Igbo groups disagree over secretary to the government position

Date: 28-05-2011 2:41 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 28-05-2011 02:41 PM (12 years ago)
Igbo groups are divided over who to support for the position of Secretary to the Federal Government (SGF) zoned to the Southeast geopolitical zone in the yet to be constituted new executive of President Goodluck Jonathan.

Some of the groups are vehemently opposed to the interest of some Igbo politicians in the position, as they argued that their representation of the zone in the past did not favour the Southeast.

National President of Conference of Igbo Youths, Henry Agbaeze yesterday took a swipe at another Igbo group, Olu Ndigbo over the latter's opposition to the candidacy of a former Minister for External Affairs, Ojo Maduekwe.

Mr Agbaeze, in an interview in Umuahia, strongly condemned Olu Ndigbo's claims that Mr Maduekwe is not fit for the job, describing the group as "amorphous and non-existing." "Igbo youths never met to compare our illustrious sons fit for appointment as SFG and no survey was at any time conducted to score them, as claimed by the spokesman of this faceless group," he said.

Mr Agbaeze further said it was unacceptable for any group to pitch Southeast politicians against one another, noting that both the former chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Okwesilieze Nwodo and Ben Obi, who have received Olu Ndigbo's support, are as qualified for the job as Mr Maduekwe.

"We will not accept any campaign of calumny against our illustrious sons by hungry political jobbers bent on exploiting this scenario for selfish reasons," Mr Agbaeze said.

It is Abia's turn

The Igbo youths leader however argued that since Mr Nwodo's younger brother, Nnia Nwodo, has already been pencilled down for a ministerial appointment and another ministerial slot reserved for Enugu State, where the Deputy Senate President also comes from, the SGF should go to another state in the zone in the spirit of equity and fairness.

He said Abia State should be considered for the position in view of the overwhelming support given to Mr Jonathan and PDP during the elections. He said Mr Maduekwe is thus, eminently qualified for the job, having worked for the PDP "when Obi was in ACN, and Nwodo was flexing muscles with his state governor." One of the elderly politicians in Abia State, Obewu Onwuka, also recently backed Mr Maduekwe, whom he said is experienced and has track records of success in public offices.

Posted: at 28-05-2011 02:41 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 28-05-2011 03:01 PM (12 years ago)
too long

Posted: at 28-05-2011 03:01 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- KINGJHOE at 28-05-2011 03:08 PM (12 years ago)
nawaoooooooooooo
Posted: at 28-05-2011 03:08 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- farsam400 at 28-05-2011 05:45 PM (12 years ago)
If you don't stop this stupid zone business now
Nigeria will find it difficult to progress and you
cannot blame anyone The whole world is moving
fast and would drag you along no longer.
Posted: at 28-05-2011 05:45 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 29-05-2011 01:58 PM (12 years ago)
look at them all , they will never air their view on any topic related to them positively, the first harlot to comment said this is too long, nonsense
Posted: at 29-05-2011 01:58 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Dafey at 30-05-2011 05:31 PM (12 years ago)
Ajanni abeg stop dis hallot & wh*re thing abeg u. U must must nt quarrel or call everyone names in d houx.
Posted: at 30-05-2011 05:31 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ezecyyyy at 1-06-2011 07:57 AM (12 years ago)
@ajanni   u are a big fool I tell u,U are not a man bastard
Posted: at 1-06-2011 07:57 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 1-06-2011 08:11 AM (12 years ago)
just the same way your father was a fool and bastard , idiot
Posted: at 1-06-2011 08:11 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master