I Met N100 Bn Debt On State Accounts - Rochas Okorochas (Imo State Governor)

Date: 07-06-2011 2:17 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 7-06-2011 02:17 PM (12 years ago)
OWERRI – Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State has raised alarm over the total debt profile of approximately N100 billion he inherited from the immediate past administration, including internal and external debts and outstanding contract bills.

Okorocha, who made the startling disclosure in a broadcast on radio and television, yesterday, however, affirmed that Imo remains one of the low income states.

”Imo State remains one of the low income states with about N2.2 billion monthly subvention and about N1.9 billion monthly wage bill, which explains why previous administrations have constantly engaged in endless borrowing and passes the bulk of responsibility to future governments,” Okorocha said.

He promised that he will not embark on what he termed “the old tradition of casting blames” but will take responsibility.

He said: ”The good news is that despite the ugly financial situation, I still consider Imo State the richest state in Nigeria; richest in human resources endowed with extra-ordinary intelligence which is far more than our debt profile. This we shall explore to build the Imo State of our collective dream and aspirations.”

While saying that the wage bill of public servants is N1.9 billion monthly with an enrollment of 13,000 workers, the Governor equally said that with the inclusion of 10,000 new jobs, the wage bill will increase to more than the N2.2 billion monthly subvention.

”With the approval of N18,000 minimum wage by the out-going administration, the wage bill will be about just twice the total income of the state,” Okorocha said.

He promised to review the civil service structure with a view to getting everyone to work, stressing that there will be no room for laziness while professionalism will be respected.

Okorocha directed the immediate suspension of the 10,000 jobs created by Ikedi Ohakim, while government will, in line with its commitment to job creation, review the situation.

He said: ”We shall continue and complete all on-going projects in the state. We shall ensure that all contractors complete their projects. There shall be no sacred cow. A committee has already been set up headed by the Deputy Governor to look into all on-going and abandoned projects.”

Continuing, the Governor announced the immediate suspension of the Acting Vice Chancellor of Evan Ewerem University, Owerri, as well as approved the immediate change of name to Imo State University.

Posted: at 7-06-2011 02:17 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bomsiluv at 7-06-2011 02:44 PM (12 years ago)
I hear
Posted: at 7-06-2011 02:44 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- annkezs at 7-06-2011 04:59 PM (12 years ago)
Weldone okorocha
Posted: at 7-06-2011 04:59 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- divineproject at 7-06-2011 05:44 PM (12 years ago)
May God help you and the good people of Imo state.........amen

Posted: at 7-06-2011 05:44 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Ortopazz at 13-06-2011 02:09 AM (12 years ago)
catch the thief that made it so
Posted: at 13-06-2011 02:09 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ortopazz at 13-06-2011 02:10 AM (12 years ago)
and punish them
Posted: at 13-06-2011 02:10 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ortopazz at 13-06-2011 02:10 AM (12 years ago)
wella
Posted: at 13-06-2011 02:10 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- KINGJHOE at 13-06-2011 02:17 AM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 13-06-2011 02:17 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chi-God at 21-07-2011 01:41 PM (12 years ago)
abeg send that thief to life imprisonment. Make him pay for it
Posted: at 21-07-2011 01:41 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- shaoyang at 21-07-2011 01:56 PM (12 years ago)
Rochas don't just discover the debt & do nth about it... that thief (Ikedi Ohakim) must be probed & he will provide a comprehensive result of how he accumulated such a debt & in what way the money have been useful to the State...... else he should be remanded in prison till he pay every dime in that money....God bless u & give u the wisdom to lead Imo to the promise land... there is no other place we call home & above all we have faith that our crave for a Moses has been finaly answered.... ur words are very encouraging .. thank U Smiley
Posted: at 21-07-2011 01:56 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 21-07-2011 02:02 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: shaoyang on 21-07-2011 01:56 PM
Rochas don't just discover the debt & do nth about it... that thief (Ikedi Ohakim) must be probed & he will provide a comprehensive result of how he accumulated such a debt & in what way the money have been useful to the State...... else he should be remanded in prison till he pay every dime in that money....God bless u & give u the wisdom to lead Imo to the promise land... there is no other place we call home & above all we have faith that our crave for a Moses has been finaly answered.... ur words are very encouraging .. thank U Smiley

I havent heard about him since May 29, 2011, where is here now?

Posted: at 21-07-2011 02:02 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- shaoyang at 21-07-2011 06:13 PM (12 years ago)
Who knows he must have disappeard like that my immidaite thief brother Achike Udenwa but Rochas being a big fish in the river knows how to handle his own case.... as he meet this huge amount of debt let him probe that Ohakim wherever he is he should come & answer for that money or risk arrest anywhere he is under the sun Angry they need to be taught a lesson so whenever they assume a public office they will be careful not to mess around....... didn't you see how China is handling their own case? i like their way die ( no nonsense ppl they don't send whosoever u may be once a dime get missing from ur regime they are sending that person to firing squad at once no bargaining)
Posted: at 21-07-2011 06:13 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kokofreak at 29-07-2011 06:19 AM (12 years ago)
GOD will help you ROCHAS.
Posted: at 29-07-2011 06:19 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kokofreak at 29-07-2011 12:29 PM (12 years ago)
am coming to meet you in owerri soon
Posted: at 29-07-2011 12:29 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Ifodia at 29-07-2011 04:14 PM (12 years ago)
Good for him, d state and Nigeria in general.
Posted: at 29-07-2011 04:14 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- cadanre at 19-09-2011 09:31 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: shaoyang on 21-07-2011 01:56 PM

May be he stole the money and gave it to northern leaders or else northern leaders makes him to steal the money. Abi?

Posted: at 19-09-2011 09:31 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- martbigboy at 5-10-2011 05:53 PM (12 years ago)
OK OOOOO,WE HEAR,SO HOW WE GO DO AM NA!!!
Posted: at 5-10-2011 05:53 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mankind101 at 9-01-2012 02:21 PM (12 years ago)
IT IS NOT SUPRISING,  AFTER ALL, NO PAST  ADDMINISTRATIONS  HAS EVER BEEN PROBBED,  NOTE,  GOV. OKOROCHA THAT WHAT IS HAPPENING
IN NIGERIA  EN RELATION TO NIGER DELTA CASE AS WHERE THE OIL  IS  BEING PRODUCED  BUT UNDEVELOPED, INSTED  ABUJA=====
THIS IS THE SAME, IN THE CASE OF IMO. THE LOCAL GOVTS  AREAS WHERE THE BULKS OF THE REVENUES TO IMO GOVT. WERE COMING FROM LIKE
OHAJI/ EGBEMA &  OGUTA L.G.AS, NO GOOD ROADS FROM  OHAJI TO= AGWA,  FROM AGWA TO= EGBEMA , FROM  IZOMBE TO= AGWA, FROM AGWA TO=  IRRETE, FROM OGBAKU TO= EGBEMA VIA AGWA, THERE IS NO GOOD WATER, HOSPITAL, ELECTRICITY & OTHER GOVT PRESENCES EN THESE AREAS
YET THE PAST ADDIMINSTRATION ENHERITED 100BL. OK . WE PRAY THAT WE DONT HAVE A SIMILAR BOKO HARAM IN IMO OKOROCHA SHOULD TAKE NOTE
Posted: at 9-01-2012 02:21 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mankind101 at 9-01-2012 02:30 PM (12 years ago)
WHERE IS IKEDI OHAKIM NOW?  IS HE EN SOUTH AFRICA  ENJOYING HIS  WEALTH OF 5 STAR HOTELS  YET IMO  ENHERITED IOOBILL
PLEASE HE SHOULD BE ARRESTED & FACE EXECUCTION  EN AMA JK
Posted: at 9-01-2012 02:30 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 5-05-2012 01:29 PM (11 years ago)
I C

Posted: at 5-05-2012 01:29 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero