Controversial Big Brother Naija alumna, Doyin, has sparked a conversation on social media by advising single women to prioritize financial independence over love and marriage.
In a candid message shared on her Snapchat, Doyin emphasized the importance of women having their own financial resources before considering marriage or having children. She argued that relying entirely on a partner for financial stability is a significant misstep.
“The biggest mistake you can make as a young lady is depending completely on a man,” Doyin stated. “Attaining independence should be the first thing on your mind… before love, marriage, or kids. Money first!”
The reality star underscored her point by highlighting the necessity for women to have a substantial amount of money saved up before taking on the responsibilities of marriage and motherhood. “If you don’t have your own money, a reasonable amount of money saved up, you’re NOT ready for marriage and most definitely NOT ready to have kids. You need your own money!!” she added.
Doyin further explained her personal stance against financial dependency on men. “With all I refuse humility, I refuse for the quality of my life to be dependent on the benevolence of men. I want the protection, power, and security that comes with having my own money,” she wrote. “But like I said in the beginning, that’s just me! To each his own!”
Doyin’s remarks have generated a mix of reactions online, with some applauding her for promoting self-sufficiency among women, while others argue that her views might undermine traditional relationship dynamics.
As a former housemate of the popular reality show Big Brother Naija, Doyin has never shied away from expressing her opinions, often courting controversy. Her latest comments continue to reflect her independent spirit and commitment to empowering women.