Man survives under collapsed building in Lagos for 24 hours

Date: 24-03-2011 5:08 am (13 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 24-03-2011 05:08 AM (13 years ago)
Francis Awundaga, a construction worker, was, for 24 hours, trapped under tons of rubble from a five-storey building that collapsed recently at Adenubi Close, Ikeja, Lagos. Unknown to many, the only thing that stood between him and death was just an Indian bamboo.

But even at that, as minutes ticked into hours, his chances of survival slimmed, with his co-workers and spectators losing hope of him being rescued alive.

But the miraculous happened. Just at the point that the rescue team comprising officials of Lagos State Emergency Management Agency (LASEMA), National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), Lagos State Ambulance Service (LASAMBUS), Lagos State Physical Planning and Urban Development Authority (LASPPDA), Police and fire service were about giving up hope, they heard a faint voice calling out from under the debris. They called out repeatedly and he answered, telling them his exact location.

They intensified their search and hours after painstaking and dangerous manoeuvres, pulled out a highly dehydrated Francis from the wreckage of the building, caked in dust. The building, a hotel under construction had collapsed trapping 10 others who were earlier rescued safe for Francis.

As his frail, smiling form emerged from the depth of the wreckage uninjured, he was greeted with laud applause. His survival has since being described as a miracle by those who kept vigil at the collapse site.

The only proof of his near death encounter were the scratches he sustained while trying to excavate debris from where he was trapped with his bare hands. He attributes his survival to divine providence.

Recalling his near death encounter to Daily Sun, on his hospital bed at Unity Hospital, Ikeja, Francis said that initially, he had lost all hope of survival till he realized that God was with him.

“My survival is a miracle that I can’t understand. It shows that God has a plan and purpose for my life. He was with me for reasons best known to him. It was an ordinary Indian bamboo that saved my life. A 15mm rod which is stronger than an Indian bamboo couldn’t withstand the pressure exerted by the three story building. It was just the hand of God at work. If not, my head would have been crushed had the pillars landed on me. I came out with no broken bones,” he said with a broad smile.

According to the 32-year-old man from Cross Rivers State, the day had started on a good note, even though, the night before, for all of them at the building site was frightening due to the tremor that continuously rocked the building. Having reported their observation to the owner of the structure and engineer, Francis said he went to worship at his church, Revival Assembly in Ogba.

He recalled that when he returned from church, he saw his co-workers trying to demolish the fifth floor, which was a pent house. Alarmed, he asked why and was told that the engineer instructed them to bring it down to reduce the load. They also told him that they were instructed to mount more pillars on the ground floor.

“When I went to the ground floor, the building was shaking terribly. As I was running back upstairs to warn them, I heard an explosion and the walls started rippling and crumbling all around me. By then, I was on the staircase leading to the second floor. The whole thing happened so fast that everywhere suddenly became silent and dark,” he recalled.

And then for 24 hours, he awaited whatever fate had in store for him. With help not forthcoming initially and knowing he might die of hunger and dehydration, Francis did the only thing that came to his mind; pray. He prayed and came to grips with the reality of his situation.

The last child in a family of seven, he noted that when the building collapsed, he felt life slipping out of him but believed he was going to heaven. But when he regained consciousness later and felt pains rip through his body, he realised that he was very much alive but had to remove all his clothes because of perspiration.

“It was a miracle, he said. “I prayed and thanked God for not allowing the building to crush me to death. Suddenly, I saw a light and my hope for survival rose.

At the same time, I felt a strong wind come into the place where I was and I immediately fell asleep. I believe God conserved my strength for what lay ahead. I woke up the next morning and still saw the light. I crawled towards the direction of the light and started clearing the debris around me but at a time became too weak to lift my arm.”

Having not eaten before the incident, Francis said he was unusually strengthened, stressing that it was unlike him to stay without food for three hours.

“Maybe it was the need to stay alive that strengthened me. The real Francis would have eaten at least five times a day.”

Speaking with Daily Sun after Francis was rescued, the General Manager and Chief Executive Officer, LASEMA, Dr. Oluwafemi Osanyintolu, said immediately they got the distress call and arrived the collapse site, about nine trapped persons were evacuated.

They were later able to communicate with Francis through Delser process, a search and rescue equipment, which identifies the location of the trapped victim.

“We were determined to rescue him alive after we heard his voice. If the United States government can lose sleep over one of their citizen under distress, I see no reason why the Lagos State government can’t do same. We made up our mind to work late into the might and had ordered for a giant generator to set up our search lights. Bringing out Francis alive was the best thing that happened to us. It was a defining moment”, he said.

Posted: at 24-03-2011 05:08 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 24-03-2011 06:35 PM (13 years ago)
thank GOD for him
Posted: at 24-03-2011 06:35 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- u4romeo at 24-03-2011 08:46 PM (13 years ago)
Normally,he would eat 5 times a day.Thank God he was found alive after 24 hours but plssssssss,dis is a miracle n at the same time it's a lesson dat we should eat to live n not live to eat.
A couple of days back,an 80years old grandmother n her teenage son were rescued from a collapsed building after being buried alive for 9 days in Japan.
Posted: at 24-03-2011 08:46 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 25-03-2011 02:00 AM (13 years ago)
He should thank his Lucky star. All the best....

Posted: at 25-03-2011 02:00 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ugobabe at 25-03-2011 04:49 AM (13 years ago)
Thank God o o o
Posted: at 25-03-2011 04:49 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 25-03-2011 07:59 AM (13 years ago)
he is more luckier than goodluck
Posted: at 25-03-2011 07:59 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- bomsiluv at 25-03-2011 08:30 AM (13 years ago)
It is the lord's doing. It is marvelous in our sight. Praise the living God.
Posted: at 25-03-2011 08:30 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- igweshi at 25-03-2011 11:04 PM (13 years ago)
GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME.
Posted: at 25-03-2011 11:04 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 26-03-2011 03:22 PM (13 years ago)
o yes
Posted: at 26-03-2011 03:22 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- moniconyez at 26-03-2011 03:36 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 25-03-2011 07:59 AM

This boy go leave talk go talk another thing. Tufiakwa
Posted: at 26-03-2011 03:36 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- moniconyez at 26-03-2011 03:42 PM (13 years ago)
Thanks and praises be to the LORD for help rescuing the man
Posted: at 26-03-2011 03:42 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 26-03-2011 04:32 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: moniconyez on 26-03-2011 03:36 PM
Quote from: ajanni on 25-03-2011 07:59 AM

This boy go leave talk go talk another thing. Tufiakwa

you dat monkey , ya head correct so?
Posted: at 26-03-2011 04:32 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- chicco77 at 9-09-2012 07:40 AM (11 years ago)
 Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 9-09-2012 07:40 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 21-08-2015 02:18 PM (8 years ago)
God is great
Posted: at 21-08-2015 02:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero