Osondi Owendi

Date: 17-08-2011 6:19 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Aniema Akpabio
- at 17-08-2011 06:19 PM (12 years ago)
MC Loph (real name Nwozor Obiajulu Kenneth) is not new to the Nigerian music industry. Together with Flavour N’abania he thrilled Nigerians in the remake of Chief Stephen Osita Osadebe’s hit song ‘Osondi Owendi’. The Sociology and Anthropology graduate of University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN) who hails from Umunze Orumba South Local Govt Area, Anambra statem, is coming out with a new album titled ‘Ashawo Jam Ashawo’ in August 2011.

And today MC Loph sat down with Nollywoodgossip’s Live Online With Delia for an EXCLUSIVE interview. Excerpts:

Let’s get to know you?

My name is Nwozor Obiajulu Kenneth from Umunze Orumba South Local Govt Area, Anambra state, graduated from university of Nigeria Nsukka, BSc in Sociology and Anthropology.

When did you start Music?

Way back in my mother’s womb, music runs in my family, my father was a choir master before he died, so I grew up listening to all sorts of music, even though it was like a hobby at first.

MC Loph
MC Loph (real name Nwozor Obiajulu Kenneth) is not new to the Nigerian music industry. Together with Flavour N’abania he thrilled Nigerians in the remake of Chief Stephen Osita Osadebe’s hit song ‘Osondi Owendi’. The Sociology and Anthropology graduate of University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN) who hails from Umunze Orumba South Local Govt Area, Anambra statem, is coming out with a new album titled ‘Ashawo Jam Ashawo’ in August 2011.

And today MC Loph sat down with Nollywoodgossip’s Live Online With Delia for an EXCLUSIVE interview. Excerpts:

Let’s get to know you?

My name is Nwozor Obiajulu Kenneth from Umunze Orumba South Local Govt Area, Anambra state, graduated from university of Nigeria Nsukka, BSc in Sociology and Anthropology.

Way back in my mother’s womb, music runs in my family, my father was a choir master before he died, so I grew up listening to all sorts of music, even though it was like a hobby at first.

MC LophWhat were you doing before you got into music professionally?

When I graduated from school, I came to Lagos to search for a white collar job; it was difficult so I had to take a second choice which is my talent. With the help of my friends who encouraged me I decided to do music professionally in 2005, even though I didn’t plan it, because I started doing music way back as a hobby when it was not as lucrative as it is now, back then I played for free or collected peanuts as little as 1000 Naira 0r 500 Naira to play. Imagine!

MC Loph

Let’s get to know you?

When I graduated from school, I came to Lagos to search for a white collar job; it was difficult so I had to take a second choice which is my talent. With the help of my friends who encouraged me I decided to do music professionally in 2005, even though I didn’t plan it, because I started doing music way back as a hobby when it was not as lucrative as it is now, back then I played for free or collected peanuts as little as 1000 Naira 0r 500 Naira to play. Imagine!

Why did you decide to remix Osondi Owendi?

When I was young, I used to listen to a lot of highlife songs ranging from Chief Stephen Osita Osadebe to Oliver d’ Coque. I liked him [Osadebe] so much so when he died I decided to remix one of his songs as a tribute to him. I dedicated the track to him. I was supposed to do the song with his son before he died, so I now called my brother Flavour to take the hook.

Is that your first Single?

wooahhh! My first single? (Laughs)…that song is from my second album titled ‘Hands up’, I was signed under Eastside Records from 2007 to 2010. I have my first album titled ‘Wreckognize’ ft. Black Face, Nigga Raw, Sino, Lynxman, etc., the album is an18tracker album.

MC Loph

Let’s get to know you?

When I was young, I used to listen to a lot of highlife songs ranging from Chief Stephen Osita Osadebe to Oliver d’ Coque. I liked him [Osadebe] so much so when he died I decided to remix one of his songs as a tribute to him. I dedicated the track to him. I was supposed to do the song with his son before he died, so I now called my brother Flavour to take the hook.

wooahhh! My first single? (Laughs)…that song is from my second album titled ‘Hands up’, I was signed under Eastside Records from 2007 to 2010. I have my first album titled ‘Wreckognize’ ft. Black Face, Nigga Raw, Sino, Lynxman, etc., the album is an18tracker album.

MC LophHow was it like collaborating with Flavour Nabania?

Collaborating with Flavour is just like us doing our usual thing. I grew up in Enugu, in the same neighborhood as him, so it’s an everyday activity. He is my younger brother; I knew him and watched him blew to become a big star, he is an artist I have regards for, because of his voice, Flavour is just a talent no doubt

You have another single called ‘Mama’, what inspired it?

Yes oooo…apart from God in heaven, if there is anybody I don’t play with it’s my mother. She is behind every of my successes in life, my schooling, my music career, I’m the only son so she doesn’t want me to be useless in life; she even had to send money for me to complete my studio works in my first album. I also did a song that is titled ‘Sweet Mother’ with Nigga Raw; it’s my way of showing appreciation for all she did for me.

MC Loph

Let’s get to know you?

Collaborating with Flavour is just like us doing our usual thing. I grew up in Enugu, in the same neighborhood as him, so it’s an everyday activity. He is my younger brother; I knew him and watched him blew to become a big star, he is an artist I have regards for, because of his voice, Flavour is just a talent no doubt

Yes oooo…apart from God in heaven, if there is anybody I don’t play with it’s my mother. She is behind every of my successes in life, my schooling, my music career, I’m the only son so she doesn’t want me to be useless in life; she even had to send money for me to complete my studio works in my first album. I also did a song that is titled ‘Sweet Mother’ with Nigga Raw; it’s my way of showing appreciation for all she did for me.

Are you doing any project music-wise any time soon?

Yes oooo. I’m working on my new album titled ‘Ashawo Jam Ashawo’, the album will feature a lot of Nigerian artists like Faze, Flavour, Nigga raw, Mjosh, Nero, Poliano, etc.

MC Loph

Let’s get to know you?

Are you doing any project music-wise any time soon?

Yes oooo. I’m working on my new album titled ‘Ashawo Jam Ashawo’, the album will feature a lot of Nigerian artists like Faze, Flavour, Nigga raw, Mjosh, Nero, Poliano, etc.

MC LophYou were in Germany earlier this year, was it for shows or holidays?

I came to Europe for shows; I was in Rome, Palmar, Padova, Bari, Torino, Bologna, Madrid, Malaga, Hamburg and Aachen.

Do you see any future in Nigeria for music artists?

If there is no future I don’t think I will be part of this. I’m happy I’m still around in the Industry. I could have fallen off like dandruff when I was searching for a white collar job; our videos and sounds have taken over, very soon Nigerian music artists will be dragging awards with their western counterparts.

What is your advice for the upcoming musicians?

My advice to the upcoming artists is that music is not for everybody, you have to have the talent before going into it. They have to be focused and prayerful, because every success comes from God. It’s not easy as an upcoming musician, but with determination and steadfastness, they’ll get there.

When is your new album dropping?

By God’s grace, my album will be out by August 2011.

Where can someone buy your music?

Yeah, my music is in Alaba and in stores in Nigeria.

Copied from Nollywoodgossip magazine, the eurooean based magazine.

Posted: at 17-08-2011 06:19 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- babyleslie at 17-08-2011 06:56 PM (12 years ago)
Hmmmm..e long o..I dey come..
Posted: at 17-08-2011 06:56 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- enc4life at 17-08-2011 08:06 PM (12 years ago)
2222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222 LONG
Posted: at 17-08-2011 08:06 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 1-09-2015 10:24 PM (8 years ago)
good combination
Posted: at 1-09-2015 10:24 PM (8 years ago) | Hero