Lagos Police Need 600 Patrol Vehicles For Effective Policing

Date: 01-02-2011 3:31 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 1-02-2011 03:31 PM (13 years ago)
The Lagos State Police Command needs at least 600 patrol vehicles to effectively police the state  and wage war against crime, says the Chairman, Security Trust Fund, STF, Mr. Remi Makanjuola.
Makanjuola, who spoke at the hand over of 100 patrol vehicles and 50 patrol motorcycles to the  police by the state government at the State House, Ikeja, Lagos, South West Nigeria, said if the  police could get additional 600 patrol vehicles, they  would now be able to police the state  effectively.

He disclosed that the STF currently had 184 vehicles in its possession and would need more so that  the police would be able to patrol all the nooks and crannies of the state to arrest criminals.
Handing over the vehicles and the motorcycles to the police, Governor Babatunde Fashola said the  state was ready to further tackle and weaken the defence of robbers in Lagos, saying that the state  had been experiencing peace for a very long time now.
“We are happy that in Lagos, democracy has been very successful.  The politics of machetes and guns  is not happening in Lagos State.
“Crime is a big business and no organisation has the resources government has to fight crime.  We  will continue to invest in security in order to ensure safety of lives and property.  The people’s  taxes are working to provide the enabling environment for business to thrive,” he stated.
According to Fashola, “Lagos is now very safe on land, sea and in the air.  Security is the  platform upon which we build the foundation of the state to bring in investment.
“When we started, no one took us serious.  Our 767 and 112 lines are very effective.  On daily  basis, over 60,000 emergency calls were made to these lines.  People are now working at night;  night life has in deed returned to Lagos.”
The governor warned criminals to stay off Lagos as the government would scoop them out from their  hiding places and punish them.
“If you come to Lagos to commit crime, we will find you out and bring you to justice.  These  vehicles were provided through direct government’s intervention through the supplementary budget of  last year.
“For okada riders using motorcycles to rob people, we will make it impossible for you to succeed.   The motorcycles we have provided will be used to chase you when you commit crime with an okada,” he  said.
Fashola appealed to the police not to use the equipment provided for them to brutalise the people,  urging them to use the equipment judiciously to fight crime in the state.
Outgoing Commissioner of Police, Lagos State, Mr. Marvel Akpoyibo said the 50 patrol motorcycles  was the largest consignment ever received by the police in Lagos at a go, saying that the police in  Lagos were privileged to have a governor who spent a lot of money on  providing security.
—Kazeem Ugbodaga

Posted: at 1-02-2011 03:31 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 1-02-2011 03:44 PM (13 years ago)
no be only 600, na 600, 000

Posted: at 1-02-2011 03:44 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Pointzero at 1-02-2011 04:17 PM (13 years ago)
the koko be say after 1 month dem go sell 3/4 of the motor.................bunch of oles

Posted: at 1-02-2011 04:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pearl122 at 1-02-2011 09:27 PM (13 years ago)
wish you guys goodluck in fighting crime ...
Posted: at 1-02-2011 09:27 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- stankydessy at 1-02-2011 09:48 PM (13 years ago)
mak dis pp fade for security u guys need steady light first all the address need to be computerise, abeg free me 9ja get long way to go, polices na the OMILA when we get dis days, make una dey one side, i dey vexs for my country them non wan wise.
Posted: at 1-02-2011 09:48 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- abbeyy74 at 1-02-2011 10:56 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: waco on  1-02-2011 03:44 PM
no be only 600, na 600, 000
no mind dem jare,what have they done with all the ones they have down already,how many crime have they fight against so far yeye people
Posted: at 1-02-2011 10:56 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ubright at 1-02-2011 11:26 PM (13 years ago)
nigeria is beta without police
Posted: at 1-02-2011 11:26 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- banana4good at 1-02-2011 11:55 PM (13 years ago)
HAHAHA i cant stop laughing in police nigerians ,well i think 600 is too small ,they should make it ,2000,nigerian is more than that
Posted: at 1-02-2011 11:55 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ILOVEIT at 2-02-2011 12:00 AM (13 years ago)
another way of stealing public found.bunch o criminals

Posted: at 2-02-2011 12:00 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- nnennababe at 2-02-2011 12:18 AM (13 years ago)
really?Huh?Huh??
Posted: at 2-02-2011 12:18 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- eomo at 2-02-2011 02:02 AM (13 years ago)
If them get these cars and you call them for action, them go tell you say no petrol for the car
Posted: at 2-02-2011 02:02 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- aliaaz at 2-02-2011 02:15 AM (13 years ago)
Dem go see cars put for their compound tire for dis one.

Posted: at 2-02-2011 02:15 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dogodajiabuja at 2-02-2011 05:17 AM (13 years ago)
eko o ni bajeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!
i support you but wen arm robber face you, dont abandon d car runoooo!
Posted: at 2-02-2011 05:17 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- lovarboysweetie at 2-02-2011 08:24 AM (13 years ago)
They would need more than that because this is just a drop in the bucket if we're going to have effective policing in the State of Lagos or the local government should pick up the slack...............after all a step is being taken meaning more is in the pipeline!!!
Posted: at 2-02-2011 08:24 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- pakistan4life at 2-02-2011 08:44 AM (13 years ago)
make una no give them the will take it and go Robbin 
Posted: at 2-02-2011 08:44 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- GOLDENMEDAH at 2-02-2011 09:09 AM (13 years ago)
Ok, i don hear i go pay my task regularly..
Posted: at 2-02-2011 09:09 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 2-02-2011 09:13 AM (13 years ago)
I will comment when i see the cars and their maintenance................
Posted: at 2-02-2011 09:13 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- TEE002 at 2-02-2011 09:35 AM (13 years ago)
yah sure but not this ebu cars o, because look at the types of cars american police are using and this phyuking money we have itso why dont we get good and strongest cars like americans.
Posted: at 2-02-2011 09:35 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- dirtykid at 2-02-2011 12:46 PM (13 years ago)
I dey hear una, as stories dey sweet for newspapers no b so e dey sweet for real

Posted: at 2-02-2011 12:46 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- emmaboy4u at 2-02-2011 01:17 PM (13 years ago)
nigerians,can we ever support our leaders?please lets give them a chance!!!!
good job fashola!!
Posted: at 2-02-2011 01:17 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie