INEC machine rejects Obasanjo’s fingerprint

Date: 17-01-2011 2:17 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10
- at 17-01-2011 02:17 AM (13 years ago)
It was a frustrating moment for former president Olusegun Obasanjo yesterday as his attempt to register in the ongoing voters’ registration was thwarted by the Direct Data Capture (DDC) machine.

Obasanjo who arrived his Ward 11, Ita-Eko, Abeokuta, the state capital at about 11.53 a.m. in company with his wife, Bola had after several rejections of his fingers by the machine offered to come back for the exercise after an overseas trip.

However, the former president who had to wait patiently for about an hour succeeded in registering after an Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Information Technology expert arrived the scene at around 12.45 p.m. and performed the registration.

Even with the presence of the INEC officials and the IT expert, the registration took about 20 minutes for the process to be completed, while the state Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Mr. Martins Okunfolami and other INEC officials made frantic efforts to register the former president.

Before his eventual registration, when the first DDC machine failed, the INEC team, led by the REC changed its scanner and used two different ones which also disappointed them. Fielding questions from journalists, Obasanjo cautioned Nigerians against castigating INEC over the shaky start of the exercise. According to him, it was normal for a new programme such as the DDC technology-driven voters’ registration to experience challenges at initial stage even though he stated that it was too late to call for extension of deadline for the exercise.

“Whenever you are starting a new programme like this, it’s likely to have hitches until everybody masters it. Today is the second day. I believe that by the middle of this week, both the people who are carrying out the registration, the technicians, the INEC at the highest level will be able to make this work smoothly.

“So, I don’t believe that we should now start to castigate and to condemn. If, of course, by the middle of the week it’s not working as it should be, we will all see and then those who designed it would have to advise us how we can go about it. But for now, I believe let’s regard this as the hiccup of a new process.” “Let us not prejudge them, let’s give them time to think and rethink if rethinking is necessary,” Obasanjo said.

“Nigerians, be patient and let us all be determined to get ourselves registered. I have said I’m travelling tonight to Cuba, when I return; I will come and sit down here until I am registered. And as I said jocularly, if it is blood that is not running in my vein, I will go for blood transfusion to make sure that I can be registered,” he added.

Posted: at 17-01-2011 02:17 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emirateskyd at 17-01-2011 02:28 AM (13 years ago)
HAHAHAHAHA even the DDC machine knows a thief  Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 17-01-2011 02:28 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nice9ija at 17-01-2011 02:50 AM (13 years ago)
BABA, NO MIND THEM JORE GO WASH UR HAND WELL LOLZZZZZ
Posted: at 17-01-2011 02:50 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ILOVEIT at 17-01-2011 02:57 AM (13 years ago)
lmao!!! na too much thief dey cause am heheheh

Posted: at 17-01-2011 02:57 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- eomo at 17-01-2011 03:14 AM (13 years ago)
If only you know wetin baba fingers don touch lol
Posted: at 17-01-2011 03:14 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nellykelly008 at 17-01-2011 03:18 AM (13 years ago)
                                        me self i dey laugh oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
make he go join atiku ..
Posted: at 17-01-2011 03:18 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- elusakin at 17-01-2011 03:21 AM (13 years ago)
This is a dumb post and dumber comments. Do you have to make headline out of rubbish? Even the DDC machine couldn't register me for about 2 hours also.

And whoever called Obasanjo, monkey, should display the picture of his father.
Posted: at 17-01-2011 03:21 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ILOVEIT at 17-01-2011 03:25 AM (13 years ago)
f.u.c.k you for calling others comments dumber.rubbish!

Posted: at 17-01-2011 03:25 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- johnnjasi at 17-01-2011 03:49 AM (13 years ago)
Na  wa ooo. enough blood don stain that hand welle. God knows wetin that hand don touch for this world. wey even machine reject em.
Posted: at 17-01-2011 03:49 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Beauti4 at 17-01-2011 04:25 AM (13 years ago)
lolz...these pple are lyin on Oba mehn....
Posted: at 17-01-2011 04:25 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- xavexdo5 at 17-01-2011 04:47 AM (13 years ago)
hehehehe!
Posted: at 17-01-2011 04:47 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- palaze at 17-01-2011 05:30 AM (13 years ago)
when will INEC get it right.... with the preparation on ground 
we might not be having a free and fair election this year. tragic !!
Posted: at 17-01-2011 05:30 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- martiz at 17-01-2011 06:30 AM (13 years ago)
Machine still detected that Obasajor's hands are not clean, please every sleeping Nigerians should wakeup, this will be a good new Era of Nigeria to grow top one in the world my fellows Nigerians.
Posted: at 17-01-2011 06:30 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- emydaddy at 17-01-2011 06:47 AM (13 years ago)
That is a holy hand. Smiley lol.
Posted: at 17-01-2011 06:47 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- muhamzyguy at 17-01-2011 07:22 AM (13 years ago)
Hahahaha? The DDC Machine knows that if Obasanjo's finger print had been captured, it would have no longer work again & again and by their fruit, we shall know them
Posted: at 17-01-2011 07:22 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- muhamzyguy at 17-01-2011 07:23 AM (13 years ago)
Hahahaha? The DDC Machine knows that if Obasanjo's finger print had been captured, it would have no longer work again & again and by their fruit, we shall know them
Posted: at 17-01-2011 07:23 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- muhamzyguy at 17-01-2011 07:23 AM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 17-01-2011 07:23 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- smesh at 17-01-2011 08:30 AM (13 years ago)
e no easy now, too much money, but the machine dey phyuk up sha, inec should look into it
Posted: at 17-01-2011 08:30 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 17-01-2011 08:55 AM (13 years ago)
that machine was designed to take a human sample  and not that of a gorrila , the machine is perfectly alright , and i think forcing it to take his fingerprint might have damaged it by now , he should have go back , we are no longer in the era of do or die
Posted: at 17-01-2011 08:55 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Omapri at 17-01-2011 08:57 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 17-01-2011 08:55 AM
that machine was designed to take a human sample  and not that of a gorrila , the machine is perfectly alright , and i think forcing it to take his fingerprint might have damaged it by now , he should have go back , we are no longer in the era of do or die

lmfao
Posted: at 17-01-2011 08:57 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10