Eight People Killed As Police, Army Clash In Lagos State (Page 10)

Date: 25-05-2011 1:38 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 ... 7 8 9 [10] 11
- mariamajane at 30-05-2011 05:31 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kebella on 29-05-2011 09:33 PM
Quote from: ajanni on 29-05-2011 02:49 PM

abeg ur mouth stink lik street trash crap  Shocked shut up jare idiot

I have had enough of your foul mouth on NP. Look around you, do you see any notorious woman fighting everyday one person or the other on NP? What does that make you? Just a common street hooker, kellynobad. Just shut up your ashawo trap, wh*re.
Posted: at 30-05-2011 05:31 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Brasco at 30-05-2011 11:04 PM (12 years ago)
It’s hard to believe the ineptitude of the majority of the comments being posted on this matter. My goodness! What a crazy set of posters. Why can’t anyone see what the real problems are?? I never liked the cops and their antics, but it is dangerously ignorant to support the measures taken by the military personnel. Let me ask you all a question: If a student/banker got into an incident with soldier and subsequently stabbed or shot him to death, would you consider it reasonable for army to launch an attack on students/bankers at large, randomly killing members of the aforementioned set(s)?
What makes it even more pathetic is that the parties involved in this imbroglio are meant to be in charge of the nation’s security! Are you all unable to see that this event highlights the level of lawlessness in Nigeria?!! When the police (who are supposed to uphold the law) can be arbitrarily massacred by soldiers, can you not see the trouble that the country is in, already AND potentially? Not to be misunderstood, I AM NOT IN ANY WAY SUPPORTING THE POLICE. I just want us all to look at the big picture. It’s terribly wrong for a cop to open fire on ANYONE (whether soldier or civilian; pauper or millionaire) unless lives are clearly under threat. The police have been criminally opening fire on the citizenry for ages, and that in itself adequately illustrates the anarchistic and unruly nature of Naija.
But for the army to take on the constabulary as though they were a frat group trying to punish another...is extremely sad. It is ridiculous – that is another level of wow! What examples are being set and what messages are being passed on to the populace at large?? What message is being sent to the international community? What influence will this have on the youths? Already, the reactions seen on this page portray the unfortunate way in which young people think. I can squarely mention that this is not the first time that soldiers will attack policemen and behave as gangsters. Is that what should be considered reasonable?- an entire country operating in line with gang culture?? Do you really like that you are living in a country where anything can happen at any time and no one will have to pay for it?? Is it comforting to know that there is wrong-doing without consequence on such a large and official scale??
This is an independent sovereign state we are talking about (Nigeria), not a street in the Bronx or a really dingy section of an inner city. I am wondering why the president is not fretting about this. This incident is much more serious than it looks and its implications are more extensive than one would readily imagine. Independent of this fiasco, I can easily write a thesis on how the country’s legal framework is a joke and the poor human rights record we hold as a nation; and how the police force is mostly not there to help, but to oppress. But that is not redeemed by one force turning on another. It’s like a child with an abusive mother, cheering and clapping when he sees his father beating his mother: when you look deep into it, no one is really winning! It just shows that the family is seriously distressed and dysfunctional.
In addition, it’s not as if soldiers have a clean record in their ‘handling’ of the civilian. The policemen are WRONG. The soldiers are WRONG. The entire structure/system/layout is WRONG. If you think about all that a civilised society is supposed to encompass, you’d understand why we are a third-world country, in spite of our vast resources.
Posted: at 30-05-2011 11:04 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Brasco at 30-05-2011 11:18 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: prof96 on 25-05-2011 11:45 AM
Quote from: dirtykid on 25-05-2011 10:57 AM
Madness of the millennium, All this Nigerian forces are not well trained at all.. Imagine such a mess, and i bet after all this shooting and killing, they will go home free without persecution !! Country where lives are valueless  Sad Sad Sad Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

DK, i beg to disagree with you that we are not trained, i challenge you to show mw where a military persnonell shoot and kill someboby  not to talk of ppolicemen. We are very well trained in weapon handling and also the spirit of espirit d corp is well instilled in mil men.My pain is the innoccent lives that has been cut short and families put into ain yhat is needless

What are you saying?? I was there when the same 'respectable' military men, of whom you so loftily speak, raided the Ojuelegba police barracks a few years ago! What of the MANY cases of soldiers manhandling powerless civilians? Tell me - who else would have opened fire on the policemen?? Stop being silly, please. You soldiers act like you are above the law and superior to civilians (most of you). Have you ever seen a soldier (esp army officer) resolve a matter in a decent and civil manner?? It must always be gra gra. I would like to see how such a person channels his agression in an advanced country.
Posted: at 30-05-2011 11:18 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Brasco at 30-05-2011 11:33 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: prof96 on 25-05-2011 12:43 PM
Quote from: kinkino on 25-05-2011 12:38 PM
Quote from: kalsboy on 25-05-2011 12:37 PM
signs of ENDTIME

hehehehe...for police & soldiers

D two of una wan sleep for cell abi?

Listen to me you little phyuker.. you cannot come here to start threatening people, ok! This is an online community and you will not come here to stifle communication. People are free to say what they like and if it offends you, stay away from here. Look at you sef. I wonder what your rank is even. Because you don go NDA person nor go fit hear word again. What I want to know is what you can do by yourself, without the support of your mates. Walk around like you rule the world, but you are nothing - you are nobody. You are just a low-rankiing officer who is a lowlife and all you do is take orders from your many superiors. Na where civilians dey una dey get mouth. Even common recruit go dey threaten everybody. I pity you. If you talk any how on this forum, I will tear you apart..and show you how little you know, how little you're worth and how powerless you are. How many warfronts have you been to? Tell me. How many life-threatening situations have you been in? Take your time. Don't make me make you my personal business. A*#S
Posted: at 30-05-2011 11:33 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Brasco at 30-05-2011 11:48 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: omilaje on 26-05-2011 05:24 PM
Quote from: slimtimz on 25-05-2011 10:22 AM
The Nigerian Police should be discret in recruiting young officers. I'm sure the police corporal that shot the shouldier wasn't given the right orientation otherwise, he would have known when and when not to pull the triger. The diseased shouldier has his own fault for resisting arrest and also refuse to identify himself as a shouldier. Na wah for our law enforcement agencies.  

I think you are very much correct with your assessment. If Nigeria were a "proper" country, the assasinated soldier would be sitting behind the swedish curtain or/and pay fine for disobeying the police order to stop.

Nigeria police is bad, and the soldiers are not better. Somebody wrote somewhere that the forces are not properly trained, and I am afraid it is not just the forces only. The whole government apparatus is VERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRY rotten. Infact, the society generally is in rot. Leaders and followers are not better than each other. I hope we learn and that very fast to sanitize the whole edifice. Nigeria is a time bomb waiting to explode.

This for instance would never happen in a law abiding society. Soldiers have no business in law enforcement.
Ogunsanya said the suspected killers of a soldier on Sunday night at the Ibereko Barrack of the 242 Reconnaissance Battalion are in the custody of the Nigerian Army and that the killing of the soldier is being investigated.

Yours is about the most sensible comment I have seen. There have been a couple of others, but you are really on point
Posted: at 30-05-2011 11:48 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Brasco at 31-05-2011 07:33 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Josseyjessy on 31-05-2011 03:52 AM
There is lawlessness everywhere you care to look - from university cultism to area boys; from corrupt and inept police force that are constantly brutalising the civilians to power-drunk Army. The fault is in the thing itself, i.e., the government that cannot build credible and versatile institutions free from corruption when the government itself is an epitome of corruption and what a government should not be.

I feel u bruv. It's a systemic thing. Just as it is that the same blood flows throughout the body, supplying all living tissue with oxygen, nutrients and pertinent chemicals. If the blood is tainted, you can expect that all elements within that 'body' will be affected. Clearly, it's the minds of the people that are tainted, and if there is no serious reorientation, it'll be pretty unlikely to see things change for the better. There are always the few people that choose to do the right thing and are of a decorous disposition, but the majority defines the set, doesn't it?! Me still thinks that it's useful for each enlightened person (and by this I do not refer to education or formal training; just the state of being reasonable and sensible) to play their part and remain 'sane' regardless of the odds.
Posted: at 31-05-2011 07:33 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- prof96 at 31-05-2011 10:36 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Brasco on 30-05-2011 11:33 PM
signs of ENDTIME

Listen to me you little fcuker.. you cannot come here to start threatening people, ok! This is an online community and you will not come here to stifle communication. People are free to say what they like and if it offends you, stay away from here. Look at you sef. I wonder what your rank is even. Because you don go NDA person nor go fit hear word again. What I want to know is what you can do by yourself, without the support of your mates. Walk around like you rule the world, but you are nothing - you are nobody. You are just a low-rankiing officer who is a lowlife and all you do is take orders from your many superiors. Na where civilians dey una dey get mouth. Even common recruit go dey threaten everybody. I pity you. If you talk any how on this forum, I will tear you apart..and show you how little you know, how little you're worth and how powerless you are. How many warfronts have you been to? Tell me. How many life-threatening situations have you been in? Take your time. Don't make me make you my personal business. A*#S

I did not threathen anybody coz d ppl i wrote to are my friends buh dat apart, Am not a low life and i take orders as well as i give orders. 4 wars dias none dat Nigeria has taken part in dat av not been part off. I came here to make friends and ejoy myself and not to engage anybody let alone misfits. As 4 me beeing ur person biz, i say u re welcom
Posted: at 31-05-2011 10:36 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- prof96 at 31-05-2011 10:45 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Brasco on 30-05-2011 11:18 PM
Madness of the millennium, All this Nigerian forces are not well trained at all.. Imagine such a mess, and i bet after all this shooting and killing, they will go home free without persecution !! Country where lives are valueless  Sad Sad Sad Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

DK, i beg to disagree with you that we are not trained, i challenge you to show mw where a military persnonell shoot and kill someboby  not to talk of ppolicemen. We are very well trained in weapon handling and also the spirit of espirit d corp is well instilled in mil men.My pain is the innoccent lives that has been cut short and families put into ain yhat is needless

What are you saying?? I was there when the same 'respectable' military men, of whom you so loftily speak, raided the Ojuelegba police barracks a few years ago! What of the MANY cases of soldiers manhandling powerless civilians? Tell me - who else would have opened fire on the policemen?? Stop being silly, please. You soldiers act like you are above the law and superior to civilians (most of you). Have you ever seen a soldier (esp army officer) resolve a matter in a decent and civil manner?? It must always be gra gra. I would like to see how such a person channels his agression in an advanced country.

Buh u didnt state wat apened b4 they raided. Buh i stand to be corrected no soldier will eva shoot a policeman coz of any type of arguments. Be dat as it may i'll like to get into constructive dizcusion with u. I consider myself 2 big to start xchanging badmouthed words with u
Posted: at 31-05-2011 10:45 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- prof96 at 31-05-2011 10:52 AM (12 years ago)

Tot u had something better to say
Posted: at 31-05-2011 10:52 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Brasco at 31-05-2011 06:48 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: prof96 on 31-05-2011 10:36 AM
Quote from: Brasco on 30-05-2011 11:33 PM
signs of ENDTIME

Listen to me you little fcuker.. you cannot come here to start threatening people, ok! This is an online community and you will not come here to stifle communication. People are free to say what they like and if it offends you, stay away from here. Look at you sef. I wonder what your rank is even. Because you don go NDA person nor go fit hear word again. What I want to know is what you can do by yourself, without the support of your mates. Walk around like you rule the world, but you are nothing - you are nobody. You are just a low-rankiing officer who is a lowlife and all you do is take orders from your many superiors. Na where civilians dey una dey get mouth. Even common recruit go dey threaten everybody. I pity you. If you talk any how on this forum, I will tear you apart..and show you how little you know, how little you're worth and how powerless you are. How many warfronts have you been to? Tell me. How many life-threatening situations have you been in? Take your time. Don't make me make you my personal business. A*#S

I did not threathen anybody coz d ppl i wrote to are my friends buh dat apart, Am not a low life and i take orders as well as i give orders. 4 wars dias none dat Nigeria has taken part in dat av not been part off. I came here to make friends and ejoy myself and not to engage anybody let alone misfits. As 4 me beeing ur person biz, i say u re welcom

My apologies. I misunderstood the situation and was quick to judge. Thought u were being overbearing.
Posted: at 31-05-2011 06:48 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Brasco at 31-05-2011 07:13 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: prof96 on 31-05-2011 10:45 AM

Buh u didnt state wat apened b4 they raided. Buh i stand to be corrected no soldier will eva shoot a policeman coz of any type of arguments. Be dat as it may i'll like to get into constructive dizcusion with u. I consider myself 2 big to start xchanging badmouthed words with u

Concerning your post, the one to which I responded not so mildly, I didn't know you were merely having a banter with the others; I thought you were genuinely threatening them. That made me incandescent to the point of leaving such a harsh response (Once again I must apologise for that). I'm not the kind to get into arguments or into a pissing contest with anyone, but I detest oppression. But if we are to have a civil discussion about the matter at hand, I would suggest that you represent yourself: speak for yourself alone and not all soldiers. I do not know you, so you might be as disciplined and responsible as you claim - but that does not apply to every one of your colleagues.

For instance, I am a bodyguard, and I have done that for the past 5 years (in Hubei, China). I'm very good at what I do, which is why my client has refused to let me go. But that being said, I cannot vouch for other bodyguards, just because it's my profession. I understand the concept of espirit de corps you earlier mentioned, but that does not change the character that INDIVIDUAL people have. A lot of people are bad and uncultured, and joining the army does not make them better. I reacted to the first post (the one refuting claims that soldiers did this and that) because I know what soldiers can be like. Like I said earlier, you may be a stand up guy, but you cannot claim the same applies to your mates or your group as a whole.
Posted: at 31-05-2011 07:13 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- livingday at 1-06-2011 05:20 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Brasco on 31-05-2011 07:33 AM
Quote from: Josseyjessy on 31-05-2011 03:52 AM
There is lawlessness everywhere you care to look - from university cultism to area boys; from corrupt and inept police force that are constantly brutalising the civilians to power-drunk Army. The fault is in the thing itself, i.e., the government that cannot build credible and versatile institutions free from corruption when the government itself is an epitome of corruption and what a government should not be.

I feel u bruv. It's a systemic thing. Just as it is that the same blood flows throughout the body, supplying all living tissue with oxygen, nutrients and pertinent chemicals. If the blood is tainted, you can expect that all elements within that 'body' will be affected. Clearly, it's the minds of the people that are tainted, and if there is no serious reorientation, it'll be pretty unlikely to see things change for the better. There are always the few people that choose to do the right thing and are of a decorous disposition, but the majority defines the set, doesn't it?! Me still thinks that it's useful for each enlightened person (and by this I do not refer to education or formal training; just the state of being reasonable and sensible) to play their part and remain 'sane' regardless of the odds.

@bros josseyjessy & @ brasco,

I like reading intelligent comments like yours. Believe me Nigeria will eventually get there. What we have is greed seeking to over-power the will of the nation. This greed is only a clique and does not represent any majority. Europe, China and almost all developed economies have had to contend with such unpleasant human elements in any system of government. With you and I and every other patriots we can overcome any corrupt government fostered on us for the betterment of Nigerians. We can stand our grounds and say enough is enough to bad old ways of doing things, probe former leaders and hold current ones accountable.
Posted: at 1-06-2011 05:20 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- prof96 at 2-06-2011 01:15 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Brasco on 31-05-2011 07:13 PM

Concerning your post, the one to which I responded not so mildly, I didn't know you were merely having a banter with the others; I thought you were genuinely threatening them. That made me incandescent to the point of leaving such a harsh response (Once again I must apologise for that). I'm not the kind to get into arguments or into a pissing contest with anyone, but I detest oppression. But if we are to have a civil discussion about the matter at hand, I would suggest that you represent yourself: speak for yourself alone and not all soldiers. I do not know you, so you might be as disciplined and responsible as you claim - but that does not apply to every one of your colleagues.

For instance, I am a bodyguard, and I have done that for the past 5 years (in Hubei, China). I'm very good at what I do, which is why my client has refused to let me go. But that being said, I cannot vouch for other bodyguards, just because it's my profession. I understand the concept of espirit de corps you earlier mentioned, but that does not change the character that INDIVIDUAL people have. A lot of people are bad and uncultured, and joining the army does not make them better. I reacted to the first post (the one refuting claims that soldiers did this and that) because I know what soldiers can be like. Like I said earlier, you may be a stand up guy, but you cannot claim the same applies to your mates or your group as a whole.

Appologies accepted. I aunderstand datdia's always a judas in every system. Naija policemen are always harrassing soldiers though u will not know and i tell you somany of us hsa condemned the killings coz it could av ben anybody at dat scene.. All our famiy members are not forcemen,so we cannot be killing ppl like u said. All it will take is for our policemen to understand the spirit of espirit d' corp and almost all d problem will be a thing of d past.  Am not saying if i commit offence i shld not be arrested buh am saying i cannot be treated like a commoner.  How is china
Posted: at 2-06-2011 01:15 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Brasco at 4-06-2011 06:52 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: prof96 on  2-06-2011 01:15 PM
Quote from: Brasco on 31-05-2011 07:13 PM

Appologies accepted. I aunderstand datdia's always a judas in every system. Naija policemen are always harrassing soldiers though u will not know and i tell you somany of us hsa condemned the killings coz it could av ben anybody at dat scene.. All our famiy members are not forcemen,so we cannot be killing ppl like u said. All it will take is for our policemen to understand the spirit of espirit d' corp and almost all d problem will be a thing of d past.  Am not saying if i commit offence i shld not be arrested buh am saying i cannot be treated like a commoner.  How is china

My brother I cannot complain. I have been to a couple of countries and found that, at the end of the day, it's what you live for that matters. However, I won't like to live in Afghanistan or Yemen! China is a really large country (which I am sure you know) and life is what you make it. I am a bit challenged by the language, but the people I work with understand English (at least a bit) and I get on well.
Posted: at 4-06-2011 06:52 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- paulantony at 18-11-2011 08:04 PM (12 years ago)
make GOD help that country naija..why soldiers go take laws into their hand.
Posted: at 18-11-2011 08:04 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- cutesolly at 22-11-2011 12:02 AM (12 years ago)
the soldiers should flush all those men on black at the check point
Posted: at 22-11-2011 12:02 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- cadanre at 22-11-2011 12:05 PM (12 years ago)
Dis dogon turanchi wey ppl dey do sef!

Posted: at 22-11-2011 12:05 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- richi192 at 16-07-2012 02:48 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:48 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 20-07-2012 01:01 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 20-07-2012 01:01 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Treasure2 at 20-07-2012 01:05 PM (11 years ago)
Peeped
Posted: at 20-07-2012 01:05 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
1 ... 7 8 9 [10] 11

1. He is My Only Child - Mother of Abducted Nigerian Singer, Gnewzy Cries Out (Video)

2. Coastal Highway: Baale of Okun-Ajah Tackles Min. of Works, Umahi During Press Conference (VID)

3. Photos Of Woman Stabbed To Death By Her Husband Over Alleged Infidelity In Ekiti

4. Court Sends Man, Dickson Peter to Jail For Setting Landlord's House Ablaze in Ibadan

5. VIDEO: Mr Macaroni Reveals Why He No Longer Comment On Political Issues

6. Alleged Mastermind Of Abuja- Kaduna Train Attack Reportedly Arrested

7. Moment Neighbours Help Man Recover His Properties After Being Robbed By 2 S3x Workers He Took

8. VIDEO: Lagos State Government Uncovers Another Under-bridge 'Apartments' In Ikoyi

9. Pressure Mounts On EFCC As Ex-AGF Faults Yahaya Bello's ₦80bn Fraud Case

10. How Repentant Boko Haram Members Attack Police Station, Checkpoints In Borno

11. Rivers Crisis: Dele Momodu Reveals Cause Of Fight Between Wike & Gov. Fubara

12. Ex-Katsina Governor Ibrahim Shema Dumps PDP, Defects To APC

13. Tragedy As Two Beninese Well Diggers Die While Digging Well In Ogun

14. Sam Larry Reacts To Reports Of Him Threatening Davido, Giving Him Ultimatum To Apologize To Wiz

15. VIDEO: “I’ve Never Been Heartbroken But I’m Waiting For It” – Ruger Spills

16. VID: Multichoice Flies Phyna To Maldives For Vacation After Dragging Them Over Unpaid Prizes

17. Police Arrest Notorious Armed Robber Who Invaded Female Hostel In Niger State

18. 'The Term 'Odogwu' Is Not For Men Who Spilt Bills With Their Wives' - Nigerian Woman Says

19. IPOB Declares May 30 Sit-At-Home In South-East To Honour Biafran Heroes

20. 'Some Nigerians Don't Want Power Sector To Work Because Of Selfish Gains' – Minister, Adelabu

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

4. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

5. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

9. Davido Trolled As His Sidechick Calls Him 2 Minutes Man With Tiny Manhood

10. "Stop Demarketing Nigeria Because You Lost Election" - Omokri Blasts Peter Obi