Drama As Hospital Shuns Lagos Gov. Sanwo-Olu’s Directive, Detains Mother Over Delivery Bill

Date: 27-03-2024 1:58 pm (4 weeks ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 27-03-2024 01:58 PM (4 weeks ago)

Elizabeth Davis, a woman who lost her baby shortly after delivering prematurely at the Ajeromi General Hospital in the Ajegunle Area of Lagos State, has been detained by the hospital management due to her inability to settle her medical bill of N323,000.

This is despite the state’s directive to all general hospitals and primary health centres to provide free antenatal care and child delivery services, including normal and cesarean sections, to expectant women who are residents of the state.

The government explained that the initiative was part of relief measures to cushion the hardship faced by residents due to the removal of fuel subsidy by the Federal Government.

Sanwo-Olu stated during a media interview in February 2024, “There is an arrangement for free delivery, including cesarean sections, at government hospitals,” adding that his administration “will also give a rebate on some particular drugs at our state government hospitals.”

However, this does not seem to be the case at Ajeromi General Hospital, where the infant’s remains and the mother are being held due to the family’s inability to clear about N323,000 in medical bills.

Gistmania reports that both Davis and her child’s remains were still detained by the hospital management on Monday and Tuesday, owing to her husband’s failure to settle the medical bills.

In an interview with PUNCH Metro on Monday, Davis said, “I have been here since February 29, 2024. I gave birth in the hospital. It was premature. They put her in an incubator. They have been treating her since then. But I don’t know what happened when they suddenly told me on March 2, 2024, that she was having a fever.

“They came out straight to tell me that my baby wasn’t feeling fine and all. On March 3, they told me that my baby was very sick. I was even surprised, and I was asking them what went wrong. So, by 3am, my baby had given up.

“So, since then, they have detained me. They said I have to pay over N353,000 before they can let me go. They didn’t allow us to take the remains of the child away for some days. But today (Monday, March 25, 2024), they called my husband to come and take the child.”

While seeking public intervention, Davis’s husband, Michael Bassey, said the hospital also denied him the right to take the corpse of the infant several weeks after she died inside the incubator because of the N323,000 medical bills.

“My wife gave birth when her pregnancy was only seven months old. The child was taken into an incubator for weeks. Then, last Friday, we lost the baby. After we lost the baby, the hospital told me that before I could take the corpse, I should get a clearance of N323,000.

“So, I had to give them the only N50,000 that was on me. They said if I didn’t pay the money, they would not allow me to bury my daughter. And they still detained my wife at the hospital. But just this afternoon (Monday, March 25, 2024), they called me to come take my daughter’s corpse,”
Bassey said.

When contacted for a reaction, the state Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi, stated that he would investigate the matter.

“Okay, I will investigate,” the commissioner simply stated after requesting the details of the hospital and the patient’s name via WhatsApp messages from our correspondent on Monday.

Posted: at 27-03-2024 01:58 PM (4 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 27-03-2024 02:23 PM (4 weeks ago)
Na wa o
Posted: at 27-03-2024 02:23 PM (4 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 28-03-2024 06:10 AM (4 weeks ago)
how can u enforce a stupid law when u go just open ur mouth and talk!!!! even in a state hospital, it won't happen!!! if una get Brian as government create a voucher!! you can give it to every hospital in the state, when the women come for antenatal she can apply for one and the voucher can be redeemed when she don born pikin!!!! Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-03-2024 06:10 AM (4 weeks ago) | Grande Master

1. American School Abuja Refunds $760,910 To EFCC In Former Kogi State Gov., Yahaya Bello's Case

2. Nigerian Singer, Davido Claims Family Powers Nigeria With Electricity Empire

3. EFCC Cracks Down On Currency Fraud: 34 Suspected Speculators Arrested In Abuja (Photos)

4. "Why I left Styl Plus" - Former Styl-Plus Member, Tunde Akinsanmi Clarifies Departure

5. Controversial Pastor Odumeje Pledges To Bolster Naira, Targets Dollar Crash On Return From UK

6. Pregnant Woman Gives Birth In Captivity: Husband Pays N1.6 Million Ransom For Release

7. Kogi Court Summons EFCC Chair, Ola Olukoyede Over Alleged Contempt, Yahaya Bello Case

8. "How I Want To Be Buried" - Rapper, Erigga Unveils Unconventional Burial Wish (Video)

9. "How I Left A Show Crying After Audience Didn’t Recognise Me" - Fireboy DML Recounts Journey

10. Aston Villa v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

11. West Ham v Liverpool: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Manchester United v Burnley: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

2. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

3. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

4. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

5. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

6. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

9. See Tuition Fee Receipts Yahaya Bello Paid American School From 2025 Session Through 2031

10. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam