Jonathan, 4 African leaders for honours in USA

Date: 25-01-2011 6:39 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 25-01-2011 06:39 PM (13 years ago)
ABUJA-FOR deepening democratic governance across the continent of Africa, President Goodluck Jonathan and four other African leaders are to be honoured in Chicago, United States of America, USA.

According to the Chicago-based online news website, Chicagoinquirer.com, the award which is being organised by the League of African-American Media Professionals in the United States will be conferred on five African leaders in a deliberate effort to promote democracy and its institutions on the continent.

The maiden award ceremony which is said to enjoy the support of major media organisations in the US and that of government will go to those who have consciously enhanced the democratic process and culture in their countries while in office.

The five leaders featured in the preliminary report of the committee which conducted the survey on the continent include the Liberian President Helen Johnson-Sirleaf, President Goodluck Jonathan of Nigeria, President Bai Koroma of Sierra Leone, Gabonese leader, Ali Bongo and President Faure Gnassingbe of Togo.

A statement signed by Tim Spiff on behalf of the League said, the initial report from the survey carried out over a period of time reflected the growing influence of these leaders in entrenching the democratic cultures in their respective countries while in office which is key in enhancing global peace.

The Liberian leader is the first woman to emerge President of a sovereign nation in Africa. Since assuming office after a bloody civil war, Sirleaf has been able to stabilize the polity thus making the country achieve a significant progress in various sectors and the restoration of social order.

The Nigerian leader; Jonathan, who recently won a major victory in his party's convention was captured in the survey for the tremendous effort in restoring order in governance shortly after the death of President Umaru Yar'Adua with who he won the ticket for a four _year tenure of office in 2007.

His emergence as the party's flag bearer in this year's election in one of Africa's most populous black nation is an indication of his discipline and dedication to the policies of the late leader.

Since assumption of office about eight months ago, the Nigeria leader has brought relative stability to the energy and power sectors with improved supply and distribution of petroleum products across the country, thereby enhancing price stability, investment on electricity power has doubled in recent times.

President Koroma also emerged a strong leader in post civil war Sierra Leone. Initially confronted with difficulties having defeated the incumbent to emerge the new leader, his policies so far have enhanced peace and strong relationship with other camps within the polity.

The new Gabonese leader; Bongo though emerged from the political dynasty of his late father; Omar Bongo, he has so far showed the willingness to promote the culture of respect for democracy in the oil_rich African nation which observers have described as a clear departure from the vision of his father who died in office after more than three decades of holding on to power.

Same goes for the new Togolese leader; Gnassingbe, who also stepped into the shoes of his late father though after a controversial election in which opposition candidates believed that the atmosphere for a free and fair election was never allowed to exist.

He has however embarked on policies to promote democracy contrary to what existed in the country for all the years his late father stayed in power.

The media professionals have set as an agenda to promote global peace with special focus on the continent of Africa.

The honours award is to encourage the leaders not only to embrace democracy but to remain dedicated to the demands as expected of their office and position in order to eliminate tension and disputes often associated with outcome of elections.

Posted: at 25-01-2011 06:39 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- interpo77 at 26-01-2011 11:25 PM (13 years ago)
hmmmmm that is gud news, more honors will be coming, more greaze to ur elbow our president GEJ
Posted: at 26-01-2011 11:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smog99 at 26-01-2011 11:58 PM (13 years ago)
i concur to that.

Posted: at 26-01-2011 11:58 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ILOVEIT at 27-01-2011 01:02 AM (13 years ago)
good news! though i still cross my fingers.hmm

Posted: at 27-01-2011 01:02 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- DarkCoco at 27-01-2011 03:01 AM (13 years ago)
i like dis....thats whts up

Posted: at 27-01-2011 03:01 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pointzero at 27-01-2011 04:08 AM (13 years ago)
ok oooo.............make dem dey honor naija people wey dey suffer 2 ooohh

Posted: at 27-01-2011 04:08 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chiwaychiller at 27-01-2011 06:24 AM (13 years ago)
waitin   I beg dey go.  I mean our African leader no good enough for the White House.  Na the Black Americans the get our backs that what up.  I never see any change fo nigeria o, not to be negative.   These leader just go chia town to enjoy.    I beg  make somebody answer this question for me.  Na igbo the Nigerian president be abi, now which Igbo man last name na Jonathan, I just dey wonder. 
Posted: at 27-01-2011 06:24 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Dikason32 at 27-01-2011 08:02 AM (13 years ago)
I hope my able president wins the award!
Posted: at 27-01-2011 08:02 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- fuoski at 27-01-2011 08:16 AM (13 years ago)
he worth it
Posted: at 27-01-2011 08:16 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kessybee at 27-01-2011 08:34 AM (13 years ago)
Thats good!
Posted: at 27-01-2011 08:34 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Pepesy at 27-01-2011 08:49 AM (13 years ago)
Congrats!
Posted: at 27-01-2011 08:49 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- simele at 27-01-2011 08:57 AM (13 years ago)
good
Posted: at 27-01-2011 08:57 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eucharia at 27-01-2011 09:01 AM (13 years ago)
President Jonathan Deserve  it . I congratulate you Sir.
Posted: at 27-01-2011 09:01 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- emydaddy at 27-01-2011 09:29 AM (13 years ago)
CONGRATULATIONS OUR DEAR PRESIDENT )))))))))
Posted: at 27-01-2011 09:29 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- GOLDENMEDAH at 27-01-2011 09:40 AM (13 years ago)
Congratulobia GEJ , U deserve it wella
Posted: at 27-01-2011 09:40 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lekan22 at 27-01-2011 09:41 AM (13 years ago)
I thank God for him, God bless Nigeria.
Posted: at 27-01-2011 09:41 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Marvellous1 at 27-01-2011 09:53 AM (13 years ago)
Sounds good , more grease 2 ur elbow mr president    Embarrassed
Posted: at 27-01-2011 09:53 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- destinyjunior at 27-01-2011 10:38 AM (13 years ago)
kessybee, i dey hail you,
good story....but no be wethin we go chop na,
na make our country better be the koko....
Posted: at 27-01-2011 10:38 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- enoeno at 27-01-2011 11:06 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: fuoski on 27-01-2011 08:16 AM
he worth it

YES U CAN SAY THAT AGAIN

CONGRATULATION MR PRESIDENT
Posted: at 27-01-2011 11:06 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- enoeno at 27-01-2011 11:06 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Lekan22 on 27-01-2011 09:41 AM
I thank God for him, God bless Nigeria.

AMEN.
Posted: at 27-01-2011 11:06 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming