Jos: 8 killed in fresh attack, women protest presence of military

Date: 25-01-2011 12:22 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 25-01-2011 12:22 AM (13 years ago)
Eight persons have been killed and several others wounded in a fresh attack yesterday morning in Riyom and Barakin Ladi Local Councils of Plateau State. Several persons sustained various degrees of injury when they attempted to flee from their homes as they were being attacked by the invaders who hid in concealed positions.

Among the five persons killed at Farin Lamba in Riyom Local Council was a woman and her daughter who were said to be asleep when their attackers invaded the village. Two persons were killed in Fan, Barkin Ladi Local Council, about 25 kilometres to Jos.
The latest attacks were reported to have been carried out by men in military uniform who arrived the two villages in patrol vehicles belonging to the Special Task Force, STF and used guns and machetes on the villagers.
The attacks sparked off a wave of protests by women who insisted that soldiers of the STF should leave the state while alleging that they were conniving with their attackers to kill their kinsmen and women.

The women who trooped out in their hundreds in Vom also called for the removal of Commander of the STF, Brigadier General Hassan Umaru.
Last night’s attacks on the two villages were the fifth in two weeks with the death toll put at about 30 within the period.
One of the victims who is receiving treatment at the Vom Christian Hospital, Bulus Pam, said the attackers first encountered four of them who were on duty as a vigilance group but that rather than identifying themselves as requested by the vigilance men, they opened fire on them killing three instantly and injuring him.
Pam explained that apart from the uniforms their attackers were wearing, they drove into the village in a patrol vehicle belonging to the STF, which was parked not far from where they were accosted, adding that they only drove off after they had been dealt with.
The crises led to the closure of the Monday Market in Vom and the ongoing voters’ registration exercise in the area had to be suspended as people fled to avoid being caught in the sporadic gunshots by the soldiers.

The STF Commander, Brig. General Hassan Umaru who later addressed newsmen after the operation in Vom said, “we have restored calm in the area and for peace to reign there, I have withdrawn my members from the area for now.
“It is not possible to withdraw the soldiers from Plateau State completely because the security situation now is not conducive for such decision. I will assure the people that I will investigate the level of involvement of my men in the recent attacks in the area and I will punish any of my men found to be directly or indirectly involved in these attacks.”

However, the state Police Commissioner, Mr. Abdurrahman Akano confirmed that some people in military uniform went to Farin Lamba near Kaduna -Vom between 8 to 9 pm on Sunday, attacked and killed five people and left in a Hilux van.
“You see, we the security have not failed. But whenever we are doing something, some people somewhere are trying to take us back. Just the day before yesterday, we received a report that over 100 cows belonging to Fulanis were stolen and what we are seeing today is a reprisal attack,” he added.

The crisis has led to the closure of the Monday market in Vom while the ongoing voter’s registration in the area has to be suspended as people fled so as not to be hit by the sporadic gun shot by the soldiers

The crises led to the closure of the Monday market in Vom and the ongoing voter’s registration exercise in the area has to be suspended as people fled so as not to be hit by the sporadic gun shot by the soldiers.
The STF commander who later address newsmen after the operation in Vom said, “We have restored calm in the area, and for peace to rain there, I have withdrawn my members from the area for now.

“It is not possible to withdraw the soldiers from Plateau state completely because the security situation now is not conducive for such decision. I will assure the people that I will investigate the level of involvement of my men in the recent attacks in the area and I will punish any of my men found to be directly or indirectly involved in these attacks”
The crises led to the closure of the Monday market in Vom and the ongoing voter’s registration exercise in the area has to be suspended as people fled so as not to be hit by the sporadic gun shot by the soldiers.

Posted: at 25-01-2011 12:22 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emepretty at 25-01-2011 12:55 AM (13 years ago)
no comment..but if anything happns to my family...they go know say Ac no be fan...
Posted: at 25-01-2011 12:55 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sylax at 25-01-2011 01:23 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: emepretty on 25-01-2011 12:55 AM
no comment..but if anything happns to my family...they go know say Ac no be fan...
Am sorry but wat a selfish post, who d hell is dis ur family? are they better than those who had lost theirs?  Its ppl like u who when becomes a politician only think of sending his/her family abroad and let others suffer to death in Nigeria...freaking nonsense.
Posted: at 25-01-2011 01:23 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- rhykado at 25-01-2011 01:24 AM (13 years ago)

wetin u go do nah ?
Posted: at 25-01-2011 01:24 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- martiz at 25-01-2011 01:38 AM (13 years ago)
Let us be sincere to ourselves, everyone is very important,  everybody should try and kill any Jos muslim, if they found in ur state, if any of ur relative is victim to it in Jos, becos no human is caved from the wood.
Posted: at 25-01-2011 01:38 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abby at 25-01-2011 01:41 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: martiz on 25-01-2011 01:38 AM
Let us be sincere to ourselves, everyone is very important,  everybody should try and kill any Jos muslim, if they found in ur state, if any of ur relative is victim to it in Jos, becos no human is caved from the wood.
how can you contradict yourself that way in 3 lines? ... wow
Posted: at 25-01-2011 01:41 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Victor9 at 25-01-2011 02:32 AM (13 years ago)
INFACT NIGERIA IS A SHAMEFUL COUNTRY,WE ARE KILLING OURSELF WITHOUT ANY TANGIBLE REASON,IF WE VIEW OTHER COUNTRY THAT HAVE SIMILAR KILLING LIKE THIS IN THE WORLD THEY HAVE REASONS,PLEASE MY FELLOW NAIJAPALS,I AM NIGERIAN BUT I STAY ABROAD,PLEASE I NEED SERIOUS EXPLANATION THE CAUSE OF KILLING CHRISTIANS IN NORTHERN PART OF OUR COUNTRY OR OTHER TRIBE CAN I CALL IT,BECAUSE SOME OF MY FRIENDS HERE THAT ARE NOT NIGERIANS ASK ME SIMILAR QUESTION,BUT I CANNT DEFEND MY SELF.
THANKS
Posted: at 25-01-2011 02:32 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- emirateskyd at 25-01-2011 02:56 AM (13 years ago)
Grin Grin Grin lolz guy are u speeking swahili?? pls make sense each time u post a reply
Posted: at 25-01-2011 02:56 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nice9ija at 25-01-2011 03:07 AM (13 years ago)

i begin to think of this now!!!!!
Posted: at 25-01-2011 03:07 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pearl122 at 25-01-2011 03:27 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sylax on 25-01-2011 01:23 AM
Am sorry but wat a selfish post, who d hell is dis ur family? are they better than those who had lost theirs?  Its ppl like u who when becomes a politician only think of sending his/her family abroad and let others suffer to death in Nigeria...freaking nonsense.
you make sense JoRr..lol
Posted: at 25-01-2011 03:27 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- absoul at 25-01-2011 04:00 AM (13 years ago)
I DEY SEE DANGER
Posted: at 25-01-2011 04:00 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- chinazous at 25-01-2011 04:04 AM (13 years ago)
helpless fellows.
hope by now some people will come to agree with me that the security is corrupt.
imagine, where women do not trust the security system.
nothing is forever!
Posted: at 25-01-2011 04:04 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- askfrankman at 25-01-2011 04:29 AM (13 years ago)
may God help our dear nigeria,this useless people one day God will punish them
Posted: at 25-01-2011 04:29 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Paschaldon at 25-01-2011 05:30 AM (13 years ago)
Call me watever.... I HATE MUSLIM WITH PASSION!
Posted: at 25-01-2011 05:30 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- lagosgirl at 25-01-2011 06:17 AM (13 years ago)
WHEN WILL THESE KILLING STOP?
Posted: at 25-01-2011 06:17 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- truthisbitter at 25-01-2011 06:29 AM (13 years ago)
I SAID IT............THESE KILLINGS IN JOS AND BORNO STATES ARE POLITICALLY MOTIVATED...............SOMEONE WANT TO SHOW HIS SUPERIORITY OR SOVEREIGNITY IN A STATE AT THE COST OF HUMAN LIVES...................ITS A SHAME..................IN ABACHA ERA.............IT WAS WHEN HE DIED NIGERIANS KNEW THAT HE AND HIS MEN WERE BEHIND ALL THE BOMB BLAST................ALL THIS IS HAPPENNING BECAUSE OF THE APRIL ELECTIONS.............CAN YOU IMAGINE SOLDIERS NOW BEING USED...........I THINK BABANGIDA AS A GENERAL IN JOS SHOULD KNOW EXACTLY WHAT IS GOING ON BECAUSE BELIEVE IT OR NOT HE IS STILL THE CHIEF SECURITY OFFICER IN THAT STATE AS AN EX-GENERAL.
Posted: at 25-01-2011 06:29 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ascondy at 25-01-2011 07:13 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: rhykado on 25-01-2011 01:24 AM

wetin u go do nah ? U carry face lik jos man n i d suspect u 4 askin him or her lik dat.
Posted: at 25-01-2011 07:13 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- moralemike07 at 25-01-2011 07:21 AM (13 years ago)
IT's non stop in Nigeria's Iraq. God save us.
Posted: at 25-01-2011 07:21 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ascondy at 25-01-2011 07:25 AM (13 years ago)
meanwhile, muslim in the name of the God u believe in if truely u hav a blessed religion stop killin pple in oda not 2 spoil the name of ur religion 4 gud name is beta dan riches even in heaven.
Posted: at 25-01-2011 07:25 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- SNYPER at 25-01-2011 08:02 AM (13 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 25-01-2011 08:02 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7