Frustrated man cuts off manhood with razor blade

Date: 08-06-2011 7:16 am (12 years ago) | Author: WhoBdat
- at 8-06-2011 07:16 AM (12 years ago)
Mr. Jamiu Sikiru, a middle-aged resident of Ijebu-Ode chops off his penis in a bid to commit suicide, reports the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)

A middle-aged man, Mr Jamiu Sikiru, who attempted to commit suicide by cutting off his penis with a razor blade at Ijebu-Ode in Ogun, has regained consciousness.

Sikiru, who spoke with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on his sick bed at the Ogun State Hospital, Ijebu-Ode yesterday, said frustration made him to carry out the act, explaining that he made several attempts to kill himself, "due to frustration and depression’’.

Sikiru had, on June 3, at the popular Oyingbo Street in the commercial area of the town, cut off his penis with a razor blade in broad daylight. He was later rushed to hospital in a pool of his own blood by sympathisers.

He said: "On my way from Lagos sometime ago, I picked a car borris from the road side in order to use it to poison myself due to frustration, but a friend, who later saw the object, told me that it was not borris that I was holding but rather a bullet.

"It was then I decided to do away with it because I was afraid that I could be arrested if the police found out that I was keeping a bullet.

"On a Friday after the incident, while I was returning from where I went to dispose of the bullet, I saw a police vehicle coming in my direction.

"And I thought it was me they were coming to arrest because of the bullet I went to dispose of. Immediately I saw the police, I decided to commit suicide by cutting my male organ with blade because I don’t want to be arrested.

"That was the last thing I remembered before I woke up in the hospital. What I need now is prayers for forgiveness for attempting to kill myself."

Asked about his family, Sikiru said he lost his parents a few years back.

The Chief Medical Director (CMD) of the hospital, Dr Wellington Ogunsanya, said Sikiru would be referred to a psychiatric hospital when he fully regained his strength.

Ogunsanya explained that Sikiru was responding to treatment and that there was a symptom of depression in him.

Ogunsanya said: "I will say he is stable physically but mentally I don’t think he is stable yet. There is symptom of depression in him.

"We are hoping that by the time his wound is healed, we will discharge him to his family and advise him to seek psychiatric evaluation.

"Although we are managing him for his depression by giving him anti-depressant, but he still needs expert evaluation.

The CMD,said that none of Sikiru’s relations had come to visit him.

According to Ogunsanya, hospital workers are assisting Sikiru with money to buy drugs and food.

Posted: at 8-06-2011 07:16 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- onyimau20 at 8-06-2011 08:05 AM (12 years ago)
Abeg i no fit shout..
Posted: at 8-06-2011 08:05 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kerryniyi at 8-06-2011 08:20 AM (12 years ago)
Pathetic
Posted: at 8-06-2011 08:20 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bomsiluv at 8-06-2011 08:23 AM (12 years ago)
I don hear
Posted: at 8-06-2011 08:23 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- boye143 at 14-11-2011 09:52 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: onyimau20 on  8-06-2011 08:05 AM
Abeg i no fit shout..
Na wa oo  Huh? Huh? Huh?  Insane!!!
Posted: at 14-11-2011 09:52 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 21-08-2015 02:49 PM (8 years ago)
Ode
Posted: at 21-08-2015 02:49 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 2-09-2015 10:20 PM (8 years ago)
Like serious?
Posted: at 2-09-2015 10:20 PM (8 years ago) | Hero