said that he sponsored his education from his earnings as a cobbler.
Though he was not categorical on whether he was the one responsible for the feeding of his grandmother, he explained that his daily income was usually given to the woman.
Mojeed, who claimed that he learnt the trade from an uncle in the Adatan area of Abeokuta for three years, said that his grandmother asked him to do the job to make ends meet without his father’s knowledge.
“I have no shop, I always walk from one place to the other to mend shoes for people, it is when I am going home at night that I board a taxi back to my home,” Mojeed said.
Though he appeared not disturbed by his poor performance in school, he insisted that he was interested in becoming an engineer in future.

This is such an inspiration for everyone big or small, everyone might be seeing a cobbler, but i see a future self made millionaire!

Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:03 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- 2slimshady at 6-01-2011 07:22 PM (13 years ago)
i sorry for the poor boy,as little as he is,he is already determined tobe hardworking,i pray God send someone to make his dreams come true.
Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:22 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- logten at 6-01-2011 07:25 PM (13 years ago)
it shall be well with you
Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- LEONE at 6-01-2011 07:26 PM (13 years ago)
Whenever i read something like this i feel like cryingcos i know what is it & how it feels.
Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:26 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ddarlington48 at 6-01-2011 07:26 PM (13 years ago)
Eya...poor boy, life no easy. how can a little like this sustaine him self, i fell for him the thing is there is nothing i can really do right now. am so so sorry how wish i can help, i would really love to him. but naija government are the cause of this thing...suffering people are going through in that our country.  Angry Sad :'(
Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:26 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- terdue at 6-01-2011 07:47 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: logten on  6-01-2011 07:25 PM
it shall be well with you
in Jesus name
Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:47 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bodeniyi at 6-01-2011 07:50 PM (13 years ago)
For the sake of your innocence, The LORD will see you through. This I pray through Christ Jesus, AMEN.
Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:50 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nanny at 6-01-2011 07:52 PM (13 years ago)
pls if there is any means i can contact this little boy i wouldn't mind to help. pls. his story made me shed tears, it is so pathetic.
Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:52 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- betty55 at 6-01-2011 07:55 PM (13 years ago)
poor boy God will lift u up beyound your expectation.l was there l know how it is. l used to hawk all sort eatable things when l was barly 9yrs till 17yrs.just as a resort of a broken home.but today l am the bread winners of my families.l wasn,t able to see the four walls of secondry school.but today l have two siblings that l am sponsoring in university.children like this are born to be great.l will alyways remenber u in my prayer.any contact adress please from the poster of this topic? l will like to have it if posible God bless us all in this new year of new revolution
Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:55 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- laydeelaracraft at 6-01-2011 07:59 PM (13 years ago)
Some parents self. £100 what is taht for, to buy lunch? kmt! Anyways God dey. I hope this guy makes it! Growing up the street cud hinder his chances big time, esp w/o guidiance. There are usually a very few success stories n I hope he is one of them.
Posted: at 6-01-2011 07:59 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abbeyy74 at 6-01-2011 08:04 PM (13 years ago)
ehya feel so sorry 4 d poor boy hen,when some people are busy paying 1000naira 2 go inside a church on new year eve,i blame d papa and  mama of d poor boy,is 2ime people knows abou family planing and no2 jus bring children in2 d world 2 suffer. :'( :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 6-01-2011 08:04 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Divinesent at 6-01-2011 08:06 PM (13 years ago)
how can i get in touch with this young boy, please get in touch if you know the where about of this blessed child. God bless you.
Posted: at 6-01-2011 08:06 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Bestheart at 6-01-2011 08:40 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: LEONE on  6-01-2011 07:26 PM
Whenever i read something like this i feel like cryingcos i know what is it & how it feels.

I have already started crying, bc I know what it means.
Posted: at 6-01-2011 08:40 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- arababa at 6-01-2011 08:49 PM (13 years ago)
we all need to help this poor boy that have great future ahead  of  him. Admin.. please please we need the boy contact information
Posted: at 6-01-2011 08:49 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- yankeybabe at 6-01-2011 08:52 PM (13 years ago)
I FEEL SO SORRY FOR HIM...
Posted: at 6-01-2011 08:52 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- hayweezy at 6-01-2011 09:04 PM (13 years ago)
God dey
Posted: at 6-01-2011 09:04 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- buddyholly at 6-01-2011 09:11 PM (13 years ago)
poor boy i feel so sorry 4 him.may ALMIGHT ALLAH see u tru Amen
Posted: at 6-01-2011 09:11 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bittersweet at 6-01-2011 09:12 PM (13 years ago)

Posted: at 6-01-2011 09:12 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- T-BOY1 at 6-01-2011 09:14 PM (13 years ago)
MAY GOD HELP U
Posted: at 6-01-2011 09:14 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- serababy at 6-01-2011 09:25 PM (13 years ago)
so sorry , hw wish i can   just help him.........
Posted: at 6-01-2011 09:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

2. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

3. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

4. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

5. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

6. Deji Adeyanju Threatens Lead British International School Over Bullying Of Namtira Bwala

7. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

8. One Dies, Three Hospitalised As Building Partially Collapse In Lagos

9. Singer, Celine Dion Opens Up On Her Health Struggles

10. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

11. Bullying: Lead British International School in Abuja Shut Down

12. Ogun Seals Three Worship Centres Over Noise pollution

13. Embattled Actor, Baba Ijesha Files Appeal Challenging His 5Yrs Imprisonment Over Rape

14. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

15. How 18Yr Old Boy Fakes His Own Kidnap To Extort Father

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office