Nigeria Don't Need Both Senate And Reps - Shekarau Asks Tinubu To Cut Down Numbers Of Lawmakers

Date: 01-06-2023 9:24 pm (10 months ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 1-06-2023 09:24 PM (10 months ago)

Former Governor of Kano state and senator representing Kano Central, Ibrahim Shekarau has decried Nigeria’s high cost of governance.
Shekarau who sat for an interview with Channels Television on Wednesday, May 31, asked President Bola Tinubu to reduce the cost of governance by cutting down the number of federal lawmakers.
The National Assembly is made up of 109 senators and 360 House of Representatives members. He said;
“Left to me, we don’t need to have the two chambers, the two houses.

“It’s costing the country. I agree, a democracy means getting as many involved as possible, but the way it is going on now, it’s almost 500 legislators nationwide; I don’t think we really need this much at the moment.”
On Tinubu’s political will, Shekarau said;
“I wonder if he’ll have the courage to do all the constitutional amendments and go through the process, and reduce all of this.”
The former Governor also said that cutting the number of parastatals would affect the number of oversight assignments, reducing the burden at the centre. He added;
“Then you’ll discover that the legislative arm will also have to be [downsized] because if there isn’t much to do at the centre, you don’t need all of this sea of hundreds of people really to do oversight assignments.

“I have been subscribing to the idea of devolution of powers. The Federal Government should really cut its own costs by devolving a lot of these responsibilities down the line, to the states and to the local governments.

“Unfortunately, we’ve not had leadership that has the courage. There was the Oronsaye report during Jonathan’s time, which has yet to be implemented.

Posted: at 1-06-2023 09:24 PM (10 months ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 1-06-2023 09:51 PM (10 months ago)
they just waste of money  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 1-06-2023 09:51 PM (10 months ago) | Grande Master
- Dopybadass at 1-06-2023 09:52 PM (10 months ago)
That's how they pay them wasted allowances,they even have newspaper allowances while the masses are suffering,the country is a scam
Posted: at 1-06-2023 09:52 PM (10 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Baye77 at 1-06-2023 11:12 PM (10 months ago)
Of course everyone is aware of this...but the question is, can the president do that?? I mean, does he have the constitutional power to do that?? You want to deal with people and the law to do that can only be made by them... wahala
Posted: at 1-06-2023 11:12 PM (10 months ago) | Hero
- Patode at 1-06-2023 11:50 PM (10 months ago)
This will require a constitutional amendment. There is no way the legislators will vote to render themselves unemployed.
Posted: at 1-06-2023 11:50 PM (10 months ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 2-06-2023 05:43 AM (10 months ago)
Bunch of useless people just there eating money without work. My question is, can they be dismantle?
Posted: at 2-06-2023 05:43 AM (10 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Baye77 at 2-06-2023 06:13 AM (10 months ago)
Quote from: Patode on  1-06-2023 11:50 PM
This will require a constitutional amendment. There is no way the legislators will vote to render themselves unemployed.
A lot of people still don't understand that sham called democracy. How do people expect the lawmakers to make laws that will reduce their number or their allowances, especially this set of greedy and unpatriotic people we have in Nigeria??
Posted: at 2-06-2023 06:13 AM (10 months ago) | Hero