Wow - Death Penalty For Gays In Uganda MP Want A Stop

Date: 27-04-2011 3:16 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 27-04-2011 03:16 PM (12 years ago)
A Ugandan MP behind an anti-gay Bill that has attracted worldwide condemnation said yesterday that the most controversial part of the legislation – the death penalty provision – was likely to be dropped.
David Bahati said he "would concede" if the parliamentary committee debating the new law recommended that the execution clause was removed. "The death penalty is something we have moved away from," said Mr Bahati, a member of Uganda's ruling National Resistance Movement who studied at the University of Wales in Cardiff. His private member's Bill was widely criticised when he proposed it 18 months ago.
The legislation may come up for a vote before parliament's session ends on 12 May. Mr Bahati's original draft carried harsh provisions, including a mandatory death sentence for active homosegxwals living with HIV, or in cases of same-sex rape. "Serial offenders" would have faced capital punishment and anyone convicted of a homosegxwal act would face life in prison.
The MP said yesterday he thought the Bill would become law if voted on by legislators. "I can guarantee you I have not seen any member of parliament who is opposed to it," he added.
Frank Mugisha, of the gay rights group segxwal Minorities Uganda, said anti-gay sentiment had increased since Mr Bahati's Bill was tabled.

Posted: at 27-04-2011 03:16 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- KINGJHOE at 27-04-2011 03:27 PM (12 years ago)
This gay shitty stuff...na wao
Posted: at 27-04-2011 03:27 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- giftmurphy at 27-04-2011 04:25 PM (12 years ago)
k
Posted: at 27-04-2011 04:25 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- frayobkk at 27-04-2011 05:45 PM (12 years ago)
yes is not bibblicall but did the have to killed

Posted: at 27-04-2011 05:45 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eoadex2003 at 28-04-2011 07:21 PM (12 years ago)
This gay thing self........
Posted: at 28-04-2011 07:21 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 29-04-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago)
Abi ooooo
Posted: at 29-04-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- ekpelove at 29-04-2011 04:52 PM (12 years ago)
Na wa for this gay idiot ooo!! all the enjoyment wen
dey between a man and woman relationship,
na man-to man  woman-to woman dem want. Infact
this gay people are so brainwashed by these some, some
oyinbo people wen dem dey go in and out of that small Country.
Posted: at 29-04-2011 04:52 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- harold634 at 29-04-2011 05:03 PM (12 years ago)
I don't know why africans decided to embrace this white people same sex marriage culture, death penalty is a good idea.
Posted: at 29-04-2011 05:03 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- frayobkk at 29-04-2011 06:02 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: harold634 on 29-04-2011 05:03 PM
I don't know why africans decided to embrace this white people same sex marriage culture, death penalty is a good idea.
U know we africans we like to copy everything the good the bad the urgly copy copy na him go kill us
we have to embrace the good and forget the bad of oyibo there crazy is too much

Posted: at 29-04-2011 06:02 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 21-08-2012 09:42 AM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 21-08-2012 09:42 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 12-09-2012 02:40 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 12-09-2012 02:40 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero