HAS NIGERIA LOST THE TITLE AS GIANT OF AFRICA TO SOUTH AFRICA ?

Date: 10-03-2011 3:54 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Dilone
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 10-03-2011 03:54 PM (13 years ago)
MY GIRL FRIEND READ THE POST BELOW AND SHE ASK ME DID I LIED TO TELL HER THAT NIGERIA IS THE GIANT OF AFRICA .SO I WANT TO KNOW IF NIGERIA HAS LOST THE TITLE AS THE GIANT OF THE WHOLE AFRICA .

CHECK THIS VIDEO
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4n2KjnzwAvg" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">After the holiday: Bimbo and Seun reflect</a>

Have you seen that TVC where South African's got Nigerians to say - South Africa is Truly The Giant of Africa?.
A lot of Nigerians who have seen the ad are outraged. They feel the couple sold out.

For those who haven't seen it, let me explain.

There's a TV commercial currently running on DSTV promoting South African Tourism. In the TVC, (which is used by South Africa to encourage Nigerians to choose the country as their holiday destination), a Nigerian couple who introduced themselves as Bimbo and Seun Somolu, based in Lagos, are shown having the 'time of their lives' and saying great things about South Africa. Their statement included "South Africa can rival any western nation". The wife concluded by saying "South Africa is truly the Giant of Africa" And she actually laughs after saying this.

To some Nigerians who have seen the commercial, what the couple said was unpatriotic. To others, it is just a professionally done TV commercial. While some think that there is some element of truth in the claim.

What do you think?

Meanwhile meet Bimbo and Seun in two videos after the cut...and watch Bimbo say in video 2 (30secs) that 'This place (SA) is the Giant of Africa'

I thought Nigeria was the Giant of Africa? If I catch these people eh...lol

Posted: at 10-03-2011 03:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- divineproject at 10-03-2011 03:58 PM (13 years ago)
What is in a title?......giant ko, dwarf ni............I pass oo

Posted: at 10-03-2011 03:58 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- MissyBarbie at 10-03-2011 04:03 PM (13 years ago)
LMAO hahhahahahahaha
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Anyway Nigeria WAS sorry IS the Giant of African
Posted: at 10-03-2011 04:03 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- pholake at 10-03-2011 04:05 PM (13 years ago)
The couples lie? Wetin still giant for Nigeria apart from corruption and the population size?
Posted: at 10-03-2011 04:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mediaexcell at 10-03-2011 04:13 PM (13 years ago)
its a shame that he is talking that way,

that is an evident that many ppl really needs to know how to talk in public.

what is he feeling like.
Posted: at 10-03-2011 04:13 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 11-03-2011 08:17 AM (13 years ago)
Shame on them... useless couple wey no know themselves. Talk Rubbish bcos of money. How much them give ona sef. Nonsense!
Posted: at 11-03-2011 08:17 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- simele at 11-03-2011 08:30 AM (13 years ago)
since 1999 naija don lose
Posted: at 11-03-2011 08:30 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pointzero at 11-03-2011 08:59 AM (13 years ago)
I dnt understand why some people are talking negatively 2 d couples....................cos i dnt think they lied...........SA is d giant of africa...its axiomatic....no doubts pls

Posted: at 11-03-2011 08:59 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyimau20 at 11-03-2011 11:17 AM (13 years ago)
South Africa is a fine place to be, but let them not collect our title name from us ooo Grin
Posted: at 11-03-2011 11:17 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ibraheemjimoh at 11-03-2011 12:30 PM (13 years ago)
i dey come
Posted: at 11-03-2011 12:30 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DonFuego at 12-03-2011 04:05 AM (13 years ago)
Giant of Africa in fraud or armed robery? I will say...fraud goes to Naija and Armed robery goes SA Grin

Posted: at 12-03-2011 04:05 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- nelic2001 at 13-03-2011 01:46 PM (13 years ago)
Why asking? You and I know that the answer is a CAPITAL "YES"!
Posted: at 13-03-2011 01:46 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- simele at 14-03-2011 08:27 AM (13 years ago)
IN SOME ASPECT
Posted: at 14-03-2011 08:27 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- baby14life at 14-03-2011 09:03 AM (13 years ago)
 Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue
Posted: at 14-03-2011 09:03 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Lekan22 at 14-03-2011 09:15 AM (13 years ago)
God bless Nigeria the giant of Africa.
Posted: at 14-03-2011 09:15 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyimau20 at 14-03-2011 09:45 AM (13 years ago)
Amen
Posted: at 14-03-2011 09:45 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- williams100 at 14-03-2011 10:16 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: deboalabi262 on 12-03-2011 02:50 AM
So na Giant we go shop or how people dey live happily in both countries ?  The two countries are still stuggling economically. So no one is a giant. We are both 3rd world countries always seeking for aids and loans from IMF or world bank.

WELL SAID AND SUPPORTED.BESIDES NIGERIA WAS GIVEN THE GIANT OF AFRICA BECAUSE OF HER POPULATION SIZE HAVING OVER 140MILLION INHABITANTS.THE ECONOMY IS STAGNANT WITH LOTS OF DILAPITATING INFRASTRUCTURE UP ABOUT EVERY REGION OF THE NATION.MAKE DEM NOR LET ME TALK ABEG.GIANT MY ASS...
Posted: at 14-03-2011 10:16 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 14-03-2011 11:28 AM (13 years ago)
Nigeria was, but now she is a sleeping giant. Wake Nigeria'''' It is 6:am.
Posted: at 14-03-2011 11:28 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dan_Fulani at 14-03-2011 12:07 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nelic2001 on 13-03-2011 01:46 PM
Why asking? You and I know that the answer is a CAPITAL "YES"!

YES..in most measures. They include economy, quality of life, education, business environment,
and political stability.  I will discuss two of these measures.

First, the ecomomies of both countries. There is no comparison. South Africa is a member of
the G-20 ( the largest or top twenty economies of the world). Nigeria is not even close. Not too
long ago, Nigeria had a larger GNP than South Africa.
Nigeria under the rules of the Generals and the corruption epidemic totally ruined the economy
of our country.

Next, education. South Africa spends one-fifth (20%) of their budget on education from
elementary to university. In Nigeria education is largely neglected. Nigerian universities are poorly
funded. Visit any university campus and see the shameful state of classrooms and equipments.
Elementary schools overseas have better classrooms and equipments than most universities in
Nigeria. Walk into a university campus in South Africa and you will see the difference. Now you
know why the top universities in Africa are located in South Africa.

dan fulani
Posted: at 14-03-2011 12:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dan_Fulani at 14-03-2011 12:28 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on 14-03-2011 11:28 AM
Nigeria was, but now she is a sleeping giant. Wake Nigeria'''' It is 6:am.

.....sleeping giants?....More like a sick close-to-death giant.

Talking about health care...another measurement of an advanced society, South Africa
has a better health care than Nigeria. Rich nigerians go to South African for superior   
medical care. The irony is that Nigeria graduates more doctors than South Africa, yet
they have better hospitals, and health care delivery system than we do.

dan fulani
Posted: at 14-03-2011 12:28 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 5