Why is Abortion such a hot potato? (Page 7)

Date: 25-08-2011 3:40 am (12 years ago) | Author: Franklyn Adam
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8
- mark3smith5 at 29-08-2011 04:11 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Josseyjessy on 29-08-2011 01:54 PM
Quote from: Celestial1 on 29-08-2011 05:06 AM
Story sounds made up.  Agnes would never had told her hubby she was pregnant,  and let it go as far as his parents ears.  In the real world, Agnes would have had her abortion in the quiet behind her husband's back and moved on  her merry way.  In the case of a marriage I do not think a woman should have absolute right over her body in a choice like this.  As for a single unmarried woman, I believe she should have absolute right over her body to choose her path.  All unborn fetuses are not human, until they are born and look like a human child.  Many women have had things growing in them that when born were not human.  A fetus has no superior right over its mother because its mother has to be alive for it to live.

@ Celestial1, I was sceptical like you when I read the story but on second reading, I realised that the poster was very economical with his  words. . Agnes is 8 weeks pregnant to the jubilation and delight of Joseph’s parents. However, Agnes is now insisting on having abortion because any child bearing now would jeopardise her career prospects. The sentences in red are a direct quote from a passage in the story. It seems they family were overjoyed initially but on reflection, Agnes changed her mind and is 'now insisting on having abortion' 

The other point you asserted that I am not comfortable with is the idea that a married could sneak behind her husband to abort his child without telling him. Such a wife could easily sleep around and be most unfaithful without the husband being none the wiser for it. Is that your idea of marriage?

I refer you to the other arguments made by pals such as and I quote" I think most people will agree that human beings should take responsibility for the consequences of their actions. Thus, abortion is wrong where the mother willingly had sex, not because of the moral status of the foetus but because of the responsibilities of the mother. Look at it this way, if you voluntarily act in a way that brings about the existence of a person or a foetus, then you have a responsibility to maintain the life of that person or foetus. Therefore, abortion is wrong where the mother had sex of her own free will. Sure a woman has the right to choose whether or not to become pregnant. She makes that choice before engaging in sex. To make that 'choice' after a pregnancy is underway, merely as a matter of birth control, is an immoral act".

Further, from a christian point of view consider this argument and I quote" On the basis of natural law written word of God, human life begins when the woman's egg is fertilised by a male sperm. From that moment a unique life begins, independent of the life of the mother and father. The features that distinguish us from our parents - the colour of our eyes, the shape of our face - are all laid down in the genetic code that comes into existence then. Each new life that begins at this point is not a potential human being but a human being with potential.On this basis I think abortion is an act of murder".

To conclude, abortion is murder of a God-given life.

Of course abortion as a topic is a very hot potato and as an act is pure murder of the innocent defenceless victim
Posted: at 29-08-2011 04:11 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- MissyBarbie at 29-08-2011 05:31 PM (12 years ago)
Passing
Posted: at 29-08-2011 05:31 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Celestial1 at 29-08-2011 06:08 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: mark3smith5 on 29-08-2011 04:11 PM
Story sounds made up.  Agnes would never had told her hubby she was pregnant,  and let it go as far as his parents ears.  In the real world, Agnes would have had her abortion in the quiet behind her husband's back and moved on  her merry way.  In the case of a marriage I do not think a woman should have absolute right over her body in a choice like this.  As for a single unmarried woman, I believe she should have absolute right over her body to choose her path.  All unborn fetuses are not human, until they are born and look like a human child.  Many women have had things growing in them that when born were not human.  A fetus has no superior right over its mother because its mother has to be alive for it to live.

@ Celestial1, I was sceptical like you when I read the story but on second reading, I realised that the poster was very economical with his  words. . Agnes is 8 weeks pregnant to the jubilation and delight of Joseph’s parents. However, Agnes is now insisting on having abortion because any child bearing now would jeopardise her career prospects. The sentences in red are a direct quote from a passage in the story. It seems they family were overjoyed initially but on reflection, Agnes changed her mind and is 'now insisting on having abortion' 

The other point you asserted that I am not comfortable with is the idea that a married could sneak behind her husband to abort his child without telling him. Such a wife could easily sleep around and be most unfaithful without the husband being none the wiser for it. Is that your idea of marriage?

I refer you to the other arguments made by pals such as and I quote" I think most people will agree that human beings should take responsibility for the consequences of their actions. Thus, abortion is wrong where the mother willingly had sex, not because of the moral status of the foetus but because of the responsibilities of the mother. Look at it this way, if you voluntarily act in a way that brings about the existence of a person or a foetus, then you have a responsibility to maintain the life of that person or foetus. Therefore, abortion is wrong where the mother had sex of her own free will. Sure a woman has the right to choose whether or not to become pregnant. She makes that choice before engaging in sex. To make that 'choice' after a pregnancy is underway, merely as a matter of birth control, is an immoral act".

Further, from a christian point of view consider this argument and I quote" On the basis of natural law written word of God, human life begins when the woman's egg is fertilised by a male sperm. From that moment a unique life begins, independent of the life of the mother and father. The features that distinguish us from our parents - the colour of our eyes, the shape of our face - are all laid down in the genetic code that comes into existence then. Each new life that begins at this point is not a potential human being but a human being with potential.On this basis I think abortion is an act of murder".

Of course abortion as a topic is a very hot potato and as an act is pure murder of the innocent defenceless victim

The idea that every marriage is an open book and each spouse shares everything with each other in a loving, balanced and mutually rewarding atmosphere is a romanticized version of the true reality of many marriages.  The reality of marriage is that many people do things behind their spouses back everyday; whether that is cheating, having an abortion, buying homes in distant locales without the knowledge of the other, having illegitimate children, bring home a STD..etc.  What I believe to be the ideal marriage has nothing to do with the reality of marriage for many.  Women have abortions behind their husbands back everyday, just as how men get other women pregnant behind their wives back everyday. Also many married couple  decide together to have an abortion if a child is coming that they cannot afford financially, or will be severely disabled.  I know it is hard to believe, but sometimes couples do have to go down that road.  It is not my place to tell someone to keep their child when I am not going to care for it for them.  Another thing I see is that many ppl who are anti-abortion never adopt children even if they can financially handle it.  Look at all the children who are waiting for loving homes and these die hard religious types who believe every child is a gift never choose to take home one of these precious gifts to treasure.  Even the freaking pastors and leaders of various faiths never set the example of adopting.  A true anti-abortionists is also actively involved in bettering the lives of those children who are already here on the earth.
Posted: at 29-08-2011 06:08 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Josseyjessy at 29-08-2011 06:33 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Celestial1 on 29-08-2011 06:08 PM

The idea that every marriage is an open book and each spouse shares everything with each other in a loving, balanced and mutually rewarding atmosphere is a romanticized version of the true reality of many marriages.  The reality of marriage is that many people do things behind their spouses back everyday; whether that is cheating, having an abortion, buying homes in distant locales without the knowledge of the other, having illegitimate children, bring home a STD..etc.  What I believe to be the ideal marriage has nothing to do with the reality of marriage for many.  Women have abortions behind their husbands back everyday, just as how men get other women pregnant behind their wives back everyday. Also many married couple  decide together to have an abortion if a child is coming that they cannot afford financially, or will be severely disabled.  I know it is hard to believe, but sometimes couples do have to go down that road.  It is not my place to tell someone to keep their child when I am not going to care for it for them.  Another thing I see is that many ppl who are anti-abortion never adopt children even if they can financially handle it.  Look at all the children who are waiting for loving homes and these die hard religious types who believe every child is a gift never choose to take home one of these precious gifts to treasure.  Even the freaking pastors and leaders of various faiths never set the example of adopting.  A true anti-abortionists is also actively involved in bettering the lives of those children who are already here on the earth.

If what you said is the true state of marriage in Nigeria nowadays, then the marriage institution is in need of serious moral reform. What you are saying in effect is that a man must no jubilate simply because his wife tells him that she is pregnant because he may, in all probability, not be the father. Soddom and Gomorrahcouldn't have been worse.
Posted: at 29-08-2011 06:33 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 29-08-2011 06:37 PM (12 years ago)
Passing n reading frm ppl wey go school

Posted: at 29-08-2011 06:37 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Josseyjessy at 29-08-2011 06:49 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 29-08-2011 06:37 PM
Passing n reading frm ppl wey go school

But I hear na you be d the headmaster for ur village school. So, u don try too much 4 a woman headmaster! Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 29-08-2011 06:49 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 29-08-2011 06:52 PM (12 years ago)
I see. Were u my student¤¿

Posted: at 29-08-2011 06:52 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Starlightsilver at 29-08-2011 07:15 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 29-08-2011 06:52 PM

No be only him ma'am. I was the monitor in ur class. Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 29-08-2011 07:15 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- livingday at 29-08-2011 07:50 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Starlightsilver on 29-08-2011 07:15 PM
Quote from: sophiebaby on 29-08-2011 06:52 PM

No be only him ma'am. I was the monitor in ur class. Cheesy Cheesy

I think I was the assistant headmaster, no be so beautiful smiling sophiebaby?
Posted: at 29-08-2011 07:50 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FlyMamacita at 29-08-2011 08:01 PM (12 years ago)
Very interesting topic
Posted: at 29-08-2011 08:01 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moneyinbrakemi at 29-08-2011 08:23 PM (12 years ago)
hehe__i hope u're not supporting illegal act my cupcake
Posted: at 29-08-2011 08:23 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 29-08-2011 08:28 PM (12 years ago)
No way...how was ur weekend?  Kiss
Posted: at 29-08-2011 08:28 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- danpatrick at 29-08-2011 08:57 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Josseyjessy on 29-08-2011 06:33 PM
Quote from: Celestial1 on 29-08-2011 06:08 PM

If what you said is the true state of marriage in Nigeria nowadays, then the marriage institution is in need of serious moral reform. What you are saying in effect is that a man must no jubilate simply because his wife tells him that she is pregnant because he may, in all probability, not be the father. Soddom and Gomorrahcouldn't have been worse.

Seriously @ Celestial1, from your revelation men should think seriously b4 they delude themselves on the concept of 'holy matrimony which as you pointed out is simply a mirage, a pie in the sky, call it what you may. I decry this seeming moral decadence of our time.
Posted: at 29-08-2011 08:57 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 29-08-2011 09:24 PM (12 years ago)
Cuppycake Kwa

Posted: at 29-08-2011 09:24 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Josseyjessy at 30-08-2011 03:32 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 29-08-2011 09:24 PM
Cuppycake Kwa

What language is that? What do you mean? I'm curious.
Posted: at 30-08-2011 03:32 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Celestial1 at 30-08-2011 03:46 AM (12 years ago)
@Joseeyjesse and Danpatrick..please keep in mind I said 'many' marriages, not most, not all.  The term 'many' is completely arbitrary, so while many is many, it does not necessarily mean the most, majority,  or a high percentage.  So you should not get weak of heart to enter marriage, just make sure like anything else your relationship is built solid so you can be at ease.  Marriage is a good institution for those who desire it, but like anything in this world; one needs to plan, prepare, and lay the foundation solid for a strong marriage to be built upon.   Also remember that people are who they are married or not.  The idea that marriage will turn someone with notable character flaws into a paragon of virtue is false thinking.  Choose well, test character and mettle.  Don't fall fool to the belief that love is enough.  Successful and rewarding marriages need more that love to survive the evil days.
Posted: at 30-08-2011 03:46 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bigbonecrusher at 30-08-2011 04:05 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Celestial1 on 30-08-2011 03:46 AM
@Joseeyjesse and Danpatrick..please keep in mind I said 'many' marriages, not most, not all.  The term 'many' is completely arbitrary, so while many is many, it does not necessarily mean the most, majority,  or a high percentage.  So you should not get weak of heart to enter marriage, just make sure like anything else your relationship is built solid so you can be at ease.  Marriage is a good institution for those who desire it, but like anything in this world; one needs to plan, prepare, and lay the foundation solid for a strong marriage to be built upon.   Also remember that people are who they are married or not.  The idea that marriage will turn someone with notable character flaws into a paragon of virtue is false thinking.  Choose well, test character and mettle.  Don't fall fool to the belief that love is enough.  Successful and rewarding marriages need more that love to survive the evil days.

Sound advice
Posted: at 30-08-2011 04:05 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- tundamartin at 30-08-2011 04:46 AM (12 years ago)

True talk. A flawed personality needs more than marriage to reform. True also that love alone is not enough ground to rush to marriage. So many variables need to be considered but with many girls and boys being flirty and licentious, marriage institution is in mortal danger of losing out to people living together without taking the vow.
Posted: at 30-08-2011 04:46 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Josseyjessy at 30-08-2011 06:28 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: tundamartin on 30-08-2011 04:46 AM

True talk. A flawed personality needs more than marriage to reform. True also that love alone is not enough ground to rush to marriage. So many variables need to be considered but with many girls and boys being flirty and licentious, marriage institution is in mortal danger of losing out to people living together without taking the vow.

My guy, it's happening all over the world already where boys and girls are co-habitating without being legally married to eachother. Imagine a girl that has been loved and used like a wife only 2 b dumped! Anybody taking dis girl 4 a wife is seeking serious trouble.
Posted: at 30-08-2011 06:28 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bigbonecrusher at 30-08-2011 06:47 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Josseyjessy on 30-08-2011 06:28 PM
Quote from: tundamartin on 30-08-2011 04:46 AM

My guy, it's happening all over the world already where boys and girls are co-habitating without being legally married to eachother. Imagine a girl that has been loved and used like a wife only 2 b dumped! Anybody taking dis girl 4 a wife is seeking serious trouble.

Anyone going 4 such a girl is biting a red-hot potato than he can either chew or swallow, if u ask me!
Posted: at 30-08-2011 06:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8