"For 30 Years, I Was Urged To Run For President" – Bishop Matthew Kukah

Date: 24-11-2023 3:49 pm (5 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 24-11-2023 03:49 PM (5 months ago)

At the 8th House of Justice Summit in Kaduna State, the Bishop of the Sokoto Catholic Diocese, Matthew Kukah, rebuffed persistent calls for him to venture into Nigerian politics.

“For 30 years, people have urged me to contest elections and run for the presidency of Nigeria. However, I am focused on completing my parish work first. Despite assurances that others would foot the bill, I believe I would not make a good president, as the qualities sought in politics differ from those admired in religious leaders,” Bishop Kukah asserted.

The cleric asserted that the Nigerian political landscape doesn't necessarily seek "holy people" or "good men." In questioning the meaning of "good" in politics, he challenged the conventional expectations of leadership in the country.

Expressing deep concern, Bishop Kukah also addressed what he described as an unfortunate trend of the judiciary and Catholic priests becoming entangled in politics.

While not providing explicit details, he lamented the encroachment of politics into these revered institutions.

“I am saddened by the fact that the judiciary has now found itself being sucked into politics. I would have also been sad — and I’m also sad — to the extent that even us who are priests in the church, we are getting sucked into politics because you will never come out the same," he remarked.

The bishop urged Nigerians not to lose hope and to focus on the present rather than worry about the future. Drawing attention to the rapid technological advancements, he noted that every generation faces its unique challenges.

“Yes, we dream about the future. But like somebody said, today is the tomorrow you dreamt about yesterday. But let’s not be nervous. We should be nervous that we are underperforming because there are things we could have done differently and we can do differently," he encouraged.

Posted: at 24-11-2023 03:49 PM (5 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 24-11-2023 07:29 PM (5 months ago)
Posted: at 24-11-2023 07:29 PM (5 months ago) | Grande Master

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Popular Gospel Singer, Morenikeji Adeleke, aka Egbin Orun is Dead

3. I Need Of Electric Car Charger in Naija - Davido Says After Arrival of His Rolls Royce Spectre

4. Nigerian Man, Wife, & 11 Others Nabbed In Vietnam For Alleged Money Laundering Scheme

5. Man Whose Dad Was Accused of $864K Fraud At His Bank in 1986, Celebrates Him 38yrs Later

6. Fake Alcohol Producer Arrested in Delta, Confess to How He Makes The Fake Drinks (Video)

7. EFCC Arraigns Four Women For Obstruction of Duty and Assault In Kaduna (Photos)

8. Blackface Doubts Plantashun Boiz Reunion, Cites Lack Of Interest From Bandmates

9. Watch President Tinubu's Remarkable Address At World Economic Forum In Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

10. "I Destroyed My Ex-boyfriend’s Car For Being Reluctant To Marry Me" - Yvonne Godwin

11. "Stop Praying For Tinubu To Succeed" - Renowned Scholar, Sam Amadi

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

3. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

4. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

5. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

6. Nigeria Loses Title As Africa’s Largest Economy; Slips To Fourth Place

7. "How I Was Stylishly Set Out Of My Husband’s House The Same Day He Was Buried- Ajigijaga's Wife

8. Nigerian Singer, Davido Claims Family Powers Nigeria With Electricity Empire

9. Nigerian Afrobeat Sensation, Rema Calls Out Mavin Records Over "Fake" PR, Denies New Project

10. EFCC Cracks Down On Currency Fraud: 34 Suspected Speculators Arrested In Abuja (Photos)