Subsidy Meeting To Happen In Abuja Today, Follow live updates here

Date: 14-01-2012 6:42 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 14-01-2012 06:42 AM (12 years ago)
Today, there shall be a meeting between the government RULERS and the labour representatives to find the best way forward for the nation, after the 6 days of strike and protest has allegedly cost the nation about N2tr (curruption again).

Here is how things currently stand, people have taken different position based on their political interest:

1. There are those who claim that there is no subsidy and some say there is subsidy.
2. Another group agrees with subsidy removal but says that the timing is wrong,
3. while some say fuel subsidy should never be removed because it is the only thing Nigerians enjoy from their country.

4. Yet, another view is that the economics of subsidy removal makes sense but the government should first fight corruption.
5. And the last position is that even though the main reapers of fuel subsidy, also known as the oil cabal or cartel, are financiers of President Goodluck Jonathan’s election, subsidy should be retained.

The different positions notwithstanding, all stakeholders seem to share a common view: there is an enormous fraud in the fuel subsidy business. The point of departure is on how to tackle this fraud to the benefit of the citizens, 70 per cent of whom live below the poverty line. and not end up increasing the hardship that is already prevalent in the country.

The labour are not looking to agree to any deal less than the previous N65/Litre price.

Presidency has to step up and face its responsibility to the people its ruling, fight the corruption and not the subsidy

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WhspJwWCRo" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WhspJwWCRo</a>

Posted: at 14-01-2012 06:42 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divine007 at 14-01-2012 07:05 AM (12 years ago)
IS NIGERIA A NAME OF A COUNTRY OR A COMPANY?
Posted: at 14-01-2012 07:05 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 14-01-2012 07:26 AM (12 years ago)
you provide the answer now , abi na today today dem born you?
Posted: at 14-01-2012 07:26 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- lookwell4me at 14-01-2012 07:33 AM (12 years ago)
GOOD QUESTION!
Posted: at 14-01-2012 07:33 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- fekoo at 14-01-2012 07:44 AM (12 years ago)
Pls NLC,knw dt u re representing d people and our faith is on u,so never bend for any reason or whatsoever.our stand is still #65.NLC,shld ve options for d govt.what we xpect is either #65 or strike continues.We re nt fools.
How can a man or so called cabinet take a sudden decision dt is to be taken in April.we re fools.NLC,never fail us,cos if den fail us,den naija will knw dat we ve no true leaders,and we divide.
Posted: at 14-01-2012 07:44 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Imoking at 14-01-2012 08:09 AM (12 years ago)
If you know the secret behind all this then you will surely support our good President
Posted: at 14-01-2012 08:09 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jud4kul at 14-01-2012 08:26 AM (12 years ago)
By removing subsidy what do we stand to gain within a year?  labour leaders do they want to help? abi they want their selfish interest?
Posted: at 14-01-2012 08:26 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Majestic3xd at 14-01-2012 08:27 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: divine007 on 14-01-2012 07:05 AM

Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Roll Eyes Roll Eyes lol
Posted: at 14-01-2012 08:27 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- navygee at 14-01-2012 08:56 AM (12 years ago)
Let's know who the oil cabal or cartels are. Since they are anti peace of Nigeria. They should be brought to book. There is still tie ropes. Better still they be hanged. Amen
Posted: at 14-01-2012 08:56 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Majestic3xd at 14-01-2012 08:57 AM (12 years ago)
i gez the nations pain made him a new song Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes ok
Posted: at 14-01-2012 08:57 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- navygee at 14-01-2012 08:59 AM (12 years ago)
Nigeria must move forward whether they like it or not
Posted: at 14-01-2012 08:59 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- amcq2001 at 14-01-2012 09:10 AM (12 years ago)
NIGERIA IS NAME OF A COMPANY NOT A COUNTRY!!!! WHERE THE  GOATS IN THE GOVT FEED ON NAIRA AND THE POOR FEED ON GRASS
Posted: at 14-01-2012 09:10 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- austineonline at 14-01-2012 09:28 AM (12 years ago)
A.J presents " OH NIGERIA "
A song based on the situation in Nigeria right now (Jan. 2012)
Download and share this song now
http://soundcloud.com/abolo-oyinbo/a-j-oh-nigeria-prod-by-dj
Posted: at 14-01-2012 09:28 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kp45 at 14-01-2012 09:46 AM (12 years ago)

Lol A Compamy full of cabal and cartel.
Posted: at 14-01-2012 09:46 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fehinty at 14-01-2012 10:13 AM (12 years ago)
build refineries or repair the existing one. then we wont b talking abt subsidy. 1 billion a year for food! wot on ds planet r u eating?
Posted: at 14-01-2012 10:13 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ifemylove at 14-01-2012 10:18 AM (12 years ago)

abeg help me ask our leaders o. because i'm really confused @ d moment
Posted: at 14-01-2012 10:18 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Badluck at 14-01-2012 11:04 AM (12 years ago)
9ja... Must go forward if all the politicians are Bumped off....
Posted: at 14-01-2012 11:04 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Bachelorette at 14-01-2012 11:10 AM (12 years ago)
I'm comming home...I'm comming home,
Tell the world that I'm comming home,
Let the rain watch away,
all the pains of yesterday,
I know my Kingdom awaits,
They've forgiven me my mistakes...
I'm coming home...I'm comming home!!!

Posted: at 14-01-2012 11:10 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Andybest1 at 14-01-2012 11:49 AM (12 years ago)
Mr. President Pls swallow ur pride and listen to the plight of the people
Posted: at 14-01-2012 11:49 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- GOLDENMEDAH at 14-01-2012 12:33 PM (12 years ago)
ok, make we wait 4 d outcome...
Posted: at 14-01-2012 12:33 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

3. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

4. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

5. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

6. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

9. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

10. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. "He Must Have Range Rover, Benz, BMW, At Least ₦100m” - Lady Sets Standards For Suitors (Video)

5. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

6. “Stay Clear Of Verydarkman Matter” – Samklef Issues Warning To Davido

7. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

8. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

9. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

10. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake