French football icon, Marcel Desailly Faces Court Over Paternity Dispute & Financial Woes

Date: 08-12-2024 1:29 pm (1 month ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 8-12-2024 01:29 PM (1 month ago)

French football icon Marcel Desailly is embroiled in a paternity battle over a 10-year-old daughter he allegedly refused to acknowledge, with a hearing scheduled at the Paris judicial court on Tuesday. 

The dispute involves Desailly and his former partner, Cosma Batista de Alcantara, over the paternity of their daughter, Victoria. Despite a DNA test confirming Desailly as the father earlier this year, the 1998 World Cup winner has reportedly resisted acknowledgment since 2021. 

According to French outlet *Le Parisien*, the court may compel Desailly to pay monthly alimony of £4,148 (€5,000). However, the former Chelsea and AC Milan defender claims he is financially incapable of meeting the obligation. 

Desailly's financial troubles reportedly stem from tax sanctions for evasion between 2011 and 2019, forcing him to pay an equivalent sum to French tax authorities monthly since 2022. His recent departure from a pundit role with beIN Sports, which earned him £7,100 (€8,600) per month, has further complicated his finances. 

Adding to his woes, Desailly was forced to liquidate assets to support his other children, including four from his marriage to Virginie Desailly and a fifth, Aida, whom he initially denied as his child. 

Batista de Alcantara, however, contests Desailly’s financial claims. Speaking to *Le Parisien*, she expressed skepticism: “Since I have known him, he has always claimed he had no money. At the time, I believed him. But now, I’m not so sure.” She also revealed that her daughter, Victoria, struggles with Desailly's lack of contact, stating, “She doesn’t understand why he doesn’t call her anymore. She suffers, and I’m sad for her.”

Documents reportedly reviewed by *Le Parisien* suggest Desailly has not received dividends from his business ventures in France or Ghana since 2009. His lawyer, Francoise Majnoni d'Intignano, reinforced this, describing her client as far from the wealthy athlete many perceive him to be. 

The legal battle shines a light on the personal and financial challenges faced by the retired football star, with Victoria's future and Desailly’s financial stability hanging in the balance.

Posted: at 8-12-2024 01:29 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- OmoNobaUku at 8-12-2024 04:57 PM (1 month ago)
Evil that men do, lives long after them comes to mind. Stand up to your responsibilities, man. You don't know what this girl might become tomorrow.
Posted: at 8-12-2024 04:57 PM (1 month ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 8-12-2024 06:36 PM (1 month ago)
money no dey!!! go away women Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes beside na ur pikin  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes if he do well today na u dey go first take care of  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-12-2024 06:36 PM (1 month ago) | Grande Master