Snooker dispute sparks deadly clashes in Nigeria Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:14am GMT Pr

Date: 28-01-2011 2:31 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Pholake
[1] 2 3 4
- at 28-01-2011 02:31 PM (13 years ago)
BAUCHI, Nigeria (Reuters) - Clashes between Christian and Muslim youths in central Nigeria triggered by a game of snooker have killed four people and led to the burning of houses, churches and mosques, police said on Friday.

Residents said the dispute in Tafawa Balewa, in Bauchi state, started when a man from the Muslim Hausa ethnic group refused to pay for a snooker game on Wednesday evening.

The snooker club owners, from the mostly Christian Sayawa ethnic group, threw him out but he returned with a gang of friends and tried to set the building ablaze, witnesses said.

Several houses and places of worship were torched as rioting broke out the following morning, leading the police to call in reinforcements from the northern states of Gombe and Kano and the local government to impose a dusk-to-dawn curfew.

"We cordoned off the area in order to prevent a spill over of the crisis to other places," Bauchi state police commissioner Mohammed Abdulkadir Indabawa said.

Bauchi lies next to Plateau state, where religious and ethnic clashes have killed more than 200 people over the past month, according to U.S.-based Human Rights Watch.

There have been almost daily clashes between Christian and Muslim mobs in villages around Jos, the capital of Plateau state, since a series of bombs were detonated during Christmas Eve celebrations a month ago, killing scores of people.

The tension is rooted in decades of resentment between indigenous groups, mostly Christian or animist, who are vying for control of fertile farmlands and for economic and political power with migrants and settlers from the Muslim north.

It is largely contained within one region of Africa's most populous nation and does not, on its own, risk derailing presidential, parliamentary and state elections in April.

But it is likely to escalate in the run-up to the polls and gives President Goodluck Jonathan's administration another security challenge on top of attacks by a radical Islamic sect in the remote northeast and the threat of renewed violence in the oil-producing Niger Delta, on Nigeria's southern coast.

http://af.reuters.com/article/topNews/idAFJOE70R09X20110128

Posted: at 28-01-2011 02:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 28-01-2011 02:42 PM (13 years ago)
Just look at it, the tolerance level has dipped............just a little spark and there is a huge light..........I don tire for all these blood shed everywhere....God, have you turned your face away from Nigeria?.......

Posted: at 28-01-2011 02:42 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- JzeeWiz at 28-01-2011 06:27 PM (13 years ago)
Wats the meaning of this for Christ sake?!
Posted: at 28-01-2011 06:27 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 28-01-2011 08:26 PM (13 years ago)
GOD , when will all this problem end in nigeria ?
Posted: at 28-01-2011 08:26 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- goody4info at 28-01-2011 08:36 PM (13 years ago)
 :'
Every where blood spilt, God rise on our behalf please.
Posted: at 28-01-2011 08:36 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- banana4good at 28-01-2011 08:39 PM (13 years ago)
what is all this please,what did Christians do to Muslim for Christ sek,hmm please Muslims live Christians alone ooo please  
Posted: at 28-01-2011 08:39 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Mma4life at 28-01-2011 09:01 PM (13 years ago)
Why can't we Nigerians help ourselves? Why shouldn't we love ourselves, while we call ourselves one nation. Why are we calling ourselves one nation while hatred and tribalizen is kill us. Oh God have mercy on us and save our souls. Amen.
Posted: at 28-01-2011 09:01 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Mma4life at 28-01-2011 09:02 PM (13 years ago)
Why can't we Nigerians help ourselves? Why shouldn't we love ourselves, while we call ourselves one nation. Why are we calling ourselves one nation while hatred and tribalizen is kill us. Oh God have mercy on us and save our souls. Amen.
Posted: at 28-01-2011 09:02 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Mma4life at 28-01-2011 09:06 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 28-01-2011 09:06 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- names at 28-01-2011 09:15 PM (13 years ago)
i beg make de northerners go make everybody get peace of mind
Posted: at 28-01-2011 09:15 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- prince1445 at 28-01-2011 09:17 PM (13 years ago)
Dis is pure religion madness.
Posted: at 28-01-2011 09:17 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- names at 28-01-2011 09:23 PM (13 years ago)
i beg make de northerners go make everybody get peace of mind
Posted: at 28-01-2011 09:23 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 28-01-2011 09:46 PM (13 years ago)
tired of all this nonsense
Posted: at 28-01-2011 09:46 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- jessy80 at 28-01-2011 09:47 PM (13 years ago)
 >:(Why all these  killing, naija need deliverance because this is too much,and nobody wann do anything.well those fools should not forget that we are not going to live on earth forever,one day they die too.  
Posted: at 28-01-2011 09:47 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- jessy80 at 28-01-2011 10:03 PM (13 years ago)
why cant aboki, mallam and the foolish alhaji leave the christians alone,this is really getting on my nerves.this is really too much for the christians to bear.
Posted: at 28-01-2011 10:03 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ayemisunny at 28-01-2011 10:13 PM (13 years ago)
Before i read this i already knew it as another muslim issue. They are so idiot that some people are hidding in a corner keeping their heads save and command them to kill themselves and others. Where is Bin Laden their god father? Why is he hidden?
Posted: at 28-01-2011 10:13 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- popo2009 at 28-01-2011 10:21 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 28-01-2011 08:26 PM
GOD , when will all this problem end in nigeria ?
My brother I tire ooo
everyday bring a new phase of violence and killings
Posted: at 28-01-2011 10:21 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mibenne at 28-01-2011 10:23 PM (13 years ago)
scape goats who allowed themselves to be used by d so called politicianssssssss.when will they learn?
dying for nothing n the big men families all chilaxing abroad. SO SAD..
Posted: at 28-01-2011 10:23 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- larryjones1962 at 28-01-2011 11:31 PM (13 years ago)
maybe i should try and atteck this so calld hausa in my area and lets see where this things will end.afterall thay sterted it.
Posted: at 28-01-2011 11:31 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- nice9ija at 29-01-2011 12:17 AM (13 years ago)
why wouldn't you pay for a game just like others did?? all he can do is run out like a rabbit to call idiot of his type, is high time to stop associate with any northan Muslims, am sure his intention was to come and course problems this is what they do always,for God sake this people are not Nigerians, what an animals people, i wish to have them in my own state that i will just delete them from the surface of this earth.....wasted group of caws             
Posted: at 29-01-2011 12:17 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4

1. Betty Akeredolu Called Out By Aide, Folasade For Abandoning Her After Serving Her For 7Yrs

2. Former ECOWAS Court VP Berates EFCC Chairman Over Press Briefing On Yahaya Bello

3. Nigerian Man Allegedly Stabs Roommate To Death During Argument In Portugal

4. Pandemonium As Bandits Strike Again, Kill Four, Abduct Six In Zamfara

5. Drama Looms As Accountant Accuses Ex-Employer, Police Of Harassment In Lagos

6. Residents Flee As Soldiers Leave Niger Community After Deadly Ambush

7. VIDEO: Warri Pikin Hails Veteran Actor, RMD As He Visits Her Family

8. Reactions As 23Yr Old Man Flaunts Wealth Online, Shows Off Expensive House He Newly-Built

9. Rising Singer, Shine TTW Lament On How Policemen Damaged His Car, Harassed Him After Tagging

10. How Police Nabbed Kidnappers Who Killed Victim After Collecting N3m Ransom In Jigawa

11. VIDEO: Abroad-Based Nigerian Cries Profusely Over Failure To Make It In The UK

12. Man Sentenced To Physical Castration And 50 Years In Jail For Raping 14 Year Old Girl

13. Eight Mobile Suspected Phone Snatchers Arrested In Kano

14. FCT Police Denies Reports Of Thugs Attacking Drivers In Traffic, Watch Video Of The Alleged Mom

2. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

3. Abia Police Parade Suspected Criminals, Including ABSU Student Involved In Fatal Shooting

9. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper