Why is Abortion such a hot potato? (Page 6)

Date: 25-08-2011 3:40 am (12 years ago) | Author: Franklyn Adam
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8
- Rosemerry at 28-08-2011 04:07 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: brendivas on 27-08-2011 04:12 PM
Quote from: danpatrick on 27-08-2011 06:03 AM
Quote from: smithengal on 26-08-2011 10:50 PM
Dear Gibson, you are a serious advocate. But look at it this way. Here is the World making a big deal about human rights. Is it simply about men's rights or human rights? If is human rights it includes women! If so, I submit that every human being has the right to own their own body. The argument against abortion seems to deny this basic premise of universal human right for the female gender. The woman has absolute right over her own body, including what grows or exists inside her body and whether to carry it to full gestation or not.

You are right to a limited extent. The woman being a God-made mother means that society has a right to expect her not to kill those children God has given her. If she doesn't want them then it is better not to have unprotected sex or better still abstain from it.

My dear Danpatrick, your argument is a typical masculine overlordship against women. Do you agree that a woman has the right to decide what she can and can't do with her body? Does the foetus not grow or exist inside a woman's body? Thus, has she no right to decide whether the foetus remains in her body? If so, she has supremacy over her body and whatever exists therein.
The important US Supreme Court decision in Roe v Wade to some extent supported that view when it ruled that a woman's right to terminate her pregnancy came under the freedom of personal choice in family matters and was protected by the 14th Amendment of the US Constitution. Therefore it is unethical to ban abortion because doing so denies freedom of choice to women and forces 'the unwilling to bear the unwanted'.

@ brendivas, well said.
Posted: at 28-08-2011 04:07 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- dukkieson at 28-08-2011 04:44 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Rosemerry on 28-08-2011 04:02 AM
Quote from: Allen-jones on 27-08-2011 01:10 PM
Quote from: jennypriceson on 26-08-2011 02:31 AM
Quote from: tundamartin on 26-08-2011 02:23 AM
Quote from: jennypriceson on 26-08-2011 02:00 AM
Quote from: livingday on 25-08-2011 03:43 AM
I say the defenceless child has most right follwed by that of the husband and the woman last

@ livingday, this position of yours is typical of man. Consider this contrary view: 1.Nearly all abortions take place in the first trimester, when a fetus cannot exist independent of the mother. As it is attached by the placenta and umbilical cord, its health is dependent on her health, and cannot be regarded as a separate entity as it cannot exist outside her womb. So, it has no independent existence as a human being to talk about 'rights'

@ jennypriceson, Since life begins at conception, abortion is akin to murder as it is the act of taking human life. Abortion is in direct defiance of the commonly accepted idea of the sanctity of human life

@ tundamartin, I refer to my comments above about the foetus not being human as it is entirely dependent on the woman's life. However consider this : The concept of personhood is different from the concept of human life. Human life occurs at conception, but fertilized eggs used for in vitro fertilization are also human lives and those not implanted are routinely thrown away. Is this murder, and if not, then how is abortion murder?

@jennypriceson,

On the basis of natural law written word of God, human life begins when the woman's egg is fertilised by a male sperm.
From that moment a unique life begins, independent of the life of the mother and father. The features that distinguish us from our parents - the colour of our eyes, the shape of our face - are all laid down in the genetic code that comes into existence then.
Each new life that begins at this point is not a potential human being but a human being with potential.On this basis I think abortion is an act of murder.

@ Allen-jones,

I think you have taken a thorougly religious stand but even the various faiths accept that if a foetus is seriously abnormal or that the child will be born seriously disabled that abortion would be permissible in this circumstance. Is that not life they are aborting regardless of presumed handicap?

The other point in this debate is that of gender equality. No woman can call herself free until she can choose consciously whether she will or will not be a mother. Women need free access to abortion in order to achieve full political, social, and economic equality with me. Women need the right to abortion in order to have the same freedoms as men. Women need the right to abortion to have full rights over their own bodies (including the right to decide whether or not to carry a foetus to birth) - without these rights they do not have the same moral status as men

@ Rosemerry,

I think most people will agree that human beings should take responsibility for the consequences of their actions.
Thus  abortion is wrong where the mother willingly had sex, not because of the moral status of the foetus but because of the responsibilities of the mother. Look at it this way, if you voluntarily act in a way that brings about the existence of a person or a foetus, then you have a responsibility to maintain the life of that person or foetus. Therefore, abortion is wrong where the mother had sex of her own free will. Sure a woman has the right to choose whether or not to become pregnant. She makes that choice before engaging in sex. To make that 'choice' after a pregnancy is underway, merely as a matter of birth control, is an immoral act.
Posted: at 28-08-2011 04:44 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- dukkieson at 28-08-2011 04:53 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Rosemerry on 28-08-2011 04:07 AM
Dear Gibson, you are a serious advocate. But look at it this way. Here is the World making a big deal about human rights. Is it simply about men's rights or human rights? If is human rights it includes women! If so, I submit that every human being has the right to own their own body. The argument against abortion seems to deny this basic premise of universal human right for the female gender. The woman has absolute right over her own body, including what grows or exists inside her body and whether to carry it to full gestation or not.

You are right to a limited extent. The woman being a God-made mother means that society has a right to expect her not to kill those children God has given her. If she doesn't want them then it is better not to have unprotected sex or better still abstain from it.

My dear Danpatrick, your argument is a typical masculine overlordship against women. Do you agree that a woman has the right to decide what she can and can't do with her body? Does the foetus not grow or exist inside a woman's body? Thus, has she no right to decide whether the foetus remains in her body? If so, she has supremacy over her body and whatever exists therein.
The important US Supreme Court decision in Roe v Wade to some extent supported that view when it ruled that a woman's right to terminate her pregnancy came under the freedom of personal choice in family matters and was protected by the 14th Amendment of the US Constitution. Therefore it is unethical to ban abortion because doing so denies freedom of choice to women and forces 'the unwilling to bear the unwanted'.

@ brendivas, well said.

@ brendivas & Rosemerry,

Regardless of the legal decision in Roe v Wade a person should accept the consequences of risks that she knowingly and willingly takes. A woman who willingly has segxwal intercourse knows that she takes the risk of bringing a foetus/moral person into existence. Therefore a woman who becomes pregnant should accept the pregnancy as the consequence of taking the risk involved in segxwal intercourse. That woman has a duty of care to the foetus/moral person she has willingly brought about through sex and should allow the resulting foetus/moral person to be born. Therefore she should not abort the foetus/moral person.

Posted: at 28-08-2011 04:53 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- livingday at 28-08-2011 05:02 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dukkieson on 28-08-2011 04:44 AM
Quote from: Rosemerry on 28-08-2011 04:02 AM
Quote from: Allen-jones on 27-08-2011 01:10 PM
Quote from: jennypriceson on 26-08-2011 02:31 AM
Quote from: tundamartin on 26-08-2011 02:23 AM
Quote from: jennypriceson on 26-08-2011 02:00 AM
Quote from: livingday on 25-08-2011 03:43 AM
I say the defenceless child has most right follwed by that of the husband and the woman last

@ livingday, this position of yours is typical of man. Consider this contrary view: 1.Nearly all abortions take place in the first trimester, when a fetus cannot exist independent of the mother. As it is attached by the placenta and umbilical cord, its health is dependent on her health, and cannot be regarded as a separate entity as it cannot exist outside her womb. So, it has no independent existence as a human being to talk about 'rights'

@ jennypriceson, Since life begins at conception, abortion is akin to murder as it is the act of taking human life. Abortion is in direct defiance of the commonly accepted idea of the sanctity of human life

@ tundamartin, I refer to my comments above about the foetus not being human as it is entirely dependent on the woman's life. However consider this : The concept of personhood is different from the concept of human life. Human life occurs at conception, but fertilized eggs used for in vitro fertilization are also human lives and those not implanted are routinely thrown away. Is this murder, and if not, then how is abortion murder?

@jennypriceson,

On the basis of natural law written word of God, human life begins when the woman's egg is fertilised by a male sperm.
From that moment a unique life begins, independent of the life of the mother and father. The features that distinguish us from our parents - the colour of our eyes, the shape of our face - are all laid down in the genetic code that comes into existence then.
Each new life that begins at this point is not a potential human being but a human being with potential.On this basis I think abortion is an act of murder.

@ Allen-jones,

I think you have taken a thorougly religious stand but even the various faiths accept that if a foetus is seriously abnormal or that the child will be born seriously disabled that abortion would be permissible in this circumstance. Is that not life they are aborting regardless of presumed handicap?

The other point in this debate is that of gender equality. No woman can call herself free until she can choose consciously whether she will or will not be a mother. Women need free access to abortion in order to achieve full political, social, and economic equality with me. Women need the right to abortion in order to have the same freedoms as men. Women need the right to abortion to have full rights over their own bodies (including the right to decide whether or not to carry a foetus to birth) - without these rights they do not have the same moral status as men

@ Rosemerry,

I think most people will agree that human beings should take responsibility for the consequences of their actions.
Thus  abortion is wrong where the mother willingly had sex, not because of the moral status of the foetus but because of the responsibilities of the mother. Look at it this way, if you voluntarily act in a way that brings about the existence of a person or a foetus, then you have a responsibility to maintain the life of that person or foetus. Therefore, abortion is wrong where the mother had sex of her own free will. Sure a woman has the right to choose whether or not to become pregnant. She makes that choice before engaging in sex. To make that 'choice' after a pregnancy is underway, merely as a matter of birth control, is an immoral act.

@ Dukkieson

Wonderful moral arguments.  Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 28-08-2011 05:02 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livingday at 28-08-2011 05:03 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dukkieson on 28-08-2011 04:53 AM
Quote from: Rosemerry on 28-08-2011 04:07 AM

@ brendivas, well said.

@ brendivas & Rosemerry,

Regardless of the legal decision in Roe v Wade a person should accept the consequences of risks that she knowingly and willingly takes. A woman who willingly has segxwal intercourse knows that she takes the risk of bringing a foetus/moral person into existence. Therefore a woman who becomes pregnant should accept the pregnancy as the consequence of taking the risk involved in segxwal intercourse. That woman has a duty of care to the foetus/moral person she has willingly brought about through sex and should allow the resulting foetus/moral person to be born. Therefore she should not abort the foetus/moral person.

@ dukkieson, pal I'm impressed.
Posted: at 28-08-2011 05:03 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xena15 at 28-08-2011 03:33 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: danpatrick on 28-08-2011 02:38 AM
Quote from: dirtykid on 27-08-2011 06:57 PM
Where is the Hot Potatoes ??

Inside xena18's kitchen oven
na lie.
E no dey my oven.
Na u thief am.

Posted: at 28-08-2011 03:33 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- adeshnaija at 28-08-2011 03:42 PM (12 years ago)
wat is guuud abt d killing of innocent
Posted: at 28-08-2011 03:42 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- livingday at 28-08-2011 05:01 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: adeshnaija on 28-08-2011 03:42 PM
wat is guuud abt d killing of innocent

Nothing gud 'bout it. Na woman wickedness be dat.
Posted: at 28-08-2011 05:01 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livingday at 28-08-2011 05:05 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: xena15 on 28-08-2011 03:33 PM

na lie.
E no dey my oven.
Na u thief am.

Don't take style tell me u don chop am finish oo. U 4 leave some 4 dirtykid and many odas wey dey 4 road dey come ur house 2 feast on d hot potatoes. If so, prepare 2 receive angry guys oo. My hand no dey. I don talk my own finish.
Posted: at 28-08-2011 05:05 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Josseyjessy at 28-08-2011 07:40 PM (12 years ago)

na lie.
E no dey my oven.
Na u thief am.

Sweet xena19, why you come dey demote yourself from xena17 to xena15? Na lie u no be sweet 15. Na sugar 19 u be.
Posted: at 28-08-2011 07:40 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- moneyinbrakemi at 28-08-2011 07:49 PM (12 years ago)
DR. Abortionists
Posted: at 28-08-2011 07:49 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 28-08-2011 08:06 PM (12 years ago)
Dis might be an opurtunity for her to be pregnant...for she will search for a child and seeth it not when she gets rid of this one..sayeth the voice of the lord

Posted: at 28-08-2011 08:06 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moneyinbrakemi at 28-08-2011 08:08 PM (12 years ago)
I hear__funny pikin longest time
Posted: at 28-08-2011 08:08 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Josseyjessy at 28-08-2011 08:39 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 28-08-2011 08:06 PM
Dis might be an opurtunity for her to be pregnant...for she will search for a child and seeth it not when she gets rid of this one..sayeth the voice of the lord

Quite true. People never appreciate what they have until they have lost it. Maybe this abortion will destroy her fertility for life and when in years to come she is crying to the Lord for a child and not been granted one, she will regret her foolish decision of today for life.
Posted: at 28-08-2011 08:39 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Celestial1 at 29-08-2011 05:06 AM (12 years ago)
Story sounds made up.  Agnes would never had told her hubby she was pregnant,  and let it go as far as his parents ears.  In the real world, Agnes would have had her abortion in the quiet behind her husband's back and moved on  her merry way.  In the case of a marriage I do not think a woman should have absolute right over her body in a choice like this.  As for a single unmarried woman, I believe she should have absolute right over her body to choose her path.  All unborn fetuses are not human, until they are born and look like a human child.  Many women have had things growing in them that when born were not human.  A fetus has no superior right over its mother because its mother has to be alive for it to live.
Posted: at 29-08-2011 05:06 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bles02 at 29-08-2011 05:30 AM (12 years ago)

Hi dear

My Name is Ruth and i am a beautiful young girl with faithful, loving, tender and very caring. I am seriously looking for good relationship that can lead us to any thing. believed we can move on from here so that i will show you my photo and you will know more about me , dear try to send me message to my e-mail  [email protected]
 because i don't used to come on this web site so contact me then we can share our feelings with each other

Miss Ruth .
Posted: at 29-08-2011 05:30 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- xena15 at 29-08-2011 07:35 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Josseyjessy on 28-08-2011 07:40 PM

na lie.
E no dey my oven.
Na u thief am.

Sweet xena19, why you come dey demote yourself from xena17 to xena15? Na lie u no be sweet 15. Na sugar 19 u be.
hehehehehehe
u be honey50 be dat

Posted: at 29-08-2011 07:35 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xena15 at 29-08-2011 07:37 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: livingday on 28-08-2011 05:05 PM

na lie.
E no dey my oven.
Na u thief am.

Don't take style tell me u don chop am finish oo. U 4 leave some 4 dirtykid and many odas wey dey 4 road dey come ur house 2 feast on d hot potatoes. If so, prepare 2 receive angry guys oo. My hand no dey. I don talk my own finish.
make dem come.
Dem go see beta hot potato

Posted: at 29-08-2011 07:37 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livingday at 29-08-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: xena15 on 29-08-2011 07:37 AM
Quote from: livingday on 28-08-2011 05:05 PM

na lie.
E no dey my oven.
Na u thief am.

make dem come.
Dem go see beta hot potato

D one wey u cultivate 4 ur backyard, eh? Dos ones no do. Na d original hot potatoes wey u siddon 4 kitchen finish na dem d guys won chop. No artificial thing make man no come get belly like woman sef.
Posted: at 29-08-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Josseyjessy at 29-08-2011 01:54 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Celestial1 on 29-08-2011 05:06 AM
Story sounds made up.  Agnes would never had told her hubby she was pregnant,  and let it go as far as his parents ears.  In the real world, Agnes would have had her abortion in the quiet behind her husband's back and moved on  her merry way.  In the case of a marriage I do not think a woman should have absolute right over her body in a choice like this.  As for a single unmarried woman, I believe she should have absolute right over her body to choose her path.  All unborn fetuses are not human, until they are born and look like a human child.  Many women have had things growing in them that when born were not human.  A fetus has no superior right over its mother because its mother has to be alive for it to live.

@ Celestial1, I was sceptical like you when I read the story but on second reading, I realised that the poster was very economical with his  words. . Agnes is 8 weeks pregnant to the jubilation and delight of Joseph’s parents. However, Agnes is now insisting on having abortion because any child bearing now would jeopardise her career prospects. The sentences in red are a direct quote from a passage in the story. It seems they family were overjoyed initially but on reflection, Agnes changed her mind and is 'now insisting on having abortion' 

The other point you asserted that I am not comfortable with is the idea that a married could sneak behind her husband to abort his child without telling him. Such a wife could easily sleep around and be most unfaithful without the husband being none the wiser for it. Is that your idea of marriage?

I refer you to the other arguments made by pals such as and I quote" I think most people will agree that human beings should take responsibility for the consequences of their actions. Thus, abortion is wrong where the mother willingly had sex, not because of the moral status of the foetus but because of the responsibilities of the mother. Look at it this way, if you voluntarily act in a way that brings about the existence of a person or a foetus, then you have a responsibility to maintain the life of that person or foetus. Therefore, abortion is wrong where the mother had sex of her own free will. Sure a woman has the right to choose whether or not to become pregnant. She makes that choice before engaging in sex. To make that 'choice' after a pregnancy is underway, merely as a matter of birth control, is an immoral act".

Further, from a christian point of view consider this argument and I quote" On the basis of natural law written word of God, human life begins when the woman's egg is fertilised by a male sperm. From that moment a unique life begins, independent of the life of the mother and father. The features that distinguish us from our parents - the colour of our eyes, the shape of our face - are all laid down in the genetic code that comes into existence then. Each new life that begins at this point is not a potential human being but a human being with potential.On this basis I think abortion is an act of murder".

To conclude, abortion is murder of a God-given life.
Posted: at 29-08-2011 01:54 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8