German Govt Issues Strong Warning To Niger Coup Plotters, Threatens Sanctions, Prosecution

Date: 07-08-2023 3:40 pm (9 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 7-08-2023 03:40 PM (9 months ago)

German government has issued a strong warning to Niger coup plotters not to commit acts of violence against the detained President Mohamed Bazoum.

A spokesman for the Foreign Office made it clear in Berlin on Monday that they were worried about the politician.

“I would like to emphasise once again at this point our message to the coup plotters that they must expect harsh personal consequences should anything happen to the democratically elected President Bazoum and his family,’’ the spokesman said.

“We would perceive that as an escalation, so would our African partners.’’

The foreign office spokesman said sanctions and also national or international prosecution are possible steps to be taken if violence act is taken against the detained president.

Furthermore, the German government hopes that the coup plotters will respond to mediation efforts by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

Earlier, an ultimatum issued by ECOWAS to the military junta that has ruled Niger since a coup d’état at the end of July expired.

Posted: at 7-08-2023 03:40 PM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 7-08-2023 03:45 PM (9 months ago)
Na wa oh,if una wan fight war make una go ahead,am sick and tired of hearing too many talks,who go die go die,who to survive go survive, bullshit  Angry
Posted: at 7-08-2023 03:45 PM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 7-08-2023 03:59 PM (9 months ago)
Don't this me with this coup
Posted: at 7-08-2023 03:59 PM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- vicky987 at 7-08-2023 04:58 PM (9 months ago)
Who's your African partner? Thieves
Posted: at 7-08-2023 04:58 PM (9 months ago) | Upcoming
- Vesamu at 7-08-2023 05:22 PM (9 months ago)
All ma for their own benefit...
Posted: at 7-08-2023 05:22 PM (9 months ago) | Upcoming
- KDoinspire at 8-08-2023 07:07 AM (9 months ago)
Germans, you  guys are stupid. Shameless people. What is your business with what is happening in Africa. Have you people been able to deal with Putin as NATO community? Idiots. Toothless dogs
Posted: at 8-08-2023 07:07 AM (9 months ago) | Upcoming