ARE YOU PROUD OF NIGERIAN???

Date: 12-03-2011 2:16 am (13 years ago) | Author: Gab
- at 12-03-2011 02:16 AM (13 years ago)
I often hear my fellow Nigerians say I am proud of Nigeria however, when I ask them to explain why they are proud of Nigeria, they hardly give a valid reason why one should be proud of a place. For example, one friend said to me, I was born and brought up in Nigeria, that is why I am proud of Nigeria. Well other people were born and brought up in other countries, so that is not something special! I further explained to him whether he was born in Nigeria, Ghana, UK, Kafanchan, he would have been brought up there, so I did not see that as a valid reason to be proud of a country.

My understanding is that one can only be proud of something or somewhere when they are special. For example, most parents love their children but they become proud of them when they achieve something special like good results, success in life etc.

It is a question of fact why one Individual may be proud Nigeria and another individual opposite so, there is no good or bad answers. However, individual must understand the difference between loving and being proud of a place to be able to understand what I'm getting at.

So pals, in simple language, I want you to say whether you are or not proud Naija and explain your reasons!!!

Lets hear it pals.......

Posted: at 12-03-2011 02:16 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie