Politician Escapes Assassination, As Thugs Attack PDP Members, Palace In Ogun

Date: 30-03-2023 10:33 am (1 year ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 30-03-2023 10:33 AM (1 year ago)

Ayodele Olapeju, a Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) House of Assembly candidate for Sagamu Constituency 2 has escaped death by the whiskers. It was gathered that Olapeju, narrowly escaped assassination after thugs reportedly attacked members of the party and a palace in Ogun State. The post-election crisis took place in some parts of Ikenne, Remo North, and Sagamu Local Government Areas of Ogun State.

Other PDP members attacked between March 19 and 28 were Abela Kunle, Ayo Masaun, among others. Some people also sustained injuries, while properties worth millions of naira were carted away by the hoodlums during the attacks. Speaking with newsmen, Olapeju, said he narrowly escaped an assassination attempt in at his house, sponsored by gunmen allegedly loyal to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

According to him, the thugs ransacked his room and carted away his belongings worth N30 million and his Nissan Titan car worth N9 million. He said: “The attack was carried out by gunmen loyal to the APC” at his house in the Ewuga area of Sagamu, between 2:30 am and 3:45 am.

“It was just like a shock when I heard the noise of door banging in my house. “I saw some people armed with charms and weapons and my gateman was tied. When they saw me, they said, ‘that is the market’. I had to force the door closed while they struggled with me and escaped through the exit door naked.

“Their plan was to capture me. Two of them were holding ropes. They took away my Nissan car. They ransacked my room, carted away my belongings: four Rolex watches, gold, everything all together will cost about N30 million. “They also took away my aide’s two wristwatches worth $15,000, and my Nissan Titan car worth N9m. I am glad I am alive.”

According to reports, in a petition written to the Assistant Inspector General of Police, Nigeria Police Force, Zone 2 Headquarters in Onikan, Lagos, from the palace of the Odemo of Isara, the community sought police protection to forestall a further breakdown of law and order.

The community also demands the immediate arrest and prosecution of the individuals responsible for causing havoc, robbery, arson, and shooting of people and properties in the town. The petition reads: “The physical assault of the PDP candidate by a group of thugs, stealing and destruction of ballot boxes, and the harassment of individuals by people who led thugs to disrupt the peace of the town under the guise of celebrating victory.”

“The thugs were seen attacking everybody they suspected to have voted against them; harassing okada riders, brandishing guns, machetes, and other weapons in broad daylight. They also went to the Oba of Isara (Odemo) palace and started shooting sporadically.

“Several people’s houses were forced open, while some people received threatening phone calls asking them to leave the town and never to return again. “The situation has escalated to the point where they made several attempts on the life of Hon. Solomon Osho, the incumbent member of the Ogun State House of Assembly representing Remo North State Constituency, shot at him. He narrowly escaped being killed.”

Posted: at 30-03-2023 10:33 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Jiiitk4 at 30-03-2023 10:37 AM (1 year ago)
Political rascals all over southwest
Posted: at 30-03-2023 10:37 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Panaki at 30-03-2023 10:54 AM (1 year ago)
What about South Eastern Region?? I'm sure what Jiiitk was saying is, that area don't have political rascals.  They only have Biafra Nation agitation rascals.
Jiiitk you're so biased and full of hatred towards people from Western Region of Nigeria.
You are sitting pretty here to criticise anything Yorubas.
It's not a new thing to lose an election.  In any sporting or electoral activities,  there are bound to be winners and losers.
But if you're thinking of destroying the nation because your preferred candidate lost. Then you have a big problem.
I'll give you an advice: On 29th May when Tinubu would be sworn in. Go to the venue with a gun I'm your hand and claim the wrong man is about to be sworn in.
If you come back alive then I'll start to support your candidate.
Posted: at 30-03-2023 10:54 AM (1 year ago) | Upcoming

1. Edo Police Arrest 2 Women, 3 Girls Who Stripped Lady N@ked In Viral Video Over Alleged Phone

2. Embattled Rapper, Drake Gives Conditions For Quitting His Music Career

3. BIG 3 BEEF: Terry G Crowns Wizkid The Undisputed King Of Afrobeats

4. Chad Holds Presidential Election After 3 Years Of Military Rule

5. 'Burna Boy Approaches Music Bizz With Sense Of Order Despite Alleged Crazy Nature' – Baba Fryo

6. PIC: Aspiring Doctor Left Brain Dead After Friends Pushed Him Into Lake Knowing He Can't Swim

7. Toke Makinwa Confirms She Regrets Bleaching Her Skin, Gives Reasons

8. Five Kidnappers Who Reportedly Slept Off After Operation In Ondo Arrested

9. FRSC Arrests Motorist Attempting To Abscond With Official In Edo

10. VIDEO: Fans Surprises BBN Star, Soma With N8m & House As Gift For His Birthday

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

5. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

6. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

7. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

8. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

9. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)