Trade Union Congress Can Not Stop Proposed Nationwide Strike Says NLC

Date: 20-09-2023 11:33 am (7 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 20-09-2023 11:33 AM (7 months ago)

The Nigerian Labour Congress, NLC, has maintained that the Trade Union Congress, TUC, cannot stop its proposed nationwide strike.

This is as it appears that the division between labour unions is widening as they seem not to be on the same page on the proposed strike.

The NLC President, Joe Ajaero, had yesterday said that the TUC could not back out of a strike without giving notice.

Gistmania reports that the 21-day notice given by the NLC to the Federal Government will expire on Thursday.

Recall that the TUC did not take part in the two-day warning strike by the NLC on September 5 and 6.

The TUC President, Festus Osifo, had argued that talks should be allowed to go on between the FG and the Labour Unions instead of embarking on a strike.

Ajaero told reporters yesterday, “From what you can see from our last warning strike, you see that we can do it alone.

“We can work independently; we can work jointly when we agree.”

The TUC president, however, said its members have not been served any notice to go on strike.

According to him, the Congress had agreed to give the FG time it solicited for, which is also for President Bola Tinubu to return from the ongoing United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) in New York, United States.

Osifo said: “Initially, they asked for two weeks, but we rejected it. Then, they came to one week. We will meet to review the situation and come up with a joint position.

“For us in TUC, we feel that it is always better when we work together, when we synergise because governments all over the world are coming together. It will be too bad if we cannot come together. Whichever way we look at it, it is always better to work together.

“In terms of organised Labour being disorganised, I would agree to that claim because our aim is to ensure the masses are taken care of.”

Posted: at 20-09-2023 11:33 AM (7 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 20-09-2023 12:16 PM (7 months ago)
Posted: at 20-09-2023 12:16 PM (7 months ago) | Grande Master
- Jiiitk4 at 20-09-2023 01:05 PM (7 months ago)
The Nigerian Labour Congress should go ahead with the Nation wide strike and forget about the TUC's withdrawal from the action. It is evident that TUC has been bought over. Listening to the TUC leader on TV the other day i could smell the bribe. Foolish Osifo.
Posted: at 20-09-2023 01:05 PM (7 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 20-09-2023 04:48 PM (7 months ago)
Money has change hands up and down
Posted: at 20-09-2023 04:48 PM (7 months ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Meet The Little Girl Who Got N21m Scholarship After Scoring 100% In Mathematics Competition

2. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

3. Delta State Aide, Ossai Ovie Faults Actor Zubby Michael's Choice of Outfit To Jnr Pope's Burial

4. BasketMouth Ex Wife, Elsie Reveals Why She Wont Go Back to Hubby, Warns Those Advising Her to

5. Photo of Edima, Young Lady Who Was Killed & Dismembered By Her Boyfriend, Elisha in Akwa Ibom

6. Mohbad's Dad Replies Wunmi After She Blamed Him For Mohbad's Autopsy Test Failure

7. Okonjo-Iweala Reacts to Whatsapp Message Claiming She’s Helping Tinubu Woo Investors to Nigeria

8. VIDEO: Portable Shows Off Wads of Cash After His Release From Police Net Over Unpaid Car Debt

9. PHOTOS: Influencer, Nickie Da Barbie’s Regains Freedom From Kirikiri Prison After 2 Weeks

10. No One Should Be Jailed For Using Or in Possession of Marijuana - US President, Joe Biden

11. Romantic Moment Saskay's Boyfriend, Derin Gifted Her a Diamond Jewelry For Her 24th Birthday

12. US-Based Nigerian Doctor, Funke Afolabi-Brown Becomes First Black Woman To Own Sleep Clinic

13. Many Trapped As One-Storey Building Which Served As Warehouse Collapses in Minna (Photos)

14. EFCC Declares US-Based Nigerian Man, Somoto Anozodo, One Other Wanted For Fraud

15. Occupants Count Their Loses, Three Siblings Rescued As Fires Razes Building in Delta State

16. Pastor E. A. Adeboye's Son, Leke Adeboye Reveals Youthful Crush On Bishop Oyedepo’s Daughter

17. Watch Moment Man's iPhone 12 Explodes, Fills Living Room With Smoke (Videos)

18. Building Collapse In Minna Traps Residents, Emergency Rescue Underway (Photos)

1. Man Caught Shoving Nozzle From Petrol Pump Up His Bum While Stroking His Member At Fuel Station

2. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

3. Never Relocate to These Two Countries Even If Their Visa is Free - Lady Sternly Warns Nigerians

4. Afrobeat Singer, Burna Boy Opens Up Amid Rumours He Can’t Have Kids, Gives Reasons

5. Nigerian Journalist, Reuben Abati Pens Lovely Note To Wife On Their 4th Wedding Anniversary

6. Naked Daughter’s Picture: Simi Berates Police Over Counseling Comment

7. Portable Breaks Silence Hours After Being Arrested By The Police

8. "I Regret Opening Up On Weight Loss" - Real Warri Pikin Laments

9. See Mercy Johnson & Other Actors' Reactions As Veteran Actress Liz Benson Stormed Movie Set

10. Moment Zubby Michael Stormed Junior Pope’s Funeral With Heavy Security