Femi Adebayo, a prominent Nollywood actor and producer, has recently addressed the long-discussed incident in which he slapped his father, veteran actor Adebayo Salami, known as Oga Bello, on a movie set.
The incident occurred in 2008 during the filming of Funke Akindele’s movie, "Taiwo Taiwo." In a recent interview, Femi Adebayo explained that the slap was not scripted and described it as an accidental consequence of his character’s actions.
In a video currently trending on social media, Femi recounted the incident, noting that his role required him to portray an aggressive thief. During a scene, his character demanded money from Oga Bello’s character. In a moment of improvisation, Femi slapped his father, which was not originally intended in the script.
“I ended up slapping my father in Funke Akindele’s movie, ‘Taiwo Taiwo,’ while trying to act like an aggressive thief,” Femi explained. “It wasn’t in the film that I had to slap him, but the character was aggressive, and the man didn’t want to give us money. I just realized that I raised my hand to hit him.”
Following the scene, Femi apologized to his father, expressing regret over the unscripted action. Oga Bello, however, took the incident in stride. “When I begged him after the scene, he said you would have been in trouble if you had failed to hit me,” Femi recalled, highlighting his father’s supportive and understanding nature.
The clarification provides insight into the dynamics between the father-son duo and dispels any lingering misconceptions about the incident. Femi Adebayo’s explanation underscores the unpredictability of acting and the supportive relationship he shares with his father, Oga Bello.
"How I ended up slapping my dad in Funke Akindele's movie, Taiwo Taiwo as an aggressive thief"- Femi Adebayo pic.twitter.com/ankZ0gJSZ0
— Nollywood Citadel (@Nolly_Citadel) July 26, 2024