76Yr Old Widow Becomes Homeless After Being Scammed Off Her Life Savings By Facebook Lover

Date: 02-10-2023 2:42 pm (2 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 2-10-2023 02:42 PM (2 months ago)

A 76-year-old widow was scammed out of her life savings by a man she met and fell in love with on Facebook.

Jennifer Dennis, was living in Georgia when she met a man on Facebook named Caleb and said he was working as a doctor for the Red Cross in Yemen.

The two chatted online for months and Caleb proposed that they buy a home together in Cary, North Carolina, to live together and have a fresh start.

Widow now homeless after man she fell in love with on Facebook scammed her out of $70,000 life savings

Dennis liked the idea because ‘everything about the house and the area reminded me of my husband, which was just heartbreaking’, she told WTVD of her living situation.

Caleb said he would pay $600,000 toward their new home and asked her to pay the remaining $70,000. Dennis said she sent him that amount, plus $8,700 for other expenses.

Dennis and her son, Raymond, then packed up all their belongings, sold their Georgia home and drove to the house in Cary. Her son quickly realized that the whole story seemed odd.

‘When I noticed that someone was still living in the house and knocked on the door, I automatically knew that it was a scam,’ Raymond told the TV station.

‘The owner of the home told them he had lived in the home for years and had no intention of ever selling.’

When Dennis informed Caleb, he sent her a picture showing that he had ‘supposedly been beat up’, she said. She never heard from him again.

Widow now homeless after man she fell in love with on Facebook scammed her out of $70,000 life savingsWidow now homeless after man she fell in love with on Facebook scammed her out of $70,000 life savings

‘I had all that money and I don’t think I’ll ever get it back,’ Dennis told ABC’s Good Morning America on Friday, September 29.

Dennis’ life savings were lost, and she and her son were left homeless. They slept in the car.

A member of their church later donated a camper for them to live in. Dennis said her story should serve as a warning to others.

‘I think that it’s devastating for me, but I have my son, which has been a blessing,’ she told WTVD. ‘So some women are totally alone and they get scammed like that.’

Last year, romance scams cost nearly 70,000 people roughly $1.3billion, according to the Federal Trade Commission.

Posted: at 2-10-2023 02:42 PM (2 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 2-10-2023 03:16 PM (2 months ago)
Sorry O Sorry O
Posted: at 2-10-2023 03:16 PM (2 months ago) | Hero
- Dopybadass at 2-10-2023 03:48 PM (2 months ago)
Eayeaa Omo boy don hammer with a little help of juju,cos this one no be ordinary work Grin
Posted: at 2-10-2023 03:48 PM (2 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- OmoNobaUku at 2-10-2023 04:13 PM (2 months ago)
A fool and her money are easily parted comes to mind on this one. May the scammer never know peace though for his callous act on a gullible and trusting woman.
Posted: at 2-10-2023 04:13 PM (2 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- nikiniki at 2-10-2023 05:38 PM (2 months ago)
What is a woman of 76yrs looking for? Even if you want to revamp your love life again, common sense should tell you that you are safer with someone who lives in the same country as you that you can easily vet. Not a Joe Biden living in Iraq. She is a fool! And they get scammed because they also know that they need to maintain privacy when chatting with these scammers and her son? He must be a fool not to have drawn mama back! Should know better. It is $70k, they still have the money from their sold property. God forbid scammers!
Posted: at 2-10-2023 05:38 PM (2 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Seengpreel at 2-10-2023 08:49 PM (2 months ago)
Sorry mama, naija boys no get joy
Posted: at 2-10-2023 08:49 PM (2 months ago) | Newbie
- gogoman at 2-10-2023 10:33 PM (2 months ago)
imagine falling for Caleb stupid name  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 2-10-2023 10:33 PM (2 months ago) | Grande Master