Igbo Parents And Traditional Rites Of Their First Daughter? (Page 2)

Date: 23-04-2011 6:23 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Danjuma Daniel
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9
- KUDOS-GUTSY at 24-04-2011 02:20 PM (13 years ago)
@POSTER YOU BE LIAR Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 24-04-2011 02:20 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- KUDOS-GUTSY at 24-04-2011 02:23 PM (13 years ago)
@POSTER YOU BE LIAR Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 24-04-2011 02:23 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Tractor at 24-04-2011 03:39 PM (13 years ago)
I have asked my many Igbo friends about this. They said it's mainly families from Anambra who hold this tradition of first daughters not marrying out. Other Igbos aren't hard and fast about it.
Posted: at 24-04-2011 03:39 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- otagermo at 24-04-2011 04:10 PM (13 years ago)
enjoy life.no one knows 2morrow
Posted: at 24-04-2011 04:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 24-04-2011 04:17 PM (13 years ago)
@Poster you are a lying bastard
Dont start such thingh here please.
Posted: at 24-04-2011 04:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- otagermo at 24-04-2011 04:20 PM (13 years ago)
@poster.you are seeking for notice
Posted: at 24-04-2011 04:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 24-04-2011 04:53 PM (13 years ago)
[b]@ poster re yu sure dat u want 2 marry ,bc am from anambra state and dis my first time of hearing this; or may be ur looking escuse or a way to run plz if u wanna marry go no one body is stoping u;if ur nt serious u back off.so dat serious people will cum in[/b][/color][/font][/size]
Posted: at 24-04-2011 04:53 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- do4sure at 24-04-2011 05:27 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Ezeoha1 on 24-04-2011 12:27 PM
Why can't we tell him the truth, it really exists my brother, it normally a problem in the family but with love you guys can conquer it. Nigerians discriminates alot. Thats why our First Lady said, "we should love our fellow Nigerians irrespective of their NATIONALITY".lol
Which truth? my friend don't use your family traditrions for a general application.Igbos 1st daughters have married,still marrying and will still marry outside their tribe
Posted: at 24-04-2011 05:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jennybush at 24-04-2011 05:41 PM (13 years ago)
Am d first in my family nd i told my parent about my guy who is from cross-river while am frm igbo and they disagree.my parent said as a first daughter i c't marry out side igbo becos of it i went for  counselling  in d churcg and am ask to follow wat my parent say.so guy go nd meet her pepple to conferm b4 u take wrong decision tak kia
Posted: at 24-04-2011 05:41 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ngeri1 at 24-04-2011 05:43 PM (13 years ago)
Lol you are relying on information from others to dictate how you must proceed in your relationship? If she tells you all is well, all is well. Listening to others on that matter is ridiculous. Double dating is not a wise choice either..dump her and move on if you feel that it is such an issue. To even think of double dating as a solution is odd...Will you be marrying her or her parents?! This post seems unnecessary in my opinion.

Quote from: i-code on 23-04-2011 06:23 PM
Please i need help seriously, am 28 yrs old guy dating a 26 yrs old Igbo girl, we love ourselves very well & we are planning of settling down 2gada & to be frank with you guys-i have never love a girl b4 eva though i hav dated some girl in d past. The major problem now is dat am 4rm the middle belt & she is an Igbo girl & all my friends are saying dat Igbo first daughter are not allow to marry outside their tribe & that my girl parent will do anything to keep us apart & dis is seriously disturbing me causing me sleepless night. Eva when i discuss with my girl about it, she said it's not true & re-assure me of her love 4 me, dat it's me she love & dat she didn't want to marry someone else & her heart will still be with me. My relationship in d past didn't work bcos i always hide my real identity but my girl now know virtually everything about me likewise myself & she is a dedication Catholic member. Please & please pals i need help bcos dis is eating me up & am tempted to double date in d event where d worse happen (my girl parent opposing me), at dsame time am afraid my girl will be highly disappointed in me if i cheat on her & even if she didn't know, i can't stand the guilt. Your kind & mature advice will highly be appreciated. Please help!

Posted: at 24-04-2011 05:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 24-04-2011 05:44 PM (13 years ago)
first daughter or not , if you love this girl as you claim, proceed with
your plans, and forget about this first daughter nonsense. Goodluck!
Posted: at 24-04-2011 05:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- interpo77 at 24-04-2011 05:48 PM (13 years ago)
hey poster, u re being ironical here,igbos call it first daughters or middle  or last can marry to any tribe of her choice
since she loves u , its only u pple middle belt, huasans  etc that never  n can never give ur daughter call it the last born to an
 igbo guy to marry, .look  dont dump that gul ehh or u face the gudges
Posted: at 24-04-2011 05:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ewosky at 24-04-2011 05:53 PM (13 years ago)
Bros, apart from the girl's parents not allowing you marry their daughter due to the tribe difference, your bastardizing of English language, using PRESENT for PAST tense will make her parents shoot you if you dare go near their daughter. Haba bros, you no dey read wetin u dey type???
Posted: at 24-04-2011 05:53 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- frayobkk at 24-04-2011 05:57 PM (13 years ago)
i know for sure that this kind of thing happen but it depends on the family u come from, not only IGBOs alone even some Yoruba family have the same mentality. I have a friend who i meat when i was in Dubai he has this girl from New Zealand that love him so much. The girl come from a well brought up family her father is pastor living in Australia. This girl have help him alots all that the girl wanted is from him is for both of then to get married as soom as posible . the guy tun her down after comfessing that he love her soo much and to end up that As a first son of his father that is forbid for him to maryy outside Yoruba land .. he seriously comfess to me pasonally as a close friend that time that he love the girl but he cant do other wise

Posted: at 24-04-2011 05:57 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 24-04-2011 05:57 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: jennybush on 24-04-2011 05:41 PM
Am d first in my family nd i told my parent about my guy who is from cross-river while am frm igbo and they disagree.my parent said as a first daughter i c't marry out side igbo becos of it i went for  counselling  in d churcg and am ask to follow wat my parent say.so guy go nd meet her pepple to conferm b4 u take wrong decision tak kia
Jennybush,as a first daughter, what if all your suitors are outside your tribe
will you remain single all your life to make your parent's happy?
Posted: at 24-04-2011 05:57 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jennybush at 24-04-2011 06:07 PM (13 years ago)
Pls check out frm d parent. Am an igbo 1st daughter nd am ask nt to marry out side igbo
Posted: at 24-04-2011 06:07 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Rosemerry at 24-04-2011 06:48 PM (13 years ago)
@ poster - do you believe the words of your friends or that of your fiancee? You are already planning on cheating b4 you are even married. The way you are going it is doubtful if this relationship will work.
Posted: at 24-04-2011 06:48 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- i-code at 24-04-2011 07:26 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on 24-04-2011 04:17 PM
@Poster you are a lying bastard
Dont start such thingh here please.

u are a senseless idiot. I only asked 4 ur opinion abt what i heard. Idiot
Posted: at 24-04-2011 07:26 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- 2slimshady at 24-04-2011 07:53 PM (13 years ago)
AM NOT AN IGBO GIRL BUT I HAVE FRIENDS FROM THE EAST I DONT THINK THIS IS TRUE..
Posted: at 24-04-2011 07:53 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- dico1 at 24-04-2011 08:07 PM (13 years ago)
It's mere foolishness and Igboish that such culture is still existing n this world. Besides, The Ibos are the only people I see that are still believing in the past. It's quite unfortunate. The girls themselves are suppose to oppose such archaic culture but they rather chose to live in the dark.
Posted: at 24-04-2011 08:07 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9