NIGERIANS HAVE POOR READING CULTURE?

Date: 17-07-2011 1:37 pm (12 years ago) | Author: chris onyebuchi
- at 17-07-2011 01:37 PM (12 years ago)
It's bad, worrisome, absurd, shameful, and degrading to see and read here always 'too long, text' and all such 4 me, irresponsible statements about long postings here on NP. Many here are Made-in-Nigeria students-, educateds and the so-called Naija future. Most postings are not even more than one A4 page.

Why do Nigerians lack reading culture? Do you think poor reading culture can do any good in Nigeria and for Nigerians?

Do we have to believe one American writer who said: if you want to hide something from a black man, hide it inside a book? That they hardly go deep outside their professional books to get more facts, knowledge, information, etc.

What do u think?

Posted: at 17-07-2011 01:37 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 17-07-2011 01:42 PM (12 years ago)
There is a difference in reading a long text with full of information than reading a long text with nothing to make out of it.Some so called writters are a big flop..............filling pages with with no concept  Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 17-07-2011 01:42 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sobeit at 17-07-2011 02:46 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: onyiis on 17-07-2011 01:42 PM
There is a difference in reading a long text with full of information than reading a long text with nothing to make out of it.Some so called writters are a big flop..............filling pages with with no concept  Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 17-07-2011 02:46 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 17-07-2011 02:59 PM (12 years ago)
heheheeeeeeeee !!

Posted: at 17-07-2011 02:59 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- wandepope at 17-07-2011 03:39 PM (12 years ago)
they dont go deep outside their  professional books huh?...i think the problem is not the way you think it is.PEOPLE ARE READY TO READ A NOVEL OF OVER 3000 PAGES OF SEX than AN A4 OF PROFESSIONAL TIPS.so you see it all boils down to the desire of the reader and not neccessrily his reading culture
Posted: at 17-07-2011 03:39 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kenolis at 17-07-2011 03:51 PM (12 years ago)
i dey read
Posted: at 17-07-2011 03:51 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- calvin2b1000 at 17-07-2011 05:34 PM (12 years ago)
fillin up A5 or B4 does'nt really matter,at times hand-full of bombastic write ups,clumsy jerks that at the end u will find out dat the writer was just scmolesting around wit lot of crappy stories.

Posted: at 17-07-2011 05:34 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- FlyMamacita at 17-07-2011 09:44 PM (12 years ago)
 Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 17-07-2011 09:44 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kenolis at 18-07-2011 12:25 AM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 18-07-2011 12:25 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- kebella at 18-07-2011 07:39 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: calvin2b1000 on 17-07-2011 05:34 PM
fillin up A5 or B4 does'nt really matter,at times hand-full of bombastic write ups,clumsy jerks that at the end u will find out dat the writer was just scmolesting around wit lot of crappy stories.

Grin Grin

Posted: at 18-07-2011 07:39 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Steelamazon at 18-07-2011 01:04 PM (12 years ago)
But even wen d write-up is meaningful, informative, n filled wit 'concept', ppl still don't read it. They'd rather spend their precious time on crap lyk adult magazines, n senseless things one can ever think of. Its quite pathetic, n 2 think our future is well secured?

Posted: at 18-07-2011 01:04 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Steelamazon at 18-07-2011 01:12 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: igbonnanna on 17-07-2011 01:37 PM
It's bad, worrisome, absurd, shameful, and degrading to see and read here always 'too long, text' and all such 4 me, irresponsible statements about long postings here on NP. Many here are Made-in-Nigeria students-, educateds and the so-called Naija future. Most postings are not even more than one A4 page.

Why do Nigerians lack reading culture? Do you think poor reading culture can do any good in Nigeria and for Nigerians?

Do we have to believe one American writer who said: if you want to hide something from a black man, hide it inside a book? That they hardly go deep outside their professional books to get more facts, knowledge, information, etc.

What do u think?
Its not just a 'Nigerian' poblem, its happens everywhere. Even in some countries in America, ppl are being begged 2 go 2 school, why? Cos, they don't want 2 read. So, its a global problem, n unless we do something abt it, its gonna cripple us.

Posted: at 18-07-2011 01:12 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mimibre at 18-07-2011 01:18 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Steelamazon on 18-07-2011 01:04 PM
But even wen d write-up is meaningful, informative, n filled wit 'concept', ppl still don't read it. They'd rather spend their precious time on crap lyk adult magazines, n senseless things one can ever think of. Its quite pathetic, n 2 think our future is well secured?
rite!
Posted: at 18-07-2011 01:18 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mimibre at 18-07-2011 01:22 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Steelamazon on 18-07-2011 01:12 PM
Quote from: igbonnanna on 17-07-2011 01:37 PM

What do u think?
Its not just a 'Nigerian' poblem, its happens everywhere. Even in some countries in America, ppl are being begged 2 go 2 school, why? Cos, they don't want 2 read. So, its a global problem, n unless we do something abt it, its gonna cripple us.
true talk.
Posted: at 18-07-2011 01:22 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 18-07-2011 02:23 PM (12 years ago)
Do not make a general statement. Try to be specific postwise.  In this forum, some people do copy and paste to a boring, uninteresting and uneducative extent. Have got my samples.  Np is for fun, not a lecture theatre....

Posted: at 18-07-2011 02:23 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- kenolis at 20-07-2011 06:49 AM (12 years ago)
am reading without commenting
Posted: at 20-07-2011 06:49 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- maryclaret at 20-07-2011 03:32 PM (12 years ago)
In this case, I would have to disagree with you when you say that it's a Naija thing. It all has to do with the computer age. The young generation is growing up in the world of technological advances esp in the computer world. We're now used to reading brief texts or summaries. It's sad yes. However, I wouldn't label it a Nigerian thing. It's more or less a global thing. Our brains are lazier in reading long texts, so we end up either skimming through or abandoning it altogether. Happens all over the world, esp in well-developed countries that are very technologically savvy.

Posted: at 20-07-2011 03:32 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 26-08-2012 10:19 AM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-08-2012 10:19 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero