Jonathan: Achebe not in tune with reality

Date: 14-11-2011 1:34 am (12 years ago) | Author: dammy rose
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 14-11-2011 01:34 AM (12 years ago)
President Goodluck  Jonathan yesterday hit back at Prof. Chinua Achebe, saying his excuse for rejecting the national honour is not in tune with the current political reality in the country.

While admitting that there are still facing challenges, the President argued that the country cannot be said to be where it was in 2004.

But the President also said as regretable as Achebe’s decision is,  the literary giant remains an icon.

He urged the elderstateman to come back home and see for himself the progress being made by this administration.

In a statement by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Dr. Reuben Abati, the President said his administration is developing the country.

The statement reads: “President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan regrets Prof. Chinua Achebe’s decision to reject, once again, the conferment on him of the national honour of Commander of the Federal Republic (CFR). President Jonathan is also surprised by Prof. Achebe’s claim that the issues which caused him to reject the same award seven years ago, still remain unresolved.

“Coming as it does against the background of the widely acclaimed electoral reforms undertaken by the Jonathan Administration, the claim by Prof. Achebe clearly flies in the face of the reality of Nigeria’s current political situation.As reflected in the immense improvements recorded in the conduct of the last general elections which were applauded within and outside the country as the most credible elections in Nigeria in recent years, the Jonathan Administration has made tremendous efforts to positively change the political architecture complained about by Prof. Achebe and other Nigerians.

“Politically, Nigeria cannot be said to be where it was in 2004 as the Jonathan Administration has embarked on extensive electoral reforms to institute a regime of electoral integrity that all Nigerians can be proud of, believing that governance will be greatly enhanced in the country if the will of the people prevails at elections.

“While President Jonathan acknowledges that there are still challenges in the path of Nigeria’s attainment of its full potentials as a nation, he believes that his Administration is moving the country in the right direction and therefore deserves the support, encouragement and cooperation of all citizens.

“The President continues to hold Prof. Achebe in very high esteem in spite of his regrettable decision which may have been borne out of misinformation as to the true state of affairs in Nigeria and hopes that he will find time to visit home soon and see the progress being made by the Jonathan Administration for himself.

“Prof. Achebe remains in President Jonathan’s consideration a national icon, a Nigerian of high attainments, indeed one of the greatest living Africans of our time.”

Achebe was listed with other 364 Nigerians for national honours today.

In rejecting the honour, Achebe, in a short statement, said: “The reasons for rejecting the offer when it was first made have not been addressed, let alone solved. It is inappropriate to offer it again to me. I must therefore regretfully decline the offer again.”

Posted: at 14-11-2011 01:34 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- babyleslie at 14-11-2011 02:55 AM (12 years ago)
Progress being made by dis administration indeed! Hv u solved d issues of bokoharam?
Posted: at 14-11-2011 02:55 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sx_knx at 14-11-2011 07:38 AM (12 years ago)
These people have no shame? The man rejected the stupid award and with good reasons. What part of that don't you understand? And by the way do you know how stupid you look? Achebe has to come to Nigeria first before he can see what is happening. Your stupidity beats imagination. He sees and knows what is happening even from the United States.
Posted: at 14-11-2011 07:38 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- heavenknows at 14-11-2011 10:12 AM (12 years ago)
The president and his followers should go back to school to learn that you can be anywhere in the world and still know what is going on in another part of the  world. He has failed.. simple.
Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:12 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kingIyke at 14-11-2011 10:28 AM (12 years ago)
Prof Chinue Achebe is nt right dis time around. Is he the only saint in Nigeria. What does he thnk he is, i mean what kind of height has he gotten to dat nobody has been b4. If he really love Nigeria as he claim to, dont he knw dat he would be encouraging Jonathan to work harder? Infact let him go to HELL
Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:28 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ugochuks at 14-11-2011 10:40 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kingIyke on 14-11-2011 10:28 AM
Prof Chinue Achebe is nt right dis time around. Is he the only saint in Nigeria. What does he thnk he is, i mean what kind of height has he gotten to dat nobody has been b4. If he really love Nigeria as he claim to, dont he knw dat he would be encouraging Jonathan to work harder? Infact let him go to HELL
[/color]

ur second name must be hmmmm EWU damaturu!!!  the man rejected the stuff,has his own reasons and u re here typing rubbish,,he didnt take it just bcuz he is not as blind and stupid as u re.....

Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:40 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- DHash at 14-11-2011 10:46 AM (12 years ago)
Pressidor why using harsh words?
Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:46 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eomo at 14-11-2011 10:46 AM (12 years ago)
If only 80% of Nigerians can have the same attitude of saying NO even though it looks profitable Nigeria would have been a better place. Set out your policy and stick to it. Well done Achebe.
Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:46 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- eomo at 14-11-2011 10:48 AM (12 years ago)
Just to add, the President did not use the words as used in the topic.
Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:48 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- MilleniumMan at 14-11-2011 10:51 AM (12 years ago)
I also think this country has made no progress.
Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:51 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ugochuks at 14-11-2011 10:53 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: eomo on 14-11-2011 10:48 AM
Just to add, the President did not use the words as used in the topic.

GBAM!!

Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:53 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- thumble at 14-11-2011 10:56 AM (12 years ago)
jona shut up
Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:56 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 14-11-2011 10:58 AM (12 years ago)
FIRE EXCHANGE.

Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:58 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Chizze at 14-11-2011 10:59 AM (12 years ago)
We love Achebe, but rejecting the award to honor his contributions to literacy does not make any sense. I would think, the smartest thing would be use the opportunity to pass on his message of disillusionment of the political trend in Nigeria. You cannot affect a change by side-talking, sitting on the fence and not channeling the appropraite viewpoint to the right quaters, rigth time and right place. The world, and infact the deaf naija politicians would have heard his message if he accepted the award, organized reception party and mounted a pulpit to talk/express about his feeling regarding the present and past Nigerian leaders, and the sufferings of the people. As poor and ailing as our economy, a reception party in his honor would have generated millions of naira for our country. Did he think about the economic aspects of the award - not for him (because we know he is wealthy), but for businesses in Nigeria and beyond? An Igbo saying goes like this, "one does not add pepper to an aqueous solution made for curing an ailing eye".
Posted: at 14-11-2011 10:59 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- divineproject at 14-11-2011 11:13 AM (12 years ago)
Hmmm......na by force?......this is not the first time he is rejecting una award........abeg leave the man alone becos what he can see sitting down, you cant see standing up..........I havent seen any progress self, rather na retrogression I dey see and I dey this country..........

Posted: at 14-11-2011 11:13 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- naturalqueen at 14-11-2011 11:16 AM (12 years ago)
i just passed............still passing
Posted: at 14-11-2011 11:16 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 14-11-2011 11:18 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kingIyke on 14-11-2011 10:28 AM

Big lieeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, that would make the president think he has arrived.......he would say to himself , 'he rejected this offer before and now he is accepting it from my administration, that means we are doing well'...........Achebe cant go to hell for saying NO which is his right to do so...........

Posted: at 14-11-2011 11:18 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Kemygirl at 14-11-2011 11:28 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Chizze on 14-11-2011 10:59 AM
We love Achebe, but rejecting the award to honor his contributions to literacy does not make any sense. I would think, the smartest thing would be use the opportunity to pass on his message of disillusionment of the political trend in Nigeria. You cannot affect a change by side-talking, sitting on the fence and not channeling the appropraite viewpoint to the right quaters, rigth time and right place. The world, and infact the deaf naija politicians would have heard his message if he accepted the award, organized reception party and mounted a pulpit to talk/express about his feeling regarding the present and past Nigerian leaders, and the sufferings of the people. As poor and ailing as our economy, a reception party in his honor would have generated millions of naira for our country. Did he think about the economic aspects of the award - not for him (because we know he is wealthy), but for businesses in Nigeria and beyond? An Igbo saying goes like this, "one does not add pepper to an aqueous solution made for curing an ailing eye".
Posted: at 14-11-2011 11:28 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- godwindave at 14-11-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago)
That's ......

Posted: at 14-11-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- papyefisy at 14-11-2011 11:50 AM (12 years ago)
the old man know what he's saying not fool...
Posted: at 14-11-2011 11:50 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. VIDEO: Man Arrested After Being Caught Sleeping With His Friend's Wife

2. How German Police Arrest 11 Nigerians Over Dating Scam

3. Actress Wumi Toriola Rejoices As She Completes Master’s Degree At Lautech, Shares Photos

4. Junior Pope; Movie Producer, Adanma Luke Denies Claims That She Abandons Families Boat Mishap

5. 'Reality TV Show, Social Media Portray My Parents In Bad Light' – 2Baba’s Daughter, Isabella

6. "If Yahaya Bello Is Not Prosecuted, I’ll Resign" — Olukoyede Vows

7. "I Will Never Play Dumb To Promote A Song" –Popular Rapper, Ice Prince

8. 21Yr Old Parents Accuse Of Beating Their 5 Week Old Twin Girls To Death

9. PHOTOS: How Four Friends Died In Akwa Ibom Auto Crash

10. Nigerian Software Engineer, Chukwudi Rape 13Yr Old Girl On Children’s Day In Lagos

11. Tragedy Struck Kaduna Community Again As Bandits Kill 3 Persons, Abduct 8 Others

12. Traders Count Losses As Fire Destroy Goods Worth Billions Of Naira In Edo

13. Gunmen Reportedly Kill Nasarawa Monarch’s Police Escort, Abduct Wife, Aide

14. UPDATE: FAAN Reopens Lagos Airport Runway After Dana Air Incident

4. How Past Abia Govt Paid N107.2 Bn To Contractors For Non-existent Abia Airport & Other Projects

5. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office