Shakara – A Naija Babe’s M.O.

Date: 20-07-2011 5:01 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Darky
- at 20-07-2011 05:01 PM (12 years ago)
“To ba b’oni sakara pade | Pasan to ma fi na e oje l’o nje | Kini won se npe o | Shakara oloje ni”. Those are the lyrics to one of my favorite Fela songs “Shakara Oloje.” Of course I’d like that song seeing that I dey feel where Fela dey come from… esp the verse about the girl doing Shakara. What is shakara some might ask? Well shakara is the act of faking the deal. Acting like you don’t want when you actually do. Pretty much fronting, as our yankee people would say. These days it’s commonly used in the chasing phase of a relationships… esp with Naija babes. Ok… enough definition… Make I enter the main thing.
Naija babes and shakara. Na wa ooo. Sometimes it’s as if dem born Naija babes, come give them “Shakara” as middle name. It’s like their standard Modus Operandi(M.O.). Except if they see Dbanj, Denzel, or someone like that, then all that flies out of the window. But for the masses like us(guys), we have to put up with the Shakara to get anywhere with a naija babe.
To my guys, have you ever tried to approach to naija babe, and she sizes you from head to toe, squeezes her face, looks at you in disgust, and then replies “Yes, Can I help you?”… Kai!! Liver failure sets in immediately… Wetin man fit do after that kind of response? It’s like all the air just escaped from your lungs. At this point, any reasonable guy would know that the babe doesn’t like him or is not feeling his P, so he’ll respect himself, say what he has to say, and try to forget that ever happened… until her friend tells you that she’s actually feeling you – “you know now… babes have to form small.”
Ok… no wahala… let’s try again. This time you decide to call her (as recommended by the friend). You’re lucky if you’re able to squeeze 2 mins of conversation from the babe. She’s even carrying on another conversation with her friend in the background and all your questions are answered with one word answers. “So What’s up now? How are you?” Response - ”Fine”….”What do you do?” – “Work”… “So the wedding was great yesterday, right?” – “Yes.” You might even try to make her give you more than one word answer so you ask “So tell me about yourself?” Response -”I don’t know… What do you want to know?” … and we’re back to square one. At this point, boys don begin vex small… What’s the babe feeling like sef? You report back to her friend, and tell her that the babe shakara too much abeg. Of course her friend convinces you one more time… “The babe is feeling you man… she was just telling me about you yesterday sef. She’s just nervous that’s why she’s acting like that.”
Toh`.. no yawa. One last try. You hit the babe up again, and immediately ask her out on a date. After she’s told you how busy she is on saturday afternoon, friday night, thursday night, and saturday night, you’re finally able to get a sunday evening appointment. You go out on the date, and the babe is forming the whole time… texting someone every 10 mins, giving you the standard one word answers, not laughing at your “dry” jokes that all other babes laugh at… I mean the babe even ordered one expensive meal and only ate 2 spoons… Chei!!. Which kind forming be this one now? Nothing seems to be going well. At this point, you’re convinced beyond all reasonable doubt that the babe not only is not feeling you, but actually finds you quite disgusting for some reason. You vex for her friend for playing you, and lying to you, delete the girl’s number and continue about your life. That one don end… or has it?
One random day about 4 days later, your phone rings, and you look at the phone. The babe is actually calling you… “Ah ah… maybe it’s a mistake, or maybe she’s calling to ask for a favor.” When you answer the phone, the babe is actually talking and creating a conversation, and tells you that forgot about her abi… some even go as far as asking you out on a date sef. Na wa o. At this point, omo boyz are either not interested anymore, or they jump on the opportunity and it’s smooth sailing from then on out.
So my question to Naija babes is: Why all the shakara? It makes it difficult for guys to differentiate if the babe is fronting or she really doesn’t like us. Awon boyz… which one be your limit? I know for me after the first phone conversation, I’ll rake for the babe’s friend and end it there. Me I don’t like insult abeg. Let’s hear it… Babes, Guys, what’s your take on Shakara?

Posted: at 20-07-2011 05:01 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- waco at 21-07-2011 08:17 AM (12 years ago)
nonsense

Posted: at 21-07-2011 08:17 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- annkezs at 21-07-2011 12:23 PM (12 years ago)
real nonsense
Posted: at 21-07-2011 12:23 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ronky at 21-07-2011 12:50 PM (12 years ago)
mega nonsense
Posted: at 21-07-2011 12:50 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- gucciberry at 21-07-2011 05:53 PM (12 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 21-07-2011 05:53 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- cadanre at 21-07-2011 08:07 PM (12 years ago)
Can I read this?

Posted: at 21-07-2011 08:07 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- kebella at 21-07-2011 08:11 PM (12 years ago)
beautiful nonsense

Posted: at 21-07-2011 08:11 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Steelamazon at 21-07-2011 11:02 PM (12 years ago)
Poster eh, 'shakara' or wateva u call it is one of d things dat brings out d beauty of a woman. If a girl falls very easily 4 u just at d first approach, u won't value her dat much, bt if it really took u sth b4 u got 2 her bcos of d 'shakara' she dispalyed, i bet u'll really value her. So, i don't see any problem wit it. Its only appalling dat most girls these days, over-do it.

Posted: at 21-07-2011 11:02 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 21-07-2011 11:47 PM (12 years ago)
What a PDS post..... ie.  Plain Dump and Stupid

Posted: at 21-07-2011 11:47 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Bazemaster at 21-07-2011 11:52 PM (12 years ago)
poster u try. Even ugly ones dey 'form' pass.

Posted: at 21-07-2011 11:52 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- drnoel at 22-07-2011 06:29 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Bazemaster on 21-07-2011 11:52 PM

na their way, but even the fine ones no better pass

Posted: at 22-07-2011 06:29 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mallorca at 22-07-2011 11:12 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Bazemaster on 21-07-2011 11:52 PM

Posted: at 22-07-2011 11:12 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- oluwaseyi4 at 14-09-2011 12:28 PM (12 years ago)
poster keep it up
Posted: at 14-09-2011 12:28 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- drnoel at 25-09-2011 11:43 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Steelamazon on 21-07-2011 11:02 PM
Poster eh, 'shakara' or wateva u call it is one of d things dat brings out d beauty of a woman. If a girl falls very easily 4 u just at d first approach, u won't value her dat much, bt if it really took u sth b4 u got 2 her bcos of d 'shakara' she dispalyed, i bet u'll really value her. So, i don't see any problem wit it. Its only appalling dat most girls these days, over-do it.

na lie, that is not true

Posted: at 25-09-2011 11:43 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mallorca at 25-09-2011 02:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ronky on 21-07-2011 12:50 PM
mega nonsense

Posted: at 25-09-2011 02:03 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- escapedprince at 25-09-2011 02:53 PM (12 years ago)
 welldone poster,you sabi them jare Grin
Posted: at 25-09-2011 02:53 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maryclaret at 25-09-2011 04:58 PM (12 years ago)
LOL. There is nothing in this world that someone will do that people will not talk. If she does shakara, she is feeling herself too much. If she doesn't do shakara, she appears as "cheap" and desperate. ODIKWA EGWU OOOO. NDE MADU!

Posted: at 25-09-2011 04:58 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- katung44 at 5-10-2011 11:42 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Steelamazon on 21-07-2011 11:02 PM
Funny how you seem to contradict yourself here. Forgive me for being blunt, but Most Nigerian women do not when they have stepped across the fine line between fashionably permitted 'Shakara and Over doing it. Shakara or not, why does it always require a man spending money as well as time? Fine, waste a man's time is not as bad as wasting both time and money and having him loose both ways when you end up telling him you did not really want him. "shakara' or not will not change the fact that at the end of the day a die hard player's agenda does not change. If he wants to sleep with you, all he needs to do is have the patience of a Tiger on the prowl and the end of the day all the 'Shakara' finally ends up with you giving up what you were desperately protecting. 'Shakara' does not guarantee you anything other than the hollow satisfaction that you did not give in with a fight. You would still give in to the wrong guy if he were patient enough. I have no value for a woman who wastes time and money. Women just resort to the so-called Shakara to give themselves the illusion of the same kind of Power that Woman back in the 19th century had. For heaven's sake, this is the 21st Century. If the guy is sincere, your 'Shakara' may well drive him away and leave you vulnerable to a desperate guy would stalk you to the ends of the earth like a hungry tiger till he gets what he wants and believe me when I say that it does not concern matters of the heart. Tigers have no use for the bones of the animals that they eat after they have had their fill, Remember that!
Posted: at 5-10-2011 11:42 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming