Beat your wife again and go to jail, court tells trader

Date: 18-05-2011 4:03 am (12 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 18-05-2011 04:03 AM (12 years ago)

An Ebute Magistrates Court in Lagos on Tuesday compelled a trader, Lookman Elegbede, 43, to write an undertaking that he would desist from battering his wife or face imprisonment.
The magistrate, Tubosun Abolarinwa, compelled the trader to make the undertaking before striking out a charge of assault brought against him.
He scolded Elegbede for inflicting injury on his 34-year-old wife, Modirat, and warned that he would convict him any other time he assaulted her.
"Your wife lives under the same roof with you, yet you cannot amicably settle your differences. Why are you begging me now? Is it not nemesis that makes you to apologise? Before it came to this level, you should have settled it. If I go ahead to strike out the case, that will not be enough. You are going to write an undertaking that you will desist from beating this young woman; otherwise I will lock you up.
"If you are no more interested in the marriage, then take her to a customary court and divorce her rather than inflicting injuries on her. I am striking out the case because of the two children in the family," Mr Abolarinwa said.
The News Agency of Nigeria reports that Elegbede was arraigned on a three-count charge of assault, threat to life and failing to provide basic necessities for his family.
He, however, pleaded not guilty after the charge was read to him in Yoruba. He had claimed that he did not understand the charge when it was read to him in English by a court registrar.
The prosecutor, Corporal Emmanuel Ajayi, submitted that Elegbede wrote an undertaking in April at the Denton Police Station, Ebute Metta, to desist from beating Modirat, but he violated it.
Mr Ajayi said that the police would have charged him to court earlier but for pleas by family members.
"On May 12, the accused was arrested again after beating his wife to a state of coma; blood was rushing out of the lady's nose and mouth; this time, the police could not take it anymore.
"The accused inflicted a cut on the lady's face. Family members have attempted to settle the matter on several occasions but the accused refused, threatening to kill his wife," Ajayi said.
He said the assault occurred at No. 34B, Coast St., Ebute Metta-East.
The prosecutor, however, did not object to the striking out of the charge as prayed for by the defence counsel, Mr Akinyemi Gboromiro.
Gboromiro told the court that the families of the couple had decided to settle the matter out-of-court.
"I will personally make sure that the accused honours the undertaking and desists from beating his wife," he said.
The case was struck out after Elegbede's undertaking was submitted to the court by his counsel.

Posted: at 18-05-2011 04:03 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- giftmurphy at 18-05-2011 02:27 PM (12 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 18-05-2011 02:27 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- D9ja at 17-11-2011 09:19 PM (12 years ago)
make i pass
Posted: at 17-11-2011 09:19 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- giftmurphy at 18-11-2011 12:33 PM (12 years ago)
who hold u?
Posted: at 18-11-2011 12:33 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 22-11-2011 08:16 PM (12 years ago)
me
Posted: at 22-11-2011 08:16 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- giftmurphy at 22-11-2011 09:16 PM (12 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 22-11-2011 09:16 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- yvonneobas at 16-05-2012 05:59 PM (11 years ago)
I hate women beater
Posted: at 16-05-2012 05:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mizcollins1 at 19-05-2012 12:21 PM (11 years ago)
once can be fogivable!!...but on serveal ocassion's noo way!!!
Posted: at 19-05-2012 12:21 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 7-06-2012 06:24 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 7-06-2012 06:24 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- renztubz at 28-07-2012 03:16 PM (11 years ago)
Any woman does not deserve this. Any man should pay.

Posted: at 28-07-2012 03:16 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- forever17 at 29-07-2012 04:08 PM (11 years ago)
those who beat woman are not raised well with their mother. Just my opinion.

Posted: at 29-07-2012 04:08 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 1-08-2012 07:00 PM (11 years ago)
WELL SAID

Posted: at 1-08-2012 07:00 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 1-08-2012 07:00 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 1-08-2012 07:00 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dktotz at 3-08-2012 11:09 AM (11 years ago)
Woman or your wife should be loved. Make her your queen.

Posted: at 3-08-2012 11:09 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Treasure2 at 8-09-2012 04:35 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 8-09-2012 04:35 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sestay at 2-09-2015 08:02 PM (8 years ago)
it's not a crime
Posted: at 2-09-2015 08:02 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming