Shop Sued For Refusing To Sell Wedding Dress To Lesbian Couple

Date: 21-08-2011 5:35 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 21-08-2011 05:35 PM (12 years ago)
Popular reality wedding shows such as “Say Yes to the Dress” depict how emotionally trying the purchase of a wedding dress can be, but Alix Genter found that out for herself when she was refused her dream dress from a New Jersey bridal boutique.

Genter, a graduate student at Rutgers University, was refused the sale of wedding dress at Here Comes the Bride, in Somers Point, N.J., after she says its manager found out she was a lesbian and insulted her about her pending “illegal action.”

Donna Saber, who owns and manages the small bridal boutique, had initially called Genter to follow up on the availability of a special light-weight version of the dress Genter had coveted from her shop.
Saber told ABCNews.com that when she prepared to call Genter about her order, she noticed that she had crossed out the word “groom” and put in the word “partner” instead.

“When I mentioned it to her, ‘Oh, I see you crossed out groom and put in partner,’ I got a barrage,” Saber said. “I literally got a barrage of ‘bigot’ and other really cruel words…I might be the kind of person that when you get at me, I might continue the fight, and maybe I shouldn’t say this, but I have my beliefs. I did say that I, to the best of my knowledge in the state of New Jersey, that we do operate in New Jersey. If she had remained calm, I would have been able to tell her, that it’s illegal, it’s an illegal action, that her marriage was illegal in NJ. ” Same sex marriage is illegal in New Jersey, but partnerships are recognized.
Saber told ABCNews.com that she mentioned the information on the form to Genter out of curiosity.

Bridal Shop Owner Refuses Sale of Dress to Lesbian Bride
Genter had her own account of what happened. “She said she wouldn’t work with me because I’m gay,” Genter told Philadelphia Daily News columnist Ronnie Polaneczky. “She also said that I came from a nice Jewish family, and it was a shame that I was gay. She said, ‘There’s right, and there’s wrong. And this is wrong.’”
This exchange of words ended with a refusal by Saber to sell Genter the Eden Bridals designer gown.

The bride-to-be had visited the shop last weekend with an entourage of six friends and family members to try on wedding dresses, and had even brought along muffins and champagne to enjoy during the happy occasion. As per tradition, her fiancée was not included in the visit to select a gown for the big day.

Saber said that the troubles first began when Gentry entered the Jersey Shore boutique with their goodies in tow.
“It was clear she was going to be a difficult customer,” Saber said, “It started when I told her no eating was allowed, the dresses are white, you know? Lots of stores do that. You know, I thought ‘I don’t want to deal with this one.’”

Genter is planning to wed her longtime partner in a civil union in New Jersey, where the couple lives, the Philadelphia Daily News reported. They plan to follow their legal union with a formal ceremony in New York and are planning a large celebration for 200 of their closest friends and family to be held next July.
Here Comes the Bride, whose advertising slogan is “Come find the perfect wedding gown for you,” sells about 1,000 dresses a year.
Saber says business hasn’t suffered because of the recent publicity.
“People have been coming in and literally throwing money at me,” she said.

Posted: at 21-08-2011 05:35 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- purityjustice at 21-08-2011 06:43 PM (12 years ago)
too long to read.
Posted: at 21-08-2011 06:43 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 21-08-2011 06:57 PM (12 years ago)
na wa........did i just hear that? really!! Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 21-08-2011 06:57 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- adanwanze12 at 21-08-2011 07:01 PM (12 years ago)
hmm its can be real and true,but the real thing is tht we"ve our traditions and values, as Nigerians. GOOD PEOPLE AND GREAT NATION
Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:01 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Paschaldon at 21-08-2011 07:05 PM (12 years ago)
Tank God derz ppl wit rite senses!
Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- derbi at 21-08-2011 07:06 PM (12 years ago)
i know blame them, shame go let them open their mouth say them be gay b4, if not that most leaders in the western country are highly possess,  so they passess some stupid laws that benefith the devil all in the name of human right shame...
Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:06 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Busyalleno at 21-08-2011 07:12 PM (12 years ago)
Couldnt really read it. Hard to comprehend.
Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:12 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 21-08-2011 07:13 PM (12 years ago)
Noted..

Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:13 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- babita at 21-08-2011 07:24 PM (12 years ago)
nawaaaa for this world ooo ok no problem this kind thing no good to hear we make una dey talk make i go shit this kind story dey make shit worry me.
Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:24 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- akposy19 at 21-08-2011 07:30 PM (12 years ago)
na   their  business
Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:30 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mimibre at 21-08-2011 07:38 PM (12 years ago)
hmmm! Gay people! Thank God they didn't give her d dress. Marry d same sex, Dats wat they do al d time.
Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:38 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- john2011_4life at 21-08-2011 07:47 PM (12 years ago)
that is grazy
Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- farabare at 21-08-2011 07:56 PM (12 years ago)
Na wa ooo
Posted: at 21-08-2011 07:56 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- thesamist at 21-08-2011 08:12 PM (12 years ago)
this is real madness
Posted: at 21-08-2011 08:12 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- umuyo101 at 21-08-2011 08:18 PM (12 years ago)
 SO WHAT? I UNDERSTAND THAT ANY POSTER DOES NOT LIKE LESBIANS. PLS LET THEM BE, ITS THEIR LIFE. DO U KNOW WHAT THEY PAST THROUGH IN THE PAST? THERE IS NOTHING WRONG IN IT. PLSSSSSSSSSSS LET THEM BE, EVERYBODY CANT BE LIKE U. POSTER PLSSSSSSSSS.
Posted: at 21-08-2011 08:18 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Youngstoriez at 21-08-2011 08:21 PM (12 years ago)
If to sey i get better weapon, i for don kill or cure all of them a long time ago!!!
Posted: at 21-08-2011 08:21 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- umuyo101 at 21-08-2011 08:22 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: thesamist on 21-08-2011 08:12 PM
this is real madness
THEM  AND YOUR PASTORS WHO IS HAVING SEX WITH CHURCH MEMBERS, WHO IS MAD? YOUR PASTORS IN D CHURCH ARE WORST. B4 U START JUDGING ANYONE, LOOK AT YOUR LIFE, ARE U HOLY?  
Posted: at 21-08-2011 08:22 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 21-08-2011 08:28 PM (12 years ago)
Don't see any crime in refusing to sell to any particular group of people.
Posted: at 21-08-2011 08:28 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- interpo77 at 21-08-2011 08:28 PM (12 years ago)
well, i see no real reasons fpr denying them the right to buy since they has their money
believe me  u, they will win the case call it in europe,allow them to enter ur shop and u can send them out with high prize since u dont like their Lesbianism,.......it irritate me seeing 2 babes kissing and and admiring each other but i cant act otherwise
Posted: at 21-08-2011 08:28 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fabbkidd at 21-08-2011 08:33 PM (12 years ago)
All this lesbians/gays them nor dey shame,i pity them
Posted: at 21-08-2011 08:33 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5