Peter Obi Laments Following Exit Of Multinational Companies From Nigeria

Date: 24-06-2024 10:55 am (6 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 24-06-2024 10:55 AM (6 months ago)

Peter Obi, the Presidential candidate of Labour Party in the 2023 election has lamented following the exit of multinational companies from Nigeria.

Obi took to social media to decry the sad development. According to him, the exit has cost Nigeria N95 trillion.

He wrote:

"I am compelled to address the alarming exodus of multinational companies from Nigeria, which has cost our nation a staggering N95 trillion in the past five years.

According to The New Telegraph, in the last year alone, over ten multinational giants such as GlaxoSmithKline, Equinor, Sanofi-Aventis, Bolt Food, Procter & Gamble, Jumia Food, PZ Cussons, and Kimberly-Clark, Diageo and others, have exited Nigeria, citing eerily consistent reasons.

According to The Punch, "Multinational firms exit Nigeria over harsh business climate." The Guardian reports, "Insecurity, high energy costs force companies to leave Nigeria." The Nation states, "Poor business environment, inconsistent policies drive companies out of Nigeria."

These companies have highlighted the same problems across the board. It is clear these issues are not coincidental but symptomatic of a larger governance problem. Why are we not facing and solving these problems head-on?

The responsibility lies with our leadership, those we put in charge to urgently address these challenges. Tackling these issues requires creating a business-friendly environment that fosters investment, innovation, and growth.

This includes prioritizing security, stabilizing our policies, and reducing energy costs. We must also cultivate a culture of transparency, accountability, and good governance. We can build an economy that benefits all Nigerians, not just a privileged few.

Let us unite to transform Nigeria into a nation conducive to business, attractive to investment, safe and prosperous for all citizens. Together, we can make Nigeria a beacon of hope and progress in Africa and the world.

A new business friendly Nigeria is possible. -PO"

Posted: at 24-06-2024 10:55 AM (6 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Edwarddy at 24-06-2024 11:51 AM (6 months ago)
Peter obi you are a mumu man... Trying so hard to repair an enemy country... Why do you think Nigeria will work with the level of corruption and evil people at the helm of affairs in Nigeria.. Nigeria is not redeemable nothing can make Nigeria better or greate except if we divide the country or go back to regional government else even if our lord and savious Jesus Christ can not redeem the evil entity called Nigeria...
Posted: at 24-06-2024 11:51 AM (6 months ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 24-06-2024 12:12 PM (6 months ago)
Posted: at 24-06-2024 12:12 PM (6 months ago) | Grande Master
- kp45 at 24-06-2024 02:16 PM (6 months ago)
Corruption have blindfolded the leaders eyes to see the realities.
Posted: at 24-06-2024 02:16 PM (6 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 27-06-2024 12:01 PM (6 months ago)
This is totally outrageous, I still dey wonder the kind of mindset peter obi still has on this useless so-called placed they call Nigeria, this country no go fit better again , they have killed the country with so much corruption, yes the only way for redemption is through Biafra, let this country be split, Nigeria is no more, everything you are seeing or hearing are all scams, I just dey laugh for mumu people wey still believe this country is still working or will work to thier favour
Posted: at 27-06-2024 12:01 PM (6 months ago) | Hero