"Don’t Curse Nigeria, Remove Bad Leaders In 2027" – Tinubu To Religious Leaders

Date: 29-03-2024 9:37 am (4 weeks ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 29-03-2024 09:37 AM (4 weeks ago)

President Bola Tinubu has called on religious leaders to refrain from vilifying or denigrating the nation in their sermons.

According to a statement by his spokesman, Ajuri Ngelale, the president spoke during Ramadan Iftar with traditional rulers and religious leaders at the State House in Abuja on Thursday.

The president emphasised the important role of religious leaders in shaping public opinion and fostering a sense of unity among citizens.

He urged the leaders to be more constructive in their criticism of those in elective positions.

Tinubu also declared that his administration is determined to turn Nigeria’s challenges into prosperity.

He reiterated that no terrorist can defeat the collective will of Nigerians, no matter how hard they try to prey on innocent citizens.

He urged traditional and religious leaders to forge a strong bond with the government to defeat terrorism, banditry, kidnapping, and other forms of criminality in the country.

”Yesterday in Abuja, I attended the burial of the 17 soldiers killed in action at Okuama, Delta State. I saw their pregnant wives and little kids.

”The love of the nation is in your hands. Pray for our country. Educate our children. The sermons we preach to the members of our churches and mosques are important.

”Do not condemn your own nation. As a Yoruba man and as our fathers will say, ‘no matter how slippery the bottom of your child is, you must leave the beads there.’

”Leave the beads there. This is your country; do not condemn it in sermons, do not abuse the nation. Leadership is meant for changes.

”Yes, this leader is bad, fine. Wait until the next election to change him, but do not condemn your country. Do not curse Nigeria. This is a beautiful land.”

The president, who acknowledged the birthday wishes and goodwill extended to him on the occasion, reminded the leaders that his birthday on March 29, 2024, coincided with Good Friday.

”I have earned the honour of having my birthday fall on Good Friday, and I pray that on this Maundy Thursday, you all shall return to your homes safely. May God guide and keep you and your families in good health, and lift your spirits,” Tinubu prayed.

Speaking on behalf of the Traditional Rulers Council of Nigeria, the Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, assured the president of the unwavering support of traditional rulers, and commended the government’s efforts to address the hike in food prices and the security challenges.

”You are not alone, Mr. President. The prices of food items and goods are gradually coming down. You are doing your best on security, and we cannot allow you to do it alone. We will join hands to support your vision to the betterment of our nation,” the Ooni said.

Ambassador Ahmed Nuhu Bamalli, Emir of Zazzau, speaking on behalf of the Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs (NSCIA), highlighted the significance of Ramadan as a period of reflection, empathy, and unity.

On the security situation in the country, the Emir of Zazzau, who represented the Sultan of Sokoto and President General, NSCIA, expressed optimism that the country will return to peace and stability.

”I am happy to see representatives of Muslim and Christian communities in this room. I pray God Almighty blesses the President for him to do more to take the country to the Promised Land,” the Emir prayed.

Apostle Samson Fatokun, General Secretary of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), noted that the Ramadan dinner with religious and traditional leaders, coincided with Maundy Thursday, the Thursday before Easter, observed in commemoration of Jesus Christ’s institution of the Eucharist during the Last Supper.

The General Secretary, who delivered the address of CAN President, Archbishop Daniel Okoh, commended President Tinubu for fostering a harmonious relationship between the State and the Church.

”We are encouraged that your administration has shown great determination in tackling the challenges of kidnapping and banditry and bringing to justice the perpetrators of this dastardly act.

”We shall continue to show our support to your administration so that you can execute your noble intention for the nation,”
CAN General Secretary said.

Posted: at 29-03-2024 09:37 AM (4 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- Liebesmith at 29-03-2024 10:49 AM (4 weeks ago)
The country was somehow better until APC use their fake things and jumped into power,now your asking people to change the leadership in next election,but a president can still steps down if he can’t fix the problem,,,,immer sehr sehr scheisse
Posted: at 29-03-2024 10:49 AM (4 weeks ago) | Upcoming
- blowout at 29-03-2024 12:01 PM (4 weeks ago)
Hahaha remove bad leader in 2027 abi. No oro festival this year for Lagos o. But once 2027 reach Lagos go do oro festival again make some people no vote. Shey oro na every 4 years like world cup?
Posted: at 29-03-2024 12:01 PM (4 weeks ago) | Gistmaniac
- Onuhude at 29-03-2024 12:10 PM (4 weeks ago)
 Tinbu is really an idiot. YOU ARE ONE OF THE BAD LEADERS THAT NEEDS  TO BE REMOVED
Posted: at 29-03-2024 12:10 PM (4 weeks ago) | Upcoming