2026 WCQ: They’ll Start Calculating Maths – Nathaniel Bassey On Nigeria’s Draw With Zimbabwe

Date: 25-03-2025 9:21 pm (1 month ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 25-03-2025 09:21 PM (1 month ago)

Gospel musician Nathaniel Bassey has reacted to Nigeria’s 1-1 draw with Zimbabwe in a 2026 World Cup qualifier on Tuesday.

Victor Osimhen opened the scoring in the 75th minute before Tawanda Chirewa equalised in the 90th minute at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo.

The result dented the Super Eagles’ ambition of playing at the tournament next year.

Nigeria remain in fourth place with seven points, six behind South Africa. They are also one point behind both Rwanda and Benin Republic.

Bassey wrote on X: “I’ve always said this, one of our problems is managing small success.

“You score just one goal, all of a sudden you think you have qualified for the World Cup.

“The Zimbabweans practically strolled from the midfield into the net unchallenged while we watched. Na wa.

“Now they’ll start calculating maths.”

Posted: at 25-03-2025 09:21 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- Baye77 at 25-03-2025 09:51 PM (1 month ago)
It's just crazy. I want the eagles at the world cup, but sentiments aside, if we can't beat Zimbabwe, who are last in the group, in our own stadium, then we probably don't deserve to be at that world cup. Shameful.
Posted: at 25-03-2025 09:51 PM (1 month ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 25-03-2025 10:00 PM (1 month ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin when the wicked is in power........

Posted: at 25-03-2025 10:00 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 25-03-2025 10:12 PM (1 month ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 25-03-2025 10:00 PM
Grin Grin Grin Grin when the wicked is in power........

This is how you turn women into monsters!! Because you won't let them take accountability. How is this Tinubu's fault? Was Tinubu the footballer or keeper? This player fails!!! They should be blamed!!!  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 25-03-2025 10:12 PM (1 month ago) | Grande Master
- Profman1 at 26-03-2025 02:49 AM (1 month ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 25-03-2025 10:12 PM

This is how you turn women into monsters!! Because you won't let them take accountability. How is this Tinubu's fault? Was Tinubu the footballer or keeper? This player fails!!! They should be blamed!!!  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
It’s Tinubu’s fault because he brought bad luck with him and to to crown the bad dem come carry match go Akpabio’s stadium , opari!!
Posted: at 26-03-2025 02:49 AM (1 month ago) | Upcoming
- fineboy77 at 26-03-2025 09:08 AM (1 month ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 25-03-2025 10:12 PM

Should I help you connect the dots? Corrupt and wicked leaders......recruitment process.......bribery and greed.......substandard coaching team........unmotivated group.....poorwelfare.....bad results.....bad luck.....connect if you can.

Posted: at 26-03-2025 09:08 AM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 26-03-2025 01:13 PM (1 month ago)
They will start calculating math's indeed. That's what they always do.
Posted: at 26-03-2025 01:13 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- Baye77 at 28-03-2025 06:25 AM (1 month ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 26-03-2025 09:08 AM
Should I help you connect the dots? Corrupt and wicked leaders......recruitment process.......bribery and greed.......substandard coaching team........unmotivated group.....poorwelfare.....bad results.....bad luck.....connect if you can.
Like for real people underestimate the impact bad leadership has on every aspect of a nation's development. Bad leadership affects the development of a nation in every way. Why do you think African football leagues are the worst in the world?? It's bad leadership! There are talents all over Africa, but when you embezzle players wages, how will they be motivated to play?? I'm not sure Fashanu played up to 5 times for England, but till today, he still enjoys the benefits and full entitlements of an ex England international. What happens to past Nigerian footballers?? Even the present how are they treated?? I can't believe that an adult will undermine the importance of good leadership.
Posted: at 28-03-2025 06:25 AM (1 month ago) | Hero