Peter Obi Breaks Silence On Tinubu's Proposed Tax Reform Policy

Date: 03-12-2024 8:26 am (1 month ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 3-12-2024 08:26 AM (1 month ago)

Obi’s remarks are likely to amplify calls for broader public engagement to ensure the reforms align with the interests of all Nigerians.

Peter Obi, Labour Party’s presidential candidate in the 2023 elections, has called on the National Assembly to ensure Nigerians actively participate in discussions surrounding the federal government’s proposed tax reform policy.

Taking to social media platform X, Obi emphasised the need for transparency and inclusivity in the policy formulation process.

“A public hearing on tax reform is essential, allowing Nigerians from all walks of life to engage meaningfully,” he said.

While acknowledging the importance of tax reforms, the former Anambra State Governor stressed that such policies should not prioritise government benefits over national sustainability.

“It is insufficient to focus solely on the benefits to the government, particularly in terms of increasing revenue collection. We must also consider the overall impact on the nation and the sustainability of all its regions,” he noted.

Obi urged the federal government to cultivate trust and legitimacy, which he described as the bedrock of effective governance.

“Trust and legitimacy are the foundation of effective governance, and without them, even the best-intended reforms may fail,” he cautioned.

The tax reform proposal, part of President Bola Tinubu’s economic agenda, has sparked widespread discussions.

Obi’s remarks are likely to amplify calls for broader public engagement to ensure the reforms align with the interests of all Nigerians.

Posted: at 3-12-2024 08:26 AM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 3-12-2024 11:38 AM (1 month ago)
The so called tax reformed bill is useless, everything about that man is useless, I warned them not to vote that demon into power, but they didn't listen to me, you dey do tax reform bill when country never dey strong enough to cope on struggling economic challenges, you came and used your useless tax reformed bill to cause more hardship and poverty to Nigerians without thinking about the impact, all foreign companies don run comot from Nigeria because of this man useless polices  Sad
Posted: at 3-12-2024 11:38 AM (1 month ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 3-12-2024 01:17 PM (1 month ago)
Always Presidential in all his doings.

Posted: at 3-12-2024 01:17 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- OmoNobaUku at 3-12-2024 02:51 PM (1 month ago)
When has tax and fiscal policies of Govt become a matter for public dialogue? Obi by name, Obidiot by nature, truly.
Posted: at 3-12-2024 02:51 PM (1 month ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dopybadass at 3-12-2024 04:16 PM (1 month ago)
Quote from: OmoNobaUku on  3-12-2024 02:51 PM
When has tax and fiscal policies of Govt become a matter for public dialogue? Obi by name, Obidiot by nature, truly.
Na you be obidiot by nature, atleast he is still better than your ekpewe you people call president
Posted: at 3-12-2024 04:16 PM (1 month ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 3-12-2024 05:53 PM (1 month ago)
Do they have sense
Posted: at 3-12-2024 05:53 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 3-12-2024 05:58 PM (1 month ago)
Quote from: OmoNobaUku on  3-12-2024 02:51 PM
Your stupidity stinks. Tueh !!!

Posted: at 3-12-2024 05:58 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero