"We Need To Attract Foreign Investors Not Chase After Them" – Peter Obi

Date: 18-12-2023 8:43 am (4 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 18-12-2023 08:43 AM (4 months ago)

The presidential candidate of the Labour Party, Peter Obi said Nigeria should attract foreign investors and not chase after them.

Obi stated this while speaking during an X-space live chat, tagged ‘ParrellelFact’ on Sunday.

His comment comes on the heels of President Bola Tinubu’s foreign trips to attract foreign direct investment (FDI) to the country in recent times.

Obi said, “Nobody goes around searching for foreign investors. Foreign investors are like bees; when you keep the honey, they will boom towards there. We need to attract foreign investors and not chase after them,” he said.

But, President Tinubu, in his interview with The Nation on Sunday said the country is engaging with the global market- both foreign and domestic investors.

According to the president, Foreign Direct Investment is not ‘Chicken Change’ but a long-term financial commitment from serious enterprises and investors.

He said, “FDI is not ‘chicken change’. FDI is substantial, long-term financial commitments made by serious enterprises and investors. Right now, Nigeria is re-engaging with the global market – both foreign and domestic investors.

“WWe are telling the story of our significant and far-reaching reforms and rebuilding confidence in Nigeria as an accessible and safe investment.

“We are clearly communicating that ‘Nigeria is open for business’ and that the direction of travel is clear and fully committed”,
he said.

Tinubu noted that the country’s efforts to woo foreign direct investors were yielding fruit.

“We’ve secured a $500 million deal with Germany to fund renewable energy projects, particularly in rural Nigeria”, he stated.

“Our focused efforts to attract European FDI are yielding fruit, notably with the $116 million French investment in the I-DICE program, aimed at creating 65,000 start-ups and 150,000 jobs, particularly empowering women,” Tinubu added.

Recall that President Tinubu was at COP28 in Dubai, which ended last week.

The President, in September, also attended the G20 Summit in India, the UN General Assembly in New York, the United States of America and the G20 compact with Africa Conference in Berlin, Germany, and others to “sustain his momentum in advancing the cause of FDI in Nigeria”.

Posted: at 18-12-2023 08:43 AM (4 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 18-12-2023 10:19 AM (4 months ago)
Let them continue chasing when they aren't doing the right thing.
Posted: at 18-12-2023 10:19 AM (4 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- oyawale at 18-12-2023 11:28 AM (4 months ago)
This Peter Obi lack the requisite skill and technical know how to be President and everyday he speaks he keeps on displaying he is transparent ignorance and inaptitude.
Peter Gregory Obi,I put it to you if truly you are aware of the economic status of Nigeria you will not speak like this.
This country is at the verge of total collapse,so it is not business as usual.Everything in Nigeria was no more working,a bankrupt country was handed over to Tinubu so he has to do the unusual and unbelievable to first save the country from total collapse before thinking of walking with his shoulders up.
Thank God the President is giving the economic issues the seriousness it demands and gradually building the confidence of investors.
I thank God Peter Obi did not win, because I see clearly that he lacks the quality of the President we need at this quagmire we found ourselves.He lacks the capability to rule this country now or any time on the nearest future.
Nigeria don't need this kind of senseless opposition,but opposition that would criticize and cross embellish with objectivity and precision.
Mr Peter Obi please stop playing Politics with the future of Nigeria and it would be better to keep quiet if you don't know what to say.
Posted: at 18-12-2023 11:28 AM (4 months ago) | Newbie
- Benti247 at 18-12-2023 12:22 PM (4 months ago)
Quote from: oyawale on 18-12-2023 11:28 AM
This Peter Obi lack the requisite skill and technical know how to be President and everyday he speaks he keeps on displaying he is transparent ignorance and inaptitude.
Peter Gregory Obi,I put it to you if truly you are aware of the economic status of Nigeria you will not speak like this.
This country is at the verge of total collapse,so it is not business as usual.Everything in Nigeria was no more working,a bankrupt country was handed over to Tinubu so he has to do the unusual and unbelievable to first save the country from total collapse before thinking of walking with his shoulders up.
Thank God the President is giving the economic issues the seriousness it demands and gradually building the confidence of investors.
I thank God Peter Obi did not win, because I see clearly that he lacks the quality of the President we need at this quagmire we found ourselves.He lacks the capability to rule this country now or any time on the nearest future.
Nigeria don't need this kind of senseless opposition,but opposition that would criticize and cross embellish with objectivity and precision.
Mr Peter Obi please stop playing Politics with the future of Nigeria and it would be better to keep quiet if you don't know what to say.

Was Tinubu  not part of the  clueless  people that messed the country up? It's  his  turn no doubt.  Emi Lokan.
Posted: at 18-12-2023 12:22 PM (4 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 18-12-2023 12:43 PM (4 months ago)
chase after china!! im tell u idiot u wont listen to me don't go after western people they are evil!!
Posted: at 18-12-2023 12:43 PM (4 months ago) | Grande Master
- OmoNobaUku at 18-12-2023 03:26 PM (4 months ago)
Like you attracted into Anambra while you were Governor biko?
Posted: at 18-12-2023 03:26 PM (4 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Panaki at 19-12-2023 07:37 AM (4 months ago)
Just as you attracted Panama while you're Governor of Anambra State.
This Watermelon head Peter Obi should be stopped fro. Going around the world pretending to have the requisite to be elected as the solution to the economic situation of the country.
He hasn't got the foggiest clue. He's just going round whipping up sentiment about Igbo presidency.
Posted: at 19-12-2023 07:37 AM (4 months ago) | Upcoming

1. 'I Got N880,000 Not N1m After My Kidney Was Removed' - 16Yr Old Boy Tells Abuja Court

2. Nigerian Man Challenges Anthony Joshua To Boxing Match, Vows To Knock Him Out In 2nd Round

3. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

4. Senator Okpebholo Caught On Camera Spraying Naira Notes At Event; Coalition Petition EFCC Over

5. EFCC Successfully Prosecute, Sentence 41 Internet Fraudster To Jail In Anambra

6. Check Out Full List Of Every Country President Tinubu Has Visited Since Inauguration

7. Adorable Video Of Veteran Actor, Chiwetalu Agu Making Wife’s Hair

8. VIDEO: Actress, Shan George Gives Update On N3.6M That Was Wiped From Her Account

9. Reactions As Abuja Barber Mocks Davido Over His Bald Head

10. Conduct DNA Test - Says Man Who Found Out Wife Has Been Cheating With Man She Calls Her Uncle

11. Married Father Of Two Allegedly Elopes With His Landlord’s 20Yr Old Daughter

12. Nasboi Pens Appreciation To Kizz Daniel For Giving Him Opportunity To Perform In London

13. Nollywood Actor Bolanle Ninalowo Celebrates 44th Birthday

14. VID: Moses Bliss Gushes Over Wife, Marie Wiseborn During His Show In Canada

15. Bandits Unleash Terror Attack On Zamfara Market, Kill 2 Perons, Injure Scores

16. Seven Travellers Kidnapped In Rivers Waterways

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

8. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

9. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

10. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe