London Woman Jailed For Sending Her Son Back To Nigeria (Page 7)

Date: 15-02-2011 2:23 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9
- smithengal at 21-02-2011 03:05 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dukkieson on 18-02-2011 08:49 PM
Quote from: chik001 on 15-02-2011 05:49 PM
Quote from: monteeiyke on 15-02-2011 03:19 PM
There most be somthing else  to it. No parent will be jailed if both the father and mother decieds on where the child lives

My bro...when you tell people something like this...they wont believe...but it's true because every pikin born here is  registered as a britico subject and the thereby belongs to the government...you are just a custodian...

It's a lie, he doesn't belong to the government. Like any country he is just a citizen but unlike poor African countries, the government takes a very keen interest in his welfare and personal well being. This story is made up as Old Bailey does not deal with family law but strictly serious criminal cases, which this case isn't.

True talk.
Posted: at 21-02-2011 03:05 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gimac at 21-02-2011 04:30 AM (13 years ago)
it is not true
Posted: at 21-02-2011 04:30 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- moralemike07 at 22-02-2011 08:27 AM (13 years ago)
Speechless!
Posted: at 22-02-2011 08:27 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 22-02-2011 09:36 AM (13 years ago)
no fuel ?
Posted: at 22-02-2011 09:36 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- gimac at 22-02-2011 09:57 AM (13 years ago)

Agency Reporter

The mother of a teenager who claims he was forced to undergo exorcism to purge him of his disobedience has been jailed, The Mail of London reports.

Lydia Erhire has become the first person in the UK to be jailed under forced marriage laws after she sent her son, Edirin Onogeta-Idogun, 17, to Nigeria.

He claims he has been subjected to beatings and religious-style ceremonies in Nigeria to get rid of his behaviour, which his mother did not approve of.

Erhire is a devout Christian who had tried to instil a strong sense of discipline in her child and does not approve of his lifestyle, the court heard.

The 17-year-old is still being held against his will - and it is unclear exactly where he is, the High Court in London was told.

His mother was ordered to have her son brought back to Britain but she obstructed efforts and was jailed for eight months yesterday.

Edirin had flown out to Nigeria, where his father John Idogun is a special adviser to the governor of the Delta State, in July.

The teenager, from Newham, East London, was expected back in August to start a college course in Hackney.

He had been given a protection order under forced marriage laws by a judge last year and provided with emergency accommodation before he disappeared.

In November, after a hearing before another judge, Mrs. Erhire signed a letter instructing her sister to facilitate the return of Edirin from his Nigerian boarding school.

In February, Edirin attempted to leave Nigeria but was intercepted by immigration officials and taken off his British Airways flight from Lagos.

Mrs. Justice Macur ruled Mrs. Erhire was not responsible for the February incident but had found she was complicit in November in 'thwarting' the court's efforts to have Edirin returned.

"The chronology has shown beyond peradventure that this woman only co-operates in the face of a prison sentence and then begrudgingly," she said.

She ordered that Mrs. Erhire should be committed to Holloway Prison immediately for eight months, but said she would have the opportunity to apply to purge her contempt.

The student, who was due to study business and media after finishing his A-levels, came to Britain with his mother in 2004 and had settled in Newham.

Posted: at 22-02-2011 09:57 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Joegbo at 22-02-2011 12:21 PM (13 years ago)
what d f if he is brought back home no be here dey born am
Posted: at 22-02-2011 12:21 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- gimac at 22-02-2011 07:21 PM (13 years ago)
is this question?
Posted: at 22-02-2011 07:21 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- dukkieson at 23-02-2011 12:06 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: gimac on 21-02-2011 04:30 AM
it is not true

What's not true? Did you miss your way or bearing?
Posted: at 23-02-2011 12:06 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gimac at 23-02-2011 04:58 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dukkieson on 23-02-2011 12:06 AM
it is not true

you will be reading but will never understand........see but never perceive
Posted: at 23-02-2011 04:58 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- gimac at 23-02-2011 09:00 PM (13 years ago)
for what
Posted: at 23-02-2011 09:00 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- dukkieson at 25-02-2011 12:10 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: gimac on 23-02-2011 04:58 AM
it is not true

That goes for you. What is your level of understanding or perception when you can't explain yourself, foolish pride!
Posted: at 25-02-2011 12:10 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gimac at 26-02-2011 11:07 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dukkieson on 25-02-2011 12:10 AM
it is not true

That goes for you. What is your level of understanding or perception when you can't explain yourself, foolish pride!

there is no way it can applied to me,i don't need to explain myself to you,you lost your way ,you want to use word foolish to express yourself.
Posted: at 26-02-2011 11:07 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- dukkieson at 27-02-2011 11:15 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: gimac on 26-02-2011 11:07 AM
it is not true

there is no way it can applied to me,i don't need to explain myself to you,you lost your way ,you want to use word foolish to express yourself.

You exactly. You were asked a simple question which you turned to a subject on perception and understanding. If anything it's you who is lost.
Posted: at 27-02-2011 11:15 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gimac at 27-02-2011 06:43 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dukkieson on 27-02-2011 11:15 AM
it is not true

That goes for you. What is your level of understanding or perception when you can't explain yourself, foolish pride!or the word not true imply to you.

You exactly. You were asked a simple question which you turned to a subject on perception and understanding. If anything it's you who is lost.
there is no need exchanging word with you ,i think you misunderstand yourself or loss your way in subject matter....
Posted: at 27-02-2011 06:43 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 27-02-2011 07:28 PM (13 years ago)
 Grin

Posted: at 27-02-2011 07:28 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gimac at 27-02-2011 08:00 PM (13 years ago)
mallorca good night
Posted: at 27-02-2011 08:00 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- dukkieson at 28-02-2011 02:21 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: gimac on 27-02-2011 06:43 PM
it is not true

That goes for you. What is your level of understanding or perception when you can't explain yourself, foolish pride!or the word not true imply to you.

there is no need exchanging word with you ,i think you misunderstand yourself or loss your way in subject matter....

@ gimac

In the above exchanges it's you who is lost with your undeserved pride.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:21 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gibsonpally at 28-02-2011 03:26 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dukkieson on 28-02-2011 02:21 AM
it is not true

@ gimac

My observation exactly!
Posted: at 28-02-2011 03:26 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gimac at 28-02-2011 06:59 PM (13 years ago)
it is not true

@ gimac

if i say u are stupid an not mistaking,who is pride here,did you read my comment from the beginning ,when i say is not true did i refer to you,how come u miss bearing here come to play
Posted: at 28-02-2011 06:59 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- gimac at 28-02-2011 07:08 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: gibsonpally on 28-02-2011 03:26 AM
it is not true

@ gimac

My observation exactly!
ur observation is wrong ,go back,read with understanding before you say something ,don,t jump into conclusion
Posted: at 28-02-2011 07:08 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9