Ministerial Screening: Keyamo Apologises To Senate Over Misconduct As Minister

Date: 07-08-2023 8:27 pm (1 year ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 7-08-2023 08:27 PM (1 year ago)

A ministerial nominee, Festus Keyamo, has apologised to the Nigerian Senate on Monday over his conduct, which tended to undermine the oversight functions of the parliament during his tenure as Minister of State for Employment, Labour and Productivity, in the immediate past administration.

The apology was made against the backdrop of controversy that rocked his screening in the early hours of Monday, when Senator Darlington Nwokocha, representing Abia Central Senatorial District, who was a member of the House of Representatives in the ninth National Assembly, raised a point of order to explain the nominee’s sheer arrogance when asked to appear before the committee that oversighted him.

Nwokocha cited Section 88 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended, where it was incumbent on the parliament to carry out its legislative activities, but Festus Keyamo lacked respect for the said sections of the constitution.

The lawmaker moved a motion for his screening to be stepped down, which was seconded by Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe.

Amid the confusion, the Chamber went into a closed-door session.

At the resumption after five hours, the nominee reappeared and tendered an apology before Senators, but further explained that the controversial N52 billion Social Works Programme, which was meant for distribution to 774 Local Government Councils across the states, though, was his initiative, he never saw the money.

“The fund was distributed by the Central Bank of Nigeria to beneficiaries directly without me knowing who got any money.

“There is a register that captures every beneficiary, and it was the Central Bank of Nigeria that shared the money to Nigerians who had already been captured through the approved criteria.”

Meanwhile, Senator Godiya Akwashiki from Nasarawa, who was the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Labour, Employment and Productivity, expressed his disgust at the manner in which the nominee treated his committee, accepted his apology, and said: “Go and sin no more.”

Keyamo was thereafter asked to take a bow and go.

Posted: at 7-08-2023 08:27 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- ButterGirl at 7-08-2023 08:51 PM (1 year ago)
Apology accepted. A real man apologizes
Posted: at 7-08-2023 08:51 PM (1 year ago) | Newbie
- Oworen25 at 7-08-2023 08:52 PM (1 year ago)
"For if men can never have the Rituals to study, they can never be fully and perfectly invested with the Degrees."
Posted: at 7-08-2023 08:52 PM (1 year ago) | Hero
- taypetdun at 7-08-2023 09:47 PM (1 year ago)
You have never contributed anything since you've been in government, only causing chaos, your attitude and behaviour towards elder statement during Buhari regime was disheartening, abusing people as if you have eternal power. Why are you apologising to senate for your rude misconduct which is inherent in your life . The apology is not from heart, you just want to grab the appointment. You are not fit and proper to be a minister, as you've never shown good examplary life. Those you served during Buhari government should not be re-appointed because they have nothing to contribute rather, they will inject bad ideas into the system. We need fresh people with fresh ideas to move the country forward. Keyamo should be rejected inhoneypot.
Posted: at 7-08-2023 09:47 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- ButterGirl at 7-08-2023 09:50 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: taypetdun on  7-08-2023 09:47 PM
You have never contributed anything since you've been in government, only causing chaos, your attitude and behaviour towards elder statement during Buhari regime was disheartening, abusing people as if you have eternal power. Why are you apologising to senate for your rude misconduct which is inherent in your life . The apology is not from heart, you just want to grab the appointment. You are not fit and proper to be a minister, as you've never shown good examplary life. Those you served during Buhari government should not be re-appointed because they have nothing to contribute rather, they will inject bad ideas into the system. We need fresh people with fresh ideas to move the country forward. Keyamo should be rejected inhoneypot.
Naija decomcracy is basically “make we chop clean mouth” n he’s damn good at it to be so relevant in multiple governments from different regions even though he’s not from either
Posted: at 7-08-2023 09:50 PM (1 year ago) | Newbie

1. Gov Obaseki's Wife Replies Oshiomole After He Mocked Their 'Childlessness'

2. Irate Mob Beat Thief Armed With Gun & Knife to Death in Edo State

3. Buhari’s Ex-aide, Bashir Narrates How Bello Turji, Nnamdi Kanu Have Caused Harm In Nigeria

4. I Will Shut The City Of Lagos For You - Iyabo Ojo Promises In-law

5. VIDEO: Super Eagles of Nigeria Squad Arrive in Kigali Ahead of Their Match With Rwanda

6. How Police Foiled Two Suicide Attempts on Third Mainland Bridge, Lagos

7. Ohanaeze, Afenifere, Arewa Youths Insist On Petrol Price Reversal

8. Rwanda v Nigeria: African Cup Of Nation Qualification Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

9. I Was Happy We Got Revenge Against Benin Republic – Nigeria Striker, Osimhen Reveals

10. Take A Step Back From Shaun, Allow Him To Earn You – Onyeka Advises Wanni

11. Primate Ayodele Tackles Tinubu Govt Over Lavish Spending, Says It's Killing Nigeria

12. Nigerians Lament Bitterly Over Inability To Access 40k Bag Rice Point Of Sales

13. Lingering Crisis In Petroleum Sector, Senate Postpones Public Hearing On Sabotage

14. Shaun Is My In-house Boyfriend – BBNaija S9 Housemate, Wanni Clarifies Relationship

15. Expect 3-Day Thunderstorms, Rains From Monday - NiMet Forecasts

1. Ex-APC Vice-Chairman, Lukman Expresses Regrets For Choosing Buhari, Tinubu, Calls Them Failures

2. Nigerians Face New Financial Strain as Moniepoint, Opay Impose N50 Electronic Transfer Levy

3. Davido Shows Off Where He 'Sleeps' With Wife As He Gives Tour Of His $75m Private Jet (VID)

4. "Go & Resolve Your Ethnic & Inter Tribal Issues Through Peaceful Means" - Canada Govt Tells FGN

5. Elon Musk Snubbed From 100 Most Influential People In AI By Time Magazine, Critics Blast

6. Governor Charles Soludo Allegedlly Sacks Aide Who Leaked ‘Gwo Gwo Gwo Ngwo’ Dance Video

7. Toyin Saraki's 60th Birthday Bash Lights Up France With Davido's Special Performance (Video)

8. Survivors Attribute Escape To Divine Intervention In Deadly Boko Haram Attack On Yobe Mosque

9. Watch Moment Oshiomole Tap Edo APC Guber Candidate After Promising Edo Citizens 'Insecurity'

10. See How Nigerians Are Reacting to Tinubu's Media Aide, Ajuri’s indefinite Leave Of Absence