Holy robber, who raided church vows to be a good Christian

Date: 17-05-2011 9:40 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Musa Yusuf
- at 17-05-2011 09:40 PM (12 years ago)
It was a day of reckoning for a suspected armed robber whose gang has held Lagos State and its environs by the jugular as he had been arrested by the police.
The suspect, Charles Okon and his gang, have been on the wanted list of the police for offences of snatching two rifles from policemen in a hotel and raiding two new generation banks.

Also, Okon was being hunted by detectives when he was named by a female suspected armourer to his gang, as the man who gave her some arms and ammunition to keep for his gang. The female armourer, Maria was picked up three weeks ago at the Mile 2 motor park with a bag containing arms and ammunition.
Maria had told detectives that the evil consignments were given to her by Okon to transport for his gang in Koko in Delta State. The police had declared manhunt for him.

However, the efforts of the police paid off penultimate Tuesday when Okon and some members of his gang were rounded off by men of the Police Mobile Unit (MOPOL 22), after allegedly raiding Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church, Surulere, carting away large sums of money. The gang was further said to be sharing their loot in a car believed by the police to have been snatched at the Tin Can Island, when they were arrested. Okon, who spoke with Daily Sun at the State Criminal Investigation Department (SCID), Panti, Yaba, begged God and the church members to forgive him.

He said: “I am now born again. I have repented from my sins. I am begging that I should be allowed to go. But on the other hand, if I am charged to court and eventually sentenced to death, when I die and there is reincarnation, I will be a good Christian. The 32-year-old man who was kneeling down and singing praises to God, suddenly burst out saying, “Oh, my God, if I die and I have the opportunity to reincarnate, I promise you that I will be a very good Christian.”

On whether his gang actually raided the church, he said: “Yes. We robbed the church. It was one Yinka that invited me to follow his gang to rob the church. I was very broke, so, when he assured me that the church’s security guard had mapped out a perfect blueprint on how to cart away over N18 million from the church, I could not resist the temptation.” He also exonerated the suspected female armourer who named him as the owner of the arms and ammunition found on her when she was arrested at Mile 2.
He said: “Yes, I gave her the arms and ammunition to transport for us to Koko. She did not know what was inside the bag as I warned her strictly not to open it.”

He said Maria is his girlfriend but did not know the nature of his job as he lied to her that he was a businessman, who always travelled across the globe. “Actually, I have many hotels rooms where I normally lodge especially in Apapa.” On the highest money he has ever made through robbery, he said the highest was N1.8 million. Earlier, Maria had told Daily Sun that Okon gave her a bag to convey to Koko.
She claimed she did not know the contents until she was arrested by the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), who handed her over to the police.

In her words: “Okon is my boyfriend. I met him in my auntie’s shop where I served food to customers. We met about one year ago. I did not know where he lives as we were always meeting in hotels.”
She said when Okon gave her the bag, he warned her not to open it, and as a sign of respect for him, she did not open it.

Recovered from the gang were two locally-made pistols, laptops and undisclosed sum of money.
However, the state police spokesman, Mr. Samuel Jinadu, said the force was seriously looking for Okon, who he described as ferocious and who has the penchant of killing his victims. He said Okon and his gang members including the female armourer, Maria would soon be charged to court for armed robbery and other related offences.

Posted: at 17-05-2011 09:40 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Deleologbo at 17-05-2011 09:50 PM (12 years ago)
we thank God for this, Police una try Okon if you reincarnate u will still suffer for this.
Posted: at 17-05-2011 09:50 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 17-05-2011 10:11 PM (12 years ago)
GOD catched them , stupid peoples , those are the peoples the lagos state govt supose to have hunted for and deported from the state, instead of the inocent beggers being victimised, those criminal boy should be flushed out and sent packing ,
Posted: at 17-05-2011 10:11 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 17-05-2011 10:12 PM (12 years ago)
GOD catched them , stupid peoples , those are the peoples the lagos state govt supose to have hunted for and deported from the state, instead of the inocent beggers being victimised, those criminal boy should be flushed out and sent packing ,
Posted: at 17-05-2011 10:12 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- kebella at 17-05-2011 10:14 PM (12 years ago)
ajanni .............what is peoples  Huh? Huh? Huh? shut up if yu dont no what to write

@poster thank for the info Cool Tongue

Posted: at 17-05-2011 10:14 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 17-05-2011 11:16 PM (12 years ago)
stupid and donkey head , whats so wrong in that?
Posted: at 17-05-2011 11:16 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- KINGJHOE at 18-05-2011 12:27 AM (12 years ago)
u should face trial
Posted: at 18-05-2011 12:27 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 18-05-2011 06:29 PM (12 years ago)
should face firing squad
Posted: at 18-05-2011 06:29 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- deboalabi262 at 18-05-2011 07:35 PM (12 years ago)
Noted and passed on...

Posted: at 18-05-2011 07:35 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 18-05-2011 09:49 PM (12 years ago)
alright my dear
Posted: at 18-05-2011 09:49 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- allbright at 27-09-2012 05:25 PM (11 years ago)
ok i don hear Grin
Posted: at 27-09-2012 05:25 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Boss347 at 27-09-2012 05:44 PM (11 years ago)
Da furk? How can u think of churches? Dayuum! God will forgive you. Just hope they keep you in jail for years. Ur a threat to the community.

Posted: at 27-09-2012 05:44 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming