Six years after the Lagos State University (LASU) increased its tuition fee from N250 to N25,000, another increment appears to be in the offing.
The proposed increment is to shore up the Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) of the 28-year old university and enhance the quality of its programmes.
Dean of Post-Graduate Studies Prof Babatunde Elemo, who spoke on behalf of the Acting Vice-Chancellor, Prof Ibiyemi Bello, said the proposed increment is inevitable.
Elemo said as a result of the university’s resolve to discontinue part-time programmes, which has been one of its sources of revenue, the school would have to come up with other revenue sources, one of which is the proposed increment.
The planned increment would be done with a human face, he added.
Posted: at 16-08-2011 06:10 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
maryclaret at 16-08-2011 08:51 AM (13 years ago) (f)
Nna men, by the time kids now get to college, it'll only be affordable for the rich...STRICTLY. It's like we're going back to the old days when education was only for the elite. It's not fair o.
Ada Mbaise
Posted: at 16-08-2011 08:51 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
yusufgiwa at 16-08-2011 03:09 PM (13 years ago) (m)
WHAT CAN WE DO NOW SINCE THIS IS THE ONLY LEGACY THE POOR. IT'S NOW STRICTLY FOR ELITE HUUUMM POOR MAN NO GET MOUTH FOR ANYTHING BARRISTER CAN YOU STILL SAYING WE ARE EQUAL B4 THE LAW?
Posted: at 16-08-2011 03:09 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
this is just a way of reducing the number of students in unilag, i mean there are other ways of generating revenue. i am very sure there are more expenses to cover after that 25k
Posted: at 16-08-2011 03:59 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie