Dozens die in Lagos trailer accident

Date: 03-04-2011 2:25 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 3-04-2011 02:25 PM (12 years ago)
DOZENS of persons were roasted to death on Sunday in a multiple vehicle accident caused by policemen on stop and check duty between the toll gate and Berger bus stop at the Lagos end of the Lagos-Ibadan Expressway.
Eyewitnesses said the accident occurred at about 11 a.m. when policemen stopped a trailer in the middle of the road, leading to collisions from behind.
Over 15 vehicles were involved. Eight and all their passengers were burnt beyond recognition.
Policemen reportedly flagged down the trailer, and a car coming behind collided with it and burst into flames. Some of the other vehicles coming up somersaulted.
“When we saw what the policemen caused, we gathered and set their vehicle on fire and they all ran away until they re-enforced and came back,” an eyewitness narrated.
The trailer, owned by the Dangote Group and stocked with sugar, was heading to Kano.
The driver was among the dead.
His assistant, Aminu Seheedu Kano, said the trailer had a  break failure and the driver was trying to maneuvre around the traffic caused by the police check point when the accident happened.
According to him, if the police had allowed the road to be free the accident would have been averted.
“The driver struggled to find his way but unfortunately the road was blocked. There was collision and I was lucky to escape,” Kano said.
It took the spirited effort of a police squad from Area F with an armoured car and teargas to disperse the angry crowd that gathered to protest the conduct of the policemen.
Three of the protesters – Moruf Muritala, Omosetan Omorele, and Ibrahim Mommoh – accused the police of extortion on the road.
“I can’t imagine people simply because they are in uniform with arms forcing drivers to part with their hard earned money on the express road without any regard for the danger their action poses to human lives.
"See what they have caused now and they are using teargas to scare us away,” Muritala lamented.
The protesters urged the Inspector General of Police, Ogbonna Onovo, to call the Lagos police to order over extortion.
However, the Head of Lagos State Traffic Management Agency (LATSMA) Emergency Operation, Adisa Basssa, denied that the police mounted a check point at the scene.
“I was here at about 12 noon and no single policeman was here, they came after the accident occurred. So people blaming the police should be very careful,” he stated.

PLEASE READMORE AT
http://www.independentngonline.com/DailyIndependent/Article.aspx?id=18893

Posted: at 3-04-2011 02:25 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 3-04-2011 02:55 PM (12 years ago)
may their souls rest in peace
Posted: at 3-04-2011 02:55 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- harold634 at 3-04-2011 05:29 PM (12 years ago)
THIS IS 2 BAD
Posted: at 3-04-2011 05:29 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Amuwajoye at 3-04-2011 10:08 PM (12 years ago)
IS DIS TRUE Angry Angry Angry Angry DEM SUPPOSE THIS NPF
Posted: at 3-04-2011 10:08 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- shaoyang at 4-04-2011 04:17 AM (12 years ago)
This people shuold know they are employed to help protect the people not killing and causing their death :'( :'(
Posted: at 4-04-2011 04:17 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 4-04-2011 09:00 AM (12 years ago)
really ?
Posted: at 4-04-2011 09:00 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- itoroesie at 4-04-2011 10:18 AM (12 years ago)
may they find rest in God's bosom.
Posted: at 4-04-2011 10:18 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 4-04-2011 01:49 PM (12 years ago)
amen
Posted: at 4-04-2011 01:49 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Ajento at 4-04-2011 04:17 PM (12 years ago)

What a sad news. May their soul rest in peace.
Posted: at 4-04-2011 04:17 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 4-04-2011 04:33 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: itoroesie on  4-04-2011 10:18 AM
may they find rest in God's bosom.

Amen
Posted: at 4-04-2011 04:33 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- maffrodisiac at 4-04-2011 04:45 PM (12 years ago)
Infact ehn, the whole N.P.F. should be re-structured.
Posted: at 4-04-2011 04:45 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- shaoyang at 4-04-2011 05:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on  4-04-2011 09:00 AM
really ?
U this ghetto landlord i will just give you a very dirty slap there right now  Angry they are here talking abpout police recklesnes on human life, abandoning their primary duty for an ungodly thing you are there asking REALLY?......... Lips Sealed
Posted: at 4-04-2011 05:03 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 4-04-2011 06:43 PM (12 years ago)
you ? i told you earlier on , that you are just a rat , who will you said is your bastard father to do that with me ? you must be mad really , when human being are talking , the animals like you should keep quite , idiot
Posted: at 4-04-2011 06:43 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- kinkino at 4-04-2011 06:55 PM (12 years ago)
dats 9ja polic...may God consol d brivd
Posted: at 4-04-2011 06:55 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- shaoyang at 5-04-2011 08:24 AM (12 years ago)
Look @ this hopless begger.... i don't blame for you finding it easy to insult another man's father bcs u have got none.....son of a cow!
Posted: at 5-04-2011 08:24 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 5-04-2011 09:17 AM (12 years ago)
you had better be a beggers than being an armd robber , idiot like father like son , you will for sure end up by firing squad just like that of your father , soonest , bastard beasts
Posted: at 5-04-2011 09:17 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- shaoyang at 5-04-2011 09:46 AM (12 years ago)
Expired cow Bosom  milk at work.... soon you yourself will expire too
Posted: at 5-04-2011 09:46 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 5-04-2011 10:41 AM (12 years ago)
These policemen sef their own is too much.

Posted: at 5-04-2011 10:41 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chicanorose at 5-04-2011 10:42 AM (12 years ago)
 :'( :'( :'( :'(

Posted: at 5-04-2011 10:42 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

3. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

4. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

5. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

6. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

9. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

10. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. "He Must Have Range Rover, Benz, BMW, At Least ₦100m” - Lady Sets Standards For Suitors (Video)

5. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

6. “Stay Clear Of Verydarkman Matter” – Samklef Issues Warning To Davido

7. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

8. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

9. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

10. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake