US may send troops to Niger Delta

Date: 06-06-2007 6:56 pm (16 years ago) | Author: A F O
[1] 2 3 4
- at 6-06-2007 06:56 PM (16 years ago)

America has moved closer to introducing its forces into the restive Niger Delta, following the approval of President George Bush for an African Command Centre to assist needy countries to counter militant problems in their areas. The initiative followed Washington's acceptance to host an international conference on the Niger Delta to find lasting peace in the area.

"This new command will strengthen our security cooperation with Africa," President Bush said. The US president said he had asked Defence Secretary, Robert Gates to get the new command, up and running by the end of September 20 08. He said the US would consult African leaders on the command's base.

Gates said the new Africa command would allow the US to better coordinate action and counter potential threats because the administration received more than 20 percent of its oil from Africa and is worried about increased economic and diplomatic competition from China. There are also a variety of US security and humanitarian concerns, ranging from the potential rise of militant Islam to the threat of failed states and the specter of future genocide, especially in the Dafur region of Sudan.

The Pentagon said there are real potential threats, including terrorist threats that could emerge in war-torn areas, such as Somalia and Niger Delta.
The Africa command would be the fifth regional operations base for the US and will concentrate on military assistance to African nations, which is currently divided among three regional commands. Gates revealed the new plans as he addressed the Senate Armed Services Committee on the defence spending which President Bush proposed in his 2008 budget and submitted to Congress.

"This command will enable us to have a more effective and integrated approach than the current arrangement, an outdated arrangement left over from the Cold War," Gates said.
He said the Africa Command Centre would "oversee security, cooperation, building partnership capability, defence support to non-military missions, and, if directed, military operations."

Last year, the Pentagon requested Africa governments to forward a request on the kind of military assistance they would require from the new command. Senior Pentagon officials said former President Olusegun Obasanjo specifically requested America's assistance in pacifying the Niger Delta by deploying marines to improve security.

Posted: at 6-06-2007 06:56 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- democrazy at 23-09-2007 11:50 PM (16 years ago)
the beginning of the state of emergency to be introduced soon in the niger delta.
Posted: at 23-09-2007 11:50 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- herre at 25-09-2007 02:49 AM (16 years ago)
wat nonsense, i believe Nigeria is more than capable of handling our own problems thank you!they should concentrate on the thousands of their soldiers that are dying in Iraq and leave Nigeria well alone, we have overcome greater turbulences(biafra) i am more than confident this issue will be resolved in due time.
Posted: at 25-09-2007 02:49 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 25-09-2007 09:32 AM (16 years ago)
blame it on Bush....he is full of bullshit....he can't take care of his people in US and now he wants to interfere in other countries issues.....first was Iraq then, Kuwait now Nigeria......a bunch of A*#Ss!!!!!

Posted: at 25-09-2007 09:32 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 12-11-2007 11:11 AM (16 years ago)
E Dey Pain Me Gaga.....

Posted: at 12-11-2007 11:11 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- akayin1 at 19-11-2007 09:33 AM (16 years ago)
I don't believe the focus should be on the united states but on Nigeria. If we (or more realistically our leaders) decide not to have the presence of American forces in the Niger Delta, then there will be no reason for any U.S troops deployment in the area.

I believe the government needs to sit down with the legislative arm, the NDDC, local leaders and the militia heads (including those among govt. officials) and to iron out whatever issues are involved in the crisis. On my part I think the only way out is to directly influence the lives of the millions of individuals living in the Niger Delta. This should be done first by ensuring that they live in comfortable surroundings and then provide them with the opportunity to be part of the exploration and exploitation process. Once they there is a relatively equitable prospect of not having to leave your homeland to become a lesser human being elsewhere, the rate of anger against the govt. and the expats will diminish and then development exercises can continue.

If we can deal with this problem with the most amount of sincerity especially from the govt. and the expats, then we can call the U.S bluff on their military offers but if not, we'll continue to feed off their military crumbs.
Posted: at 19-11-2007 09:33 AM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- myragonza at 20-11-2007 05:12 AM (16 years ago)
well said....i agree.,.....

Posted: at 20-11-2007 05:12 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tbaby at 12-12-2007 03:00 PM (16 years ago)
o dear  Shocked
some pple go go Ghana after all   Roll Eyes

Posted: at 12-12-2007 03:00 PM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- myragonza at 13-12-2007 07:07 AM (16 years ago)
have u decided on that already...?

Posted: at 13-12-2007 07:07 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 19-12-2007 05:37 PM (16 years ago)
while he's busy sending troops to other countries...Who's gonna be invading the white house? i hope i get appointed for that special position oooooo..... Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 19-12-2007 05:37 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 23-12-2007 09:36 AM (16 years ago)
i will be ur second sergeant..... Grin Grin

Posted: at 23-12-2007 09:36 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Grease at 17-02-2008 02:20 PM (16 years ago)
Bush as an A*#S...That is why we need a black man in the white house Smiley

Posted: at 17-02-2008 02:20 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 17-02-2008 02:23 PM (16 years ago)
Exactly....and he thinks he's fooling everyone by trying to send out rebate checks..
Posted: at 17-02-2008 02:23 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Grease at 17-02-2008 02:24 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on 17-02-2008 02:23 PM
Exactly....and he thinks he's fooling everyone by trying to send out rebate checks..

Rebate check is good ..At least you have couple of $$$ to shop with Smiley

Posted: at 17-02-2008 02:24 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 17-02-2008 02:28 PM (16 years ago)
Yeah and when you file your 2008 checks it gets deducted from there..thats what they said...though i aint' gon be getting any checks back..i had to pay back taxes....remember he did that same thing when he first became president?..send out checks to everyone....I think its a way of him trying to get a republican back into the white house.
Posted: at 17-02-2008 02:28 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Grease at 17-02-2008 02:40 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on 17-02-2008 02:28 PM
Yeah and when you file your 2008 checks it gets deducted from there..thats what they said...though i aint' gon be getting any checks back..i had to pay back taxes....remember he did that same thing when he first became president?..send out checks to everyone....I think its a way of him trying to get a republican back into the white house.

You might be right...But i tell you what ,the democrat are in the lead and i hope Obama wins Smiley

Posted: at 17-02-2008 02:40 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 18-02-2008 02:51 PM (16 years ago)
HOORAY!!!another believer........

all those white presidents are fake.....seriously......

Posted: at 18-02-2008 02:51 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 18-02-2008 10:51 PM (16 years ago)
yes they are...its time we give a black man a chance...maybe instead of paying back taxes, I'll be getting a refund back Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 18-02-2008 10:51 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 19-02-2008 03:55 PM (16 years ago)
 Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss

Posted: at 19-02-2008 03:55 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ekwu_2000 at 21-03-2008 12:56 AM (16 years ago)
They can't try it.......I mean America.

Posted: at 21-03-2008 12:56 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4

1. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

2. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

3. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

4. Veteran Actor, Zack Orji Heads To UK For Post-Surgery Evaluation (Photos)

5. Movie Star, Funke Akindele & Her Twin Kids In Dubai On Short Vacation

6. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

7. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

8. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

9. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

10. Armed Robber Rap3s 20-yr-old Jigawa Housewife In Hubby's Presence After Stealing Bags Of Pepper

11. Saudi Arabia Set To Make Debut In Miss Universe Pageant; To Be Represented By Rumy Alqahtani

12. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

13. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

14. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

15. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

16. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

17. Binance Faces $35.4 Million Money Laundering Charges: International Manhunt For Executives

18. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

19. Police Hand Over Wanted Delta Monarch Ogenerukeywe To Military

20. Explosion Rocks Dawaki In Nigeria's Capital Territory: Incident Leaves Residents Alarmed

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

6. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

7. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

8. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

9. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives

10. Davido's Daughter, Imade Is Now An Epitome Of Beauty, Netizens React To New Posts About Her