Strike Must go on - NLC urges Nigerians to ignore Industrial Court Order

Date: 06-01-2012 9:58 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Millenium
- at 6-01-2012 09:58 PM (12 years ago)

The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) has assured Nigerians that the mass rallies scheduled for next Monday will go on, and urged them to ignore the rumours of a ‘black market’ injunction possibly purchased by the Goodluck Jonathan government from the National Industrial Court (NIC).

“The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) is not aware of any such injunction, we were not served any paper of court appearance, we were not present in court nor were we represented in any capacity,” said Acting Secretary General Owei Lakemfa, in a statement.  “Also, the NLC was not served any court summons nor were we served any court order.”

He urged the Jonathan administration to listen to the people or face their justifiable wrath.  He observed of the government, “They cannot make the simple analysis that the whole populace is angry and that Nigerians do not need any group to ask them to protest an evil policy that seeks to impoverish them.

He pointed out that the forces outlined in the country are simply the Nigerian People against the Jonathan Government, and is not an industrial relations one, or between an employer and an employee.

“So if the issue was taken before the National Industrial Court, then it is the wrong place to shop for a black market injunction,” he said.  “To obtain an injunction from a court that has no competent jurisdiction is to try playing ping pong with the judiciary.”

He reminded everyone that the constitutional and fundamental right of Nigerians to protest cannot be annulled.

Posted: at 6-01-2012 09:58 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MilleniumMan at 6-01-2012 10:23 PM (12 years ago)
We must fight to stop this mess.
Posted: at 6-01-2012 10:23 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 6-01-2012 10:27 PM (12 years ago)
LETS FIGHT AGAINST THE EVIL. IT IS OUR RIGHT!

Posted: at 6-01-2012 10:27 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- fishguy at 6-01-2012 11:24 PM (12 years ago)
No protest den hw must our voice b heard shld i say i regrate voteing only God can help us all
Posted: at 6-01-2012 11:24 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- yackson at 6-01-2012 11:37 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 6-01-2012 11:37 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sandysweetlux at 7-01-2012 12:08 AM (12 years ago)
ALMIGHTY GOD PLEASE LISTEN TO THE CRY OF YOUR CHILDREN, WE HAVE ALL SUFFERED FOR TOO LONG, IN THIS PAIN AND HARDSHIP OF BOKO HARAM AND THE NIGERIA GOVT, MY HONEST WISH FROM YOU IS BEFORE I WAKE  UP IN THE MORNING LET ALL THE BOKO HARAM DIE MYSTERIOUSLY. FROM THEIR CHILDREN TO THEIR UNBORN CHILDREN, I ALSO WISH FOR INVISIBLE BOMB BLAST AT THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLE  AND ASK ROCK TO KILL ALL THE THIEVES THAT CALL THEMSELVES  LEADERS, THEY WILL NEVER LIVE TO SEE PEACE. USELESS IDIOTS.
Posted: at 7-01-2012 12:08 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Obitexa at 7-01-2012 12:32 AM (12 years ago)
It is still the common Nigerian that will bear the brunt of NLC strike...1st na BokoHaram, 2nd fuel subsidy, now 3rd NLC strike! Abeg make una follow me see wetin I dey see..
Posted: at 7-01-2012 12:32 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- purityjustice at 7-01-2012 01:00 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on  6-01-2012 10:27 PM
LETS FIGHT AGAINST THE EVIL. IT IS OUR RIGHT!
oya start first Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 7-01-2012 01:00 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 7-01-2012 01:08 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: purityjustice on  7-01-2012 01:00 AM

Close your eyes before I throw dust in.

Posted: at 7-01-2012 01:08 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- purityjustice at 7-01-2012 01:18 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on  7-01-2012 01:08 AM
Close your eyes before I throw dust in.
OK MAKE I CLOSE AM, I STILL LOVE MY EYE Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 7-01-2012 01:18 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mcMil3z at 7-01-2012 03:15 AM (12 years ago)
I support it 101% but we need to ask God to show us the right part. With God all is possible
guys pls visit my site and follow tank u a lot. GODBLESSU
http://naijatalkon.blogspot.com
Posted: at 7-01-2012 03:15 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- 2earthquake at 7-01-2012 04:38 AM (12 years ago)
ok ,let me stay and watch this movie finish Roll Eyes Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked i m just watching
Posted: at 7-01-2012 04:38 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Obiohao at 7-01-2012 06:21 AM (12 years ago)
BROTHERS...WE GO ON TO LIBERATE OUR COUNTRY ONCE AND FOR ALL! SO THAT OUR CHILDREN MAY HAVE A FUTURE. IN FACT AS TAM DAVID WEST SAYS, IF WE EVEN WANT OUR CHILDREN TO EVEN LIVE  AT OUR LEVEL SEF( WHICH IS HORRIBLE)...WE ARE UNITED, IT IS NOW OR NEVER, ONYE MARA IHE ONA EME, YA BIDO MEWE YA UGBUA...THEIR IS NO GOING BACK. ON MONDAY...WE GO TO STRIKE. INDEFINITELY. THIS TIME AROUND, TRUST ME, IT WILL BE VERY , VERY, DIFFERENT. WE ARE UNITED. OUR EYE DON OPEN NOW. ALUTA CONTINUA!! WE SHALL ALWAYS FIGHT FOR OUR RIGHTS, AND WITH PERSEVERANCE, GOD, AND EVERYTHING TO LOSE, DAVID WILL DEFEAT GOLIATH, AND VICTORY IS CERTAIN. WE ARE NOT TRANSCENDING OUR LAWFUL LIMITS, AS CITIZENS IT IS OUR RIGHT TO PROTEST. THAT NO COURT CAN ANNUL.  IF YOU CAN HEAR MY CALL, WHEREVER YOU ARE JOIN THIS REVOLUTION. FORWARD, FORWARD TO STRIKE ...NOW!!
Posted: at 7-01-2012 06:21 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Oluse at 7-01-2012 06:23 AM (12 years ago)
AS FOR NAIRALAND: i want u all to know that a nation can lives in peace without beliefs and religion as long as there is justice in the land, "where there is no law there is no sin".....Nigeria needs justice, and for justice to take place, innocent blood will be shed as a sacrifice, families should commence possible and earlier evacuation of members now to neigbouring countries or village farms, Nigeria as a nation has peaceful and idiotic citizens that watch things get predicted and be taking advantage of, but when i listened to Tunde Bakare, conflict and/ or war is already initiated, youth must stand up and fight for the future, we have no future in nigeria untill we have to take this justice by fire by force, GOD ON OUR SIDE. America and the EU are at work, they have already predicted division on naijaland, dont allow them ruin this country (Nigeria) all bcoz they eye our functional and non-functional resources....we are the only country that could save Africa.....now they are at it as they successfully destroyed the giant USSR federation, Eastern Europe, the fastest developing Africa nation Libya, am afraid its our turn!!! letz change the name of this country from nigeria to Nairaland, it is a land full of honey and milk. Old, Youth, Women, Men, homebased and foerign based citizen of Nigeria, let us take our stand now as South Africa, Ghana and Egypt did. Itz time to eat the fruit of the Land!
Posted: at 7-01-2012 06:23 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Obiohao at 7-01-2012 06:24 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: TeeOwl on  7-01-2012 05:09 AM
If the cost of the average Nigerian is going to go up by 40%, then the salaries of political appointees and elected office holder must be reduced by 40%... they should reduce their level of comfort!
Exactly My brother!!
Posted: at 7-01-2012 06:24 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Obiohao at 7-01-2012 06:27 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sandysweetlux on  7-01-2012 12:08 AM
ALMIGHTY GOD PLEASE LISTEN TO THE CRY OF YOUR CHILDREN, WE HAVE ALL SUFFERED FOR TOO LONG, IN THIS PAIN AND HARDSHIP OF BOKO HARAM AND THE NIGERIA GOVT, MY HONEST WISH FROM YOU IS BEFORE I WAKE  UP IN THE MORNING LET ALL THE BOKO HARAM DIE MYSTERIOUSLY. FROM THEIR CHILDREN TO THEIR UNBORN CHILDREN, I ALSO WISH FOR INVISIBLE BOMB BLAST AT THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLE  AND ASK ROCK TO KILL ALL THE THIEVES THAT CALL THEMSELVES  LEADERS, THEY WILL NEVER LIVE TO SEE PEACE. USELESS IDIOTS.
Hahaha..AMEN..My sister..AMEN! Thunder fire all of those ruthless devils. What goes around comes around.
Posted: at 7-01-2012 06:27 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Obiohao at 7-01-2012 06:33 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: purityjustice on  7-01-2012 01:00 AM
We Fight together ma guy...unless u like Naija as e be so. Then you can go hide under your rock, and it will continue to be that way for you. But as for me and others, including those you are referring to, we have already began fighting relentlessly, because we dey suffer for dis country, i no know about you, but i also believe u  are very concerned about the way things are going in our beloved country. we don already start,,, abi subsidy no gree u on TV? lol No be today we start ooh..and you are with us.. Smiley cheers brother!
Posted: at 7-01-2012 06:33 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Nikapetrelli at 7-01-2012 07:08 AM (12 years ago)
Dis is jst a crazy country wit crazy leaders setting back de country[font=][/font]
Posted: at 7-01-2012 07:08 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- janexes at 7-01-2012 08:15 AM (12 years ago)
Cool..............
Posted: at 7-01-2012 08:15 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- williams100 at 7-01-2012 09:09 AM (12 years ago)
Let the strike proceed even if it means the start of a civil war by liberating the masses from the heartless leaders..
i just can't reason along the goodluck administration and their flawed policy to impoverish the masses more and more..
they all need to boycott the so called IMF,WORLD BANK "carrot and stick strategy" cause it will do more harm than good.
MR PRESIDENT,sit and study nigeria's peculiarity and quit assuming world bank and IMF measures will work here and adopt indigenous policies that are less hurtful to our people...

It will be in the best interest of all nigerians for you(MR PRESIDENT) to re-instate the subsidy ,because I forsee it to be the last straw to break the camels back,i wonder if the term INFLATION in economics appeal to goodluck and his administration??maybe they need some tutorials on that topic..
Nigerians are hungry ,homeless,lack good water,we lack good health care facilities and schools and over 75million nigerians or more are unemployed so in case you don't know you are sitting on a keg of gun powder and a revolution with the style of the tunisian tsunami currently sweeping through Arabia is just around the Corner if you fail to listen.....cogitate swiftly asap were possible..
Please wise up and quit taking advices that will plunge the country into further hardship,confusion and oblivious destruction.....
AS NIGERIANS NEVER ORCHESTRATE CIVIL WAR SO, ALL OF UNA NOR GO RESPECT UNA SEF OOO......

Am Out........
Posted: at 7-01-2012 09:09 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac