US Govt Condemns Election Violence In Nigeria, Threatens To Sanction Perpetrators

Date: 21-03-2023 9:44 pm (1 year ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 21-03-2023 09:44 PM (1 year ago)

The government of the United States has condemned the suppression and intimidation of voters as well as the violence witnessed in many parts of the country during the March 18 governorship and the house of assembly elections in Nigeria.

The US expressed its views about the election in a statement on Tuesday, March 21, 2023.

The statement said the elections appeared to have had significant operational improvements, as polling stations opened early and election materials arrived on time, but the widespread violence and intimidation of voters in Lagos, Kano and other states marred the exercise.

In the statement titled “Nigeria carried out the second round of its electoral process with gubernatorial and state assembly elections on March 18”, the US threatened to sanction perpetrators of election violence in Nigeria.

The country also called on the Federal Government to probe reports on election violence.

The statement reads,
“The United States is deeply troubled by the disturbing acts of violent voter intimidation and suppression that took place during those polls in Lagos, Kano, and other states. Members of the U.S. diplomatic mission observed the elections in Lagos and elsewhere and witnessed some of these incidents first-hand.

“The use of ethnically charged rhetoric before, during, and after the gubernatorial election in Lagos was particularly concerning.

“We commend all Nigerian political actors, religious and community leaders, youth, and citizens who have chosen to reject and speak out against such violence and inflammatory language, affirming Nigerians’ commitment to and respect for the democratic process.

“We call on Nigerian authorities to hold accountable and bring to justice any individuals found to have ordered or carried out efforts to intimidate voters and suppress voting during the election process.

“The United States likewise will consider all available actions, including additional visa restrictions, on individuals believed to be responsible for, or complicit in, undermining the democratic process in Nigeria.

“The United States renews its call for any challenges to election results to go through established legal processes, which must not be interfered with”.

The country further urged Nigerians to work together as they participate in and continue to strengthen the country’s vibrant democracy.

Posted: at 21-03-2023 09:44 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kidfreshfunmi at 21-03-2023 09:54 PM (1 year ago)
 Smiley Hmm. No comment!
Posted: at 21-03-2023 09:54 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jiiitk4 at 21-03-2023 10:00 PM (1 year ago)
America should  start with the children of  MC Oluomo. Send them back to Nigeria with immediate effect.
Posted: at 21-03-2023 10:00 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- OmoNobaUku at 21-03-2023 10:04 PM (1 year ago)
Please, let them condemn the one of Trump at Capitol Hill first before they can be allowed to poke eyes in NGR's. NGR is NOT their colony. Neither is NGR a colony to anyone else. The days of Colonial mentality MUST end.
Posted: at 21-03-2023 10:04 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 21-03-2023 10:21 PM (1 year ago)
Noise makers
Posted: at 21-03-2023 10:21 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 21-03-2023 10:53 PM (1 year ago)
USA have u got the memo late or haven't u got it at all? we dey go with CHINA!!!! fck u
Posted: at 21-03-2023 10:53 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Jiiitk4 at 21-03-2023 11:41 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 21-03-2023 10:53 PM
USA have u got the memo late or haven't u got it at all? we dey go with CHINA!!!! fck u

So your Tinubu has become Tinubu China.  Apologize to Peter Obi now. You called him Obi China
Posted: at 21-03-2023 11:41 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Panaki at 22-03-2023 12:12 AM (1 year ago)
Jiliik just shut the phyuk up.  You're blindly following a lost horse Mr Obi + Tuary = :Obituary..
America can make noise from now till thy kingdom come.
I've been hearing that statement since I was a child.
Nigeria coukd decide to romance any country she so desire.
Nigeria is not a muppet to America.
Let them sort the Trump people who invaded White House during the last election  Obi is just a noise maker.
Jiliik if Ibi gets sworn in on May 29th. I'll buy you drink
Posted: at 22-03-2023 12:12 AM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- fineboy77 at 22-03-2023 01:07 AM (1 year ago)
Like I always say, our issues are peculiar to us and us alone. That said, its not yet Uhuru.

Posted: at 22-03-2023 01:07 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Onuhude at 22-03-2023 03:48 AM (1 year ago)
We welcome Sanction to include the Oba of Lago, the thug.
Posted: at 22-03-2023 03:48 AM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- wallies at 22-03-2023 10:39 AM (1 year ago)
HIRED ASSASSIN M C OLUOMO ALHAJI MUSILIU AKINSANYA CHILDREN HAVE ALREADY BEEN DEPORTED KOKOZARIA ALIAS BUTCHER IS ON LIST OF VISA BAN AND IRRESPONSIBLE WASIU AYINDE MARSHALL THE DRUG BARON.
Posted: at 22-03-2023 10:39 AM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- Northrop at 22-03-2023 10:46 AM (1 year ago)
ALL THESE SLAVE MENTALITY OBIDIOTS HOPING LIKE MONKEYS BECAUSE AMERICA SAID WAAA - WE SAW WHAT HAPPEND IN AMERICA IN THEIR LAST ELECTION? SHAME THAT AN AFRICAN WILL BE JUBILATING THAT OYIBO IN PUTTING MOUTH IN OUR AFFAIRS - SHOWS THE EXTENT THESE OBIDIOTS NEED BRAIN REWIRING!!!
Posted: at 22-03-2023 10:46 AM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 22-03-2023 10:45 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Jiiitk4 on 21-03-2023 11:41 PM
So your Tinubu has become Tinubu China.  Apologize to Peter Obi now. You called him Obi China

china will make Nigeria advance more!!! your usa master will never let u grow!!! una no get brain  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 22-03-2023 10:45 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Panaki at 23-03-2023 08:39 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: wallies on 22-03-2023 10:39 AM
HIRED ASSASSIN M C OLUOMO ALHAJI MUSILIU AKINSANYA CHILDREN HAVE ALREADY BEEN DEPORTED KOKOZARIA ALIAS BUTCHER IS ON LIST OF VISA BAN AND IRRESPONSIBLE WASIU AYINDE MARSHALL THE DRUG BARON.
It's definitely a shame for some perpetual idiots from Obi's camp to start rejoicing because America a foreign and a white man's country has put her mouth in our issues.
That shows you Obidiots are so myopicminded and delusional to enslave your brains to America.
What did America do when supporters of Trump invaded during last election?
America would never allow your country to grow but instead keep you under their bathroom slippers. Pretending to help and support you.
Barrack Obama of Kenyan parentage visited some African countries while in power but boycotted Nigeria. To show his hatred towards us.
I think all Obidiots and their captain Mr Obituary need their brain put back to Factory settings.
Posted: at 23-03-2023 08:39 AM (1 year ago) | Upcoming

1. See Tuition Fee Receipts Yahaya Bello Paid American School From 2025 Session Through 2031

2. PZ Cussons Considers Leaving Africa After 140yrs Over Nigeria’s Sales Plunge

3. SuperComputer Predicts EPL Title Winners After Victories For Both Arsenal And Man City

4. ‘One Chance’ Robbery Gang Escape Lynching In Umuahia

5. PART 2: Zenith Bank’s Management Pay A Visit To Allegedly Apologize To Fayose - Photos+Video

6. Davido Reveals Why He Filed Lawsuit Against Perpetrator Of Fake News Of His Arrest

7. Nigerian Lady, Clara Chizoba Breaks Guinness World Record For Longest Interview

8. Man Declared Wanted For Stabbing Wife To Death & Attempted Murder Of Their 2 Children

9. Customs Intercepts 6,240 Bags Of Dynamite Explosives, Arrests Two Suspects In Kebbi

10. Lady Slam Brides Who Can Not Provide Accommodation For Her Asoebi Girls, Say They Don't Deserve

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

9. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

10. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says