See The Staggering Amount Super Falcons Will Get For Reaching Women’s World Cup Round Of 16

Date: 01-08-2023 4:17 pm (8 months ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 1-08-2023 04:17 PM (8 months ago)

Nigeria's Super Falcons will get a staggering $1,380,000 after qualifying for the round of 16 at the 2023 Women’s World Cup, The team earned their place in the round of 16 after a 0-0 draw against Ireland yesterday. The feat means Nigeria is the first African country to have reached the World Cup knockout rounds in two successive finals as well as becoming the first African team to keep two clean sheets in the tournament.

Following their qualification, the Super Falcons are guaranteed at least $1, 380,000 (N1.1bn) in prize money to be shared amongst the players, a figure that could rise depending on their progress in the competition. The money promised to teams that reach the round of 16 by FIFA will amount to $60,000 (N46m) per player when divided amongst the 23 Super Falcons squad members.

The nine-time African champions dominated the game from the blast of the whistle but were a bit wasteful and unlucky in getting the goal as the first half ended 0-0. During the second half, Coach Randy Waldrum made the changes, introducing Monday Gift and Ifeoma Onumonu as he sought to get a goal, which failed to come as the game became stagnant for a while with both teams creating little in the closing stages.

In the end, the Super Falcons were able to hold off Ireland late in the game, settling for a draw.

Meanwhile, the Secretary-General of world football-governing body, FIFA, Ms Fatma Samoura commended the Super Falcons for reaching the Round of 16 saying their feat has brought joy to women’s football as a whole with their elegance and self-assuredness on the pitch, as well as African women football and the African girl-child.

“I must say that personally, I am proud of you. As you know, I am the first woman to be Secretary General of FIFA since the organisation was founded in 1904, and I am also an African. So, I am easily excited by any accomplishment that glorifies women’s football and African football.

“You have won one match here, as Morocco and Zambia, but you are the only team that has made it to the knock-out stage yet. I am also excited because when FIFA President Gianni Infantino announced my name as the new FIFA Secretary-General, I was in Nigeria working for the United Nations. So, Nigeria is a second home for me.”

Posted: at 1-08-2023 04:17 PM (8 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 1-08-2023 04:26 PM (8 months ago)
That is our sweet lady Ms. Fatma Samoura!! I'm with you my madame  Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 1-08-2023 04:26 PM (8 months ago) | Grande Master
- ficull at 1-08-2023 04:40 PM (8 months ago)
Who tell you say them go get that money when NFA never bring their own calculator???
Posted: at 1-08-2023 04:40 PM (8 months ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Popular Gospel Singer, Morenikeji Adeleke, aka Egbin Orun is Dead

3. I Need Of Electric Car Charger in Naija - Davido Says After Arrival of His Rolls Royce Spectre

4. Nigerian Man, Wife, & 11 Others Nabbed In Vietnam For Alleged Money Laundering Scheme

5. Man Whose Dad Was Accused of $864K Fraud At His Bank in 1986, Celebrates Him 38yrs Later

6. Fake Alcohol Producer Arrested in Delta, Confess to How He Makes The Fake Drinks (Video)

7. EFCC Arraigns Four Women For Obstruction of Duty and Assault In Kaduna (Photos)

8. Blackface Doubts Plantashun Boiz Reunion, Cites Lack Of Interest From Bandmates

9. "Stop Praying For Tinubu To Succeed" - Renowned Scholar, Sam Amadi

10. Watch President Tinubu's Remarkable Address At World Economic Forum In Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

11. "I Destroyed My Ex-boyfriend’s Car For Being Reluctant To Marry Me" - Yvonne Godwin

12. NDLEA Arrests Suspects For Drug Offenses Across Nigeria, Including Cannabis-Infused Cakes

13. Tragic Incident Unfolds As Man Stabs Wife To Death In Ekiti State Over Alleged Infidelity

14. Tottenham v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

15. Edo Police Apprehend Suspected Cultists Accused Of Killing Man In Daughter’s Presence In Auchi

16. Nottingham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

3. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

4. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

5. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

6. Nigeria Loses Title As Africa’s Largest Economy; Slips To Fourth Place

7. "How I Was Stylishly Set Out Of My Husband’s House The Same Day He Was Buried- Ajigijaga's Wife

8. Nigerian Singer, Davido Claims Family Powers Nigeria With Electricity Empire

9. Nigerian Afrobeat Sensation, Rema Calls Out Mavin Records Over "Fake" PR, Denies New Project

10. EFCC Cracks Down On Currency Fraud: 34 Suspected Speculators Arrested In Abuja (Photos)