Scores Crushed To Death At Jonathan's Presidential Rally In Port Harcourt

Date: 12-02-2011 11:21 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 12-02-2011 11:21 PM (13 years ago)
Scores of Nigerians lost their lives at the stadium in Port Harcourt where  President Goodluck Jonathan had a campaign rally on Saturday.

Police sources at the Liberation Stadium venue of the rally confirmed to Saharareprters that no fewer than 12 persons have died as a result of stampede caused police shootings at the venue

Eyewitness accounts also stated that the figure confirmed by Police authorities is an ‘understatement’ calculated to avoid embarrassing the President at home.

Policemen attached to the president shot sporadically into the air and caused  the stampede that also left some 50 people injured.

The Identity of the dead and injured could not be immediately ascertained as the injured were said to be receiving treatment at several hospitals within the city of Port Harcourt.

An estimated 250,000 supporters, including tens of thousands from Akwa Ibom State, had besieged the Liberation stadium with less than 100,000 capacity for the flag off of Jonathan/Sambo rally in the South-South region.

Present at the rally are the Governors of Rivers, Cross Rivers, Bayelsa and Akwa Ibom States all of who were more interested in receiving party flags for their re-election bid than the human casualties that resulted from the rally.

Before the stampede today Jonathan convoy was also engaged in a ghosty auto accident that left two people dead on Aba road.

Our reporters  noted that contractors to the federal government were distributing money to youths in the area to attend Jonathan'd rally in Port Harcourt after Jonathan's unimpressive outing the Northern parts of the country where he had been received with hostility.

http://www.guardiannewsngr.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=38453:president-regrets-loss-of-lives-at-port-harcourt-rally&catid=1:national&Itemid=559

Posted: at 12-02-2011 11:21 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- seungbadebo at 12-02-2011 11:37 PM (13 years ago)
is this some kind of joke or tale? it is only in Nigeria that d lives of people are treated like that of chicken!. there is virtually nothing held in Nigeria without bloodshed. 1st, it is said to be a rally not a protest, y the sporadic shooting? 2ndly, there is no respect for the president atall if such "crime" can be committed in his presence(unless he ordered it) and lastly, this is an embarrassment to the entire nation. i suggest we emulate d egyptians....
Posted: at 12-02-2011 11:37 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- lusiano at 12-02-2011 11:39 PM (13 years ago)
poster,u r a fool at 40 an u must be a fool 4 ever.
Posted: at 12-02-2011 11:39 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Abby at 12-02-2011 11:45 PM (13 years ago)
 Undecided  wow the internet is really to place to exercise freedom of speech.
Posted: at 12-02-2011 11:45 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- betty55 at 12-02-2011 11:54 PM (13 years ago)
na wao
Posted: at 12-02-2011 11:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- frankisco at 13-02-2011 12:15 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: lusiano on 12-02-2011 11:39 PM
poster this is a lie i dont believe this
Posted: at 13-02-2011 12:15 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- livingday at 13-02-2011 12:56 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: seungbadebo on 12-02-2011 11:37 PM
is this some kind of joke or tale? it is only in Nigeria that d lives of people are treated like that of chicken!. there is virtually nothing held in Nigeria without bloodshed. 1st, it is said to be a rally not a protest, y the sporadic shooting? 2ndly, there is no respect for the president atall if such "crime" can be committed in his presence(unless he ordered it) and lastly, this is an embarrassment to the entire nation. i suggest we emulate d egyptians....

Lurching or stumbling from one crisis to another without being able to deal decisively with the soft underbelly of Nigeria. It is a shame that good leadership is being sacrificed on the alter of re-election quest. What a wobble?
Posted: at 13-02-2011 12:56 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smood at 13-02-2011 01:03 AM (13 years ago)
the nigerian police is just so useless to the system.. they need rebranding actually.. people that are so in love wit playing expensivelly wit guns should not handle guns.. They are the Nigerian police
Posted: at 13-02-2011 01:03 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- seungbadebo at 13-02-2011 01:04 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: livingday on 13-02-2011 12:56 AM

Lurching or stumbling from one crisis to another without being able to deal decisively with the soft underbelly of Nigeria. It is a shame that good leadership is being sacrificed on the alter of re-election quest. What a wobble?
i see Nigeria's problem as that of several trees laying on top of oneanother with more settling on top when we are yet to sort the former. one thing that is very ironical in our country is that good leadership isnt the criteria for re-election, it is rather a sacrificial deed. i wldnt want to push the emulation of the egytians further, i guess d wise ones know better.
Posted: at 13-02-2011 01:04 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- seungbadebo at 13-02-2011 01:35 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: reg001 on 13-02-2011 01:30 AM
Quote from: seungbadebo on 13-02-2011 01:04 AM
Quote from: livingday on 13-02-2011 12:56 AM

i see Nigeria's problem as that of several trees laying on top of oneanother with more settling on top when we are yet to sort the former. one thing that is very ironical in our country is that good leadership isnt the criteria for re-election, it is rather a sacrificial deed. i wldnt want to push the emulation of the egytians further, i guess d wise ones know better.

what's your point, why not hit the nail on the head?
my point is clearly and boldly written in my comments if u look closely.
Posted: at 13-02-2011 01:35 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- seungbadebo at 13-02-2011 01:37 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: deboalabi262 on 13-02-2011 01:36 AM
Why the sporadic air shootings by Jonathan's guards at a jam packed rally for that matter. Na wa for naija o. Egytians have tried and conquered in their mission for good and better life, but who would 'bell the cat in Nigeria' -full of religious, tribal and political sentiments?Huh? Angry Angry
may God continue to bless and strenghten ur brain. just exactly what i was thinking
Posted: at 13-02-2011 01:37 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- rafhew at 13-02-2011 01:47 AM (13 years ago)
i really do not understand why pple should support this man, he has had the oppourtunity to rule for 9 mounth now, and he has not initiated the transformation he has been shouting about, instead he condemed the performing governors by calling them rascals.
If he is really our God sent president, 9 mounth is enough for him to prove it. Or what do you think.
Posted: at 13-02-2011 01:47 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sugaDaddy1forU at 13-02-2011 03:05 AM (13 years ago)
I GUESS IS OVER HAPPINESS OF SEEING THEIR OWN MAN AS PRESIDENT FOR THE FIRST TIME IN HISTORY OF NIGHERIA, SO THEY CAME IN A VERY LARGE NUMBER THAT THE POLICE COULDN'T CONTROL THE NUMBER PEOPLE. IS A PITY THOUGH, BUT OUR LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS SHOULD KNOW HOW TO CONTROL THIS KIND OF NUMBER INSTEAD OF SHOOTING AT PEOPLE TO CONTROL. OH WELL WHAT A TRAGEDY, RIP FOR THE DEAD ONES.

Posted: at 13-02-2011 03:05 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugaDaddy1forU at 13-02-2011 03:26 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: rafhew on 13-02-2011 01:47 AM
i really do not understand why pple should support this man, he has had the oppourtunity to rule for 9 mounth now, and he has not initiated the transformation he has been shouting about, instead he condemed the performing governors by calling them rascals.
If he is really our God sent president, 9 mounth is enough for him to prove it. Or what do you think.
WOW 9 MONTHS TO FIX NIGERIA PROBLEMS HAHAHAH, IT TOOK MUSILIM LEADERS YOUR BROTHERS 50 YEARS TO PUT NIGERIA IN THIS KIND OF MESS AND YOU WANT THIS MAN TO FIX IN 9 MONTHS. WHERE DO YOU START, CORUPTIONS OPON CORUPTIONS, SEE THEM LINING UP AGAIN TO RULE, BUAHARI, BABAGIDA, ATIKU. YOU SHOULD POINT FINGERS TO THOSE PEOPLE THAT MESS UP NIGERIA.

Posted: at 13-02-2011 03:26 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morrisony2k at 13-02-2011 03:32 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: reg001 on 13-02-2011 02:04 AM

no matter how good you are or what goods you do, not everybody would like you...I'm not surprise at your comment..
Are you saying he has not done anything in 9months & his quest for for years to totally change Nigeria is not worth considering?

Angry Angry     YES U ARE RIGHT MY BROTHER, JONATHAN HAS NOTHING TO OFFER US, HE SHOULD NOT WASTE HIS TIME, HE WILL FAIL BY THE GRACE OF GOD. WE ARE TIRED OF PDP GOVERNMENT.  THOSE YEYE POLITICIANS NA PDP DEM DEY. 12 YEARS PDP GAVE US BOMB BLAST, KIDNAPING, VIOLENCE.  WE DONT WANT THEM, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH 12YEARS IS ENOUGH TO GIVE US ELECTRICITY, GOOD ROAD, NOTHING THEY GAVE US, ONLY BLOOD AND SORROW. BUHARI AND BAKARE SHALL WIN IN JESUS NAME A MEN
Posted: at 13-02-2011 03:32 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- okwas at 13-02-2011 04:14 AM (13 years ago)

am not surprise to hear that stupid word from your mouth,cos for a example they send you in that seat,you will be ten years they without archive
even to build a pure water house u will not,and remember that nation have been spoil for a long time,so is not easy as u think,talkless of taking 9month to rebuild the nation,live that man lone,,,,,,,,,
Posted: at 13-02-2011 04:14 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- absoul at 13-02-2011 05:41 AM (13 years ago)
aiit
Posted: at 13-02-2011 05:41 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- fineboy at 13-02-2011 06:47 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: lusiano on 12-02-2011 11:39 PM
what makes him a fool.i think you are the fool.this is something that actually happened and 10 died A*#S

Posted: at 13-02-2011 06:47 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DonAlex010 at 13-02-2011 07:12 AM (13 years ago)
I dnt think in dat direction mr.... Dont u knw dat nigeria has reached a level where even 5years cant be enough for just 1 president to transform all sectors..... Transforming a country cant be just jonathan's period, but a thing of continuation i.e frm one administration to d next.. With dat, there will be a president that will finish it all..... Thats wat i think......
Posted: at 13-02-2011 07:12 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- 2slimshady at 13-02-2011 07:19 AM (13 years ago)
Stories...........
Posted: at 13-02-2011 07:19 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7