Former Big Brother Naija housemate and comedian, DeeOne, has stirred controversy by declaring that only three ex-housemates from the reality show remain relevant today. According to DeeOne, he, television show host Ebuka, and actress Bisola are the only former participants who have maintained their relevance in the entertainment industry.
In a video shared on his TikTok page, DeeOne questioned whether the Big Brother Naija experience is a blessing or a curse. He argued that several ex-housemates, such as Erica and Laycon, who were performing well before the show, saw their careers stall after participating.
“In the history of Big Brother Naija, only three of us [housemates] are still relevant today: DeeOne, Ebuka, and Bisola. After the three of us, who else? This is not to say that the rest are not working. We have over 150 ex-housemates. How many are relevant?” DeeOne asked.
He further stated, “I’m not talking about making money. Everyone is making money. We are talking about relevancy. Let’s be realistic. You might not like it, but it’s the truth. My question is, is Big Brother a curse or a blessing? Because many who were doing well before the show became stagnant after participating.”
DeeOne cited Erica, who was active in acting before the show, but whose career he claims retrogressed afterward. He also mentioned Teddy A, who used to tour African countries with his music but saw his career decline after entering the Big Brother house. The same situation, according to DeeOne, applies to Laycon.
“Most of us went into the Big Brother Naija house in pursuit of fame, not even the prize money. But when you come out, it’s ten times more difficult,” he concluded.